We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Singer109 Backpacker Apartment Hostel
Ranked #41 of 351 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“10/10”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Had an amazing time staying at Singer109. Beautiful, clean hostel with friendly staff who were always ready to help. Only a 5min walk from Jannowitzbrucke station, which is perfect for getting to the city centre. Definitely would visit again :) danke!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TashaDragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    73
    11
    6
    10
See reviews for
13
21
59
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Best hostel in berlin I ve ever been, very friendly personal, I recomend.They cook very quickly and breakfast I liked too....I hope in the future there will be a night bar, kind of cocktail bar for people who try to make new meetings

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IlmarPersson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Staying at the singer was like being in a hotel. Very clean, modern, and comfortable and there was even a TV in my room. Also great was the fast wifi, hair dryers to borrow, and lockers in each room. The downfall was the lack of atmosphere in the common areas, which, for people travelling alone can be frustrating. Other than that it was a great hostel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyJR27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay at this hostel. When you walk in it feels more like a hotel than a hostel. Great location and facilities (literally 10 min walk to the centre) very clean and friendly staff! Also very reasonable prices, would definitely recommend it :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyLout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Booking a bed in this hostel was a terrible decision. I had chosen it for many reasons, security being the main one and this was one of the many things that did not fulfill my expectations: Although the main entrance is closed between 22 & 6 am, there is a bouncer and at least 2 doors have to be broken in to get into the rooms, believe me, this is not a safe place. Lockers in the rooms are very slim so, as was my case, some suitcases have to be left outside them, and there are no security cameras.

On my first night back from the city center I realized that 2/3 doors (including my room´s) were opened, that my code-locked suitcase had been broken in (thief must have been in there for at least half an hour to do so I am guessing), and all my cash, gone. This opened-door thing happened at least 3 more times apart from this very first one.

Staff was really unfriendly (1 or 2 exceptions at most), unhelpful, and did not respond for what had happened.

Additionally, I was kicked out of the common room next to the lobby on my last night there (at 00 hours aprox) by the hostile bouncer, and before that, when a friend of mine dropped by my room he was kicked from there as well immediately by the same man (although there were 4 more people in the room, so it was definitely not a matter of security as he tried to disguise it with).

Neighborhood is ok, but the hostel is really difficult to find (it is settled in a sort of hidden passage in Singerstrasse), about four blocks from Jannowitzbrucke U bahn station.

Facilities looked nice, I`ll give them that, but that just wasn't enough.
Do yourself a favor and pick another hostel.

Room Tip: Rooms have a lack for air conditioning or even a fan, so nights are pretty unbearable during summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PCFindel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Staying with Singer109 was an ok experience :) Kind of strange because the common room is actually more like a reception with a huge atrium but the friendly staff and cheap price make up for that. The location is also quite ok as the metro, stores and Alexander Platz are actually not that far - especially if you hire a bicycle to get around easier :) They had breakfast for 5 euros which is definitely worth the price since it's buffet :) The rooms are also spacious with a common bathroom but I felt like I was staying a hotel more then in a hostel :)

Room Tip: Seems all rooms are similiar except the huge one with 50+ beds - don't know how that looks like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zengaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Clean
Spacious
Looks much more luxurious than expected
Friendly staff
We found that location wasnt great, had to take metro to get anywhere but berlin in general is a large city and tourist attractions are quite spaced out! So berlin isnt the best of cities for a cheap 3days during backpacking! Would have been better to go for a week with family and more money!
We didnt meet any other backpackers here
Overall, lovely place to stay but not ideal for backpackers!

Helpful?
Thank zmai
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Heart of Gold Hostel
Heart of Gold Hostel
#13 of 351 in Berlin
697 reviews
Friedrichshain
Sunflower Hostel
Sunflower Hostel
#23 of 351 in Berlin
351 reviews
Moabit
Amstel House Hostel
Amstel House Hostel
#30 of 351 in Berlin
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
St. Christopher's Inn Berlin
Mitte
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
#27 of 351 in Berlin
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singer109 Backpacker Apartment Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singer109 Backpacker Apartment Hostel

Property: Singer109 Backpacker Apartment Hostel
Address: Singerstr. 109, 10179 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 351 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Singer109 Backpacker Apartment Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Singer Hostel & Apartment is located right in the center of Berlin. All major attractions are easily accessible and there are plenty of opportunities to have fun in the most trendy suburbs of Berlin - Friedrichshain, Kreuzberg ( wall gallery , bars , clubs, 02 world , subculture ), Prenzlauer Berg ( coffee shops, restaurants, shopping streets ) and Mitte ( tourist attractions ). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Singer109 Backpacker Apartment Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singer109 Backpacker Apartment Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing