We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot, simple but great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
Ranked #249 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hot, simple but great location”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

+ The location!
(right next to U-bahn Eberswalder Str. and just five minutes walk to S-bahn Schönhauser Allee)
+ The bed was really comfortable (if you don't like your bed too soft)

- No AC! It was so hot and stuffy we had to sleep with cold, wet towels in the bed
- The minibar is NOT a minibar. We actually chose this hotel because it said it had a minibar and we thought we would be able to store water or lighter food in the room. What the hotel calls a minibar is really two small bottles of wine and two bottles of mineral water that are all warm because of the room's heat
- A bit hard to find the room since the door to the corridor has a name on the letterbox
- We got the wrong keys and had to ask the reception to let us in through the looked front door several times

TO THE HOTEL:
If you do not feel you have the money to install air conditioning systems you should really think about investing in a CEILING FAN, or maybe just a portable fan to borrow from the reception. It would make the stay so much worthwhile.

(note: we stayed in one of the hotel rooms, not the apartments)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohannaMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    109
    37
    7
    2
See reviews for
47
51
26
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Nice hotel, the only complaint is that breakfast is not included. I suggest to go to one of the nice cafes in the neighborhood instead; this way you are also more flexible if you want to sleep in. In fact we went out on Saturday evening but needed to wake up at 9 in order not to miss the breakfast, which is only served until 10 even on weekends. The breakfast was ok, but automatic self service coffee machine instead of a bar machine for coffee and cappuccino :-(

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mici0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

No complaints about this hotel. Friendly staff. Parts of the hotel are dated, yet everywhere is clean. Nice & tidy room. Good wifi. Adequate breakfast. Rooms overlooking a nice central area with trees, tables & chairs.

Metro station is right outside so you can get anywhere. Decent bars, clubs, restaurants & shopping all within ten minutes walk.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Hotel is good value for money. Reception staff could be a bit friendlier. Room was clean and spacious for a single room which was located on top floor. Breakfast is 12 EUR and plenty to choose from. Would stay again but in a double room and not on top floor as the light shines through the Velux windows who do not have a blind!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotterboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
100 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This Russian-German run hotel was perfect for us. I point out the Russian bit as the owner has taken great pride in displaying their Tsar heritage around the entrance (funny and sweet) and most of the staff speak Russian too.

The hotel was perfect in terms of location, quality of sleep, good enough breakfast choices until 11am at the weekends and our room was very spacious. The staff themselves are not in-your-face friendly but very helpful, courteous and efficient. Our rooms were made everyday to perfection (apart from leaving the window open in winter!) and they didn't mind us crawling in 2 minutes before the close of breakfast after a heavy night out. They have a small bar too if you fancy a drink in a non-smoking environment (as opposed to most of the bars in Berlin).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank safiaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile



Was the room clean - Yes, the room was clean. Housekeeping cleaned the room or changed the towels when ever asked.

Was the bed comfortable - The bed was comfortable. I am not sure if it is a European design, but the bed is like 2 single beds joined together. Each person has a separate mattress and quilt, with a timber bar up the middle holding the beds together.

Was the enviorremnet quiet - Yes. The apartments are set back from the road about 75 metres, so there was no road noise. In fact we right opposite Eberswalder Strass station, and never heard a train once. Very peaceful and quiet environment.

Location - Very central. 20 m to the train or tram station. Dozens of restaurant options. Very good area to stay

The staff - Very friendly and helpful.

General information - Hotel / Apartment Zarenhof are in the Prenzaleur Berg district of Berlin. The hotel in not new, but everything works well. Breakfast is available for $12, and is ok, but there are better options close by.

The Wi-Fi was ok. Not fast, but was consistent. It dropped out a couple of times, but otherwise ok.

Would I stay there again - Yes. Hotel / Apartment Zarenhof is not the classiest hotel in Berlin, but it was clean quiet and comfortable. It is a bit old, but the everything worked and was as suggested on the website.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The Zarenhof is a relatively cheap hotel. Our room was enormous and clean and the bed slept fine. The bathroom too was large and clean, and very pleasant. The decoration is a bit tacky to our taste - lavish with it's reds and golds and thick carpet everywhere, but this didn't really bother us at all. The service was fine, even if the clerk at the front desk was a bit awkward. At some point, the key card to our room did not work properly, which was a tad annoying as we could not enter our room. Other than that, we can't really comment on anything, we did not eat at the hotel once and we did not make any use of other facilities. However, since the hotel is close to the metro system and is in a really nice neighborhood, if we'd visit Berlin again, we would definitely be tempted to go back to Zarenhof.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k2881q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Prenzlauer Berg
1A Apartment Guesthouse and Hotel
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Oderberger
Hotel Oderberger
#228 of 634 in Berlin
116 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Jurine
Hotel Jurine
#366 of 634 in Berlin
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
Holiday Inn Berlin City Center East-Prenzlauer Allee
Mitte
Hotel Kastanienhof
Hotel Kastanienhof
#140 of 634 in Berlin
240 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
#84 of 634 in Berlin
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg

Property: Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
Address: Schoenhauser Allee 140, 10437 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Zarenhof in Berlin Prenzlauer Berg is located at Schonhauser Allee in a trendy and vibrant area of the Prenzlauer Berg district. With its diverse cultural scene and countless trendy bars located in stunning "Founder's Period" architectural buildings, this district continues to attract more and more visitors. All the tourist attractions in Berlin - the Alexanderplatz, Museum Island, Brandenburg Gate etc. can all be reached in just a few minutes with the U2 underground line (the Eberswalder Strasse stop is right outside the door). Despite its central location, our bedrooms and apartments overlook the innermost courtyard and are therefore very quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing