We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Singer 109-as good as a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Singer109 Backpacker Apartment Hostel
Ranked #42 of 349 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Cornwall UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Singer 109-as good as a hotel”
Reviewed 6 January 2010

This is a fabulous place to stay- great cafe, cool atmosphere-rooms so clean.
They went out of their way to ensure that I (a single woman travelling alone) felt safe and comfortable.
Friendly staff, Comfy beds, (request room 216 and 316 as they are 4 bed only)
free internet, free mobile phone chargers, great breakfast for 5 Euros.
The reception room has to be seen to be believed.
Only one negative- the smell of cigarette smoke in the lobby- but Germany still has some catching up to do re: smoking ban
Location is brilliant- just a walk from Alexanderplatz and Fernsturn TV tower.
One suggestion- make at least one small shared room single gender for women only on request.
I would go anytime, and take my family or a group of people. You wont be disappointed

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jobeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    72
    11
    7
    10
See reviews for
13
21
57
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

I had tried to get into the Circus and many other hostels but they were all booked up, which is how we ended up at Singer109. Discovered the reason when we arrived - huge marathon on that weekend so no rooms anywhere.

I think Singer gave us the worst possible room in the entire place. I had actually thought I'd booked an apartment with just a bathrom, but we were given an apartment with bathroom and kitchen which made it more expensive, plus they tacked on some more cos of the marathon (which we weren't even interested in). The room was internal, right next to the lift and the internal door to our floor. So we had no view, couldn't leave the windows open cos of noise from the atrium, had to keep the curtains closed cos the lift is glass, and there was a constant "thunk" every time someone went through the door, which was non-stop all night being a hostel.

On the plus side, it's newly renovated so everything is quite new and very clean. They've kitted it out from Ikea, so it's all cute and modern. Unfortunately they scrimped on the curtains as they didn't even cover the window properly.

The location was a bit in the middle of nowhere and the directions they emailed me (which was very nice of them to do) were more confusing than they needed to be. At night we walked a different way from the train station because it didn't feel like the safest area in Berlin.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2009

What can I say - great service, super clean, great price, free internet, quiet...just fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melbourne_Gwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2009

Singer109 is a fantastic place to stay in Berlin and great value-for-money. It is part hostel, part series of apartments. As a hosteller you’d be forgiven for thinking you’ve entered the wrong building as the enormous atrium welcomes you with a shining black grand piano, free internet access, lounging black leather chairs and a 24 hour bar complete with pool table, foosball, darts, and Nintendo Wii! A revelation in modern hostelling! The staff are lovely; ask where to go for a good night out and they’ll gladly share their favourite haunts. We had a great stay and would thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank annapaynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Heart of Gold Hostel
Heart of Gold Hostel
#14 of 349 in Berlin
678 reviews
Moabit
Amstel House Hostel
Amstel House Hostel
#33 of 349 in Berlin
291 reviews
Mitte
St. Christopher's Inn Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#2 of 349 in Berlin
1,228 reviews
Mitte
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
#21 of 349 in Berlin
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singer109 Backpacker Apartment Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singer109 Backpacker Apartment Hostel

Property: Singer109 Backpacker Apartment Hostel
Address: Singerstr. 109, 10179 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 349 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Singer109 Backpacker Apartment Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Singer Hostel & Apartment is located right in the center of Berlin. All major attractions are easily accessible and there are plenty of opportunities to have fun in the most trendy suburbs of Berlin - Friedrichshain, Kreuzberg ( wall gallery , bars , clubs, 02 world , subculture ), Prenzlauer Berg ( coffee shops, restaurants, shopping streets ) and Mitte ( tourist attractions ). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Singer109 Backpacker Apartment Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singer109 Backpacker Apartment Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing