We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little home in a good location”
Review of smartloft

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
smartloft
Ranked #37 of 349 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Uberlingen, Germany
2 reviews
“A little home in a good location”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We stayed in one of the compact apartments as an adult couple - very functional, good bed, friendly service when needed, interesting art objects, connected to the world, in the quarter of the city we like best - no wishes left open! The place seems well used, but clean and well-kept, not in any way sterile or cold, but with a warm atmosphere. We were visiting family members close by and also had some business in town, so we did not even use most of the features offered, but would come back for a longer stay to see more of Berlin when we have time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilsews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    53
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
49
43
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed in smartloft of December 27, 2012 until January 1, 2013 (when we were cowardly assaulted) ... on Dec. 31 go out to celebrate the New Year and when we turn around 1 AM, I realized that my suitcase and my husband was not broken padlock and had taken all our money, our credit cards and debit and my ipad. at the same time I learned that another apartment had also been stolen, we called the police who attended the other day in the morning and called also for Thomas (responsible for the smartloft) who made ​​light of the situation, saying he could not do much ... Or be careful when staying at smartloft you may be having robbed all their belongings stolen and your trip can turn into a nightmare!!
Do not recommend to anyone the Smartloft!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patricia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smartloft, Inhaber at smartloft, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
We are really sorry the apartment was apparently broken into. Since we have smartloft open there was never an incident like this. Perhaps occurrences like this are due to the redevelopment of Berlin toward a dense Metropolis with all the positive and negative side effects.
Of course we did not make light out of the unfortunate events. I travelled in the New Years Night at 4:00 o´clock in the morning 350 km to Berlin to help with the situation. But there was not much we could do, the crime squad took over the investigation. Till today nobody knows what exactly happened on the night of the 31. December, how this burglary could have happened.
Nevertheless we raised our security standard to prevent any further incidents.
Again we are sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clermont ferrand
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We stayed for the second year in a Christmas smartlotf apartment. It is a pleasure to enjoy this very well equipped apartment. The beds are very comfortable, the kitchen is very functional and the living room and the living room nice too.
Thomas welcomed us very kindly even when we were always late and offers in helping us to make our stay is the best.
The location is ideal to visit berlin: Near Subway, alexander platz and near the island museums too, in a very tranquille neighborhood .Le kaiser is nearly and open until 00H which is very practice.
We will return with pleasure to smartloft.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veronique b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We stayed for four nights in the big loft on 1st floor. We were really impressed by the size of the loft when we arrived. Since I work at IKEA, I was very impressed by the way you designed your kitchen, it is beautiful! But unfortunately not very functional. The wall cabinets are difficult to reach so every time you want to take a glass you need to extend yourself like a gymnast. The toaster wasn't working, so we used the oven (which had not been cleaned...) to toast some bread. To be honest, we arrived in the evening around 22 pm. No one could be there to greet us but still it was well organised with the key system. But it felt like the loft wasn't ready.... Yes the beds and bathroom were all set, but we had absolutely no explanation on how lights were functionning. The fridge wasn't on so we had to find the electric cupboard to start it. No heater had been turned on, and it was very cold when we arrived. But the biggest disappointment was the fact that on your website and on the pictures you show a beautiful living room whit sofa and iMac and a wonderful set of bookshelfs.... But all the bookshelfs had been removed and all you could see was the shadow of it on the floor... I really felt betrayed and fooled by this. You speak about simplicity in your design, but there it felt more like post-nuclear war living room. I'm sorry to be so rude but for the money that you ask, customers could really expect more. I had to find time to meet some co-worker to pay the stay, but no one ever came to the loft to check if everything was ok. When we left, an other co-worker asked us if we had paid indeed..... I was again a little bit surprised. It felt like some kind of lack of professionalism.
And please, I saw that other customers complained about the noise. The street is absolutely ok but on top of us (an other loft or some residents), every morning huge noises on the floor making it impossible to sleep. I aslo live in city in my country in some close kind building to yours, and believe me when I say that it is inappropriate to make so much noise.
For the computer, I was happy to be a mac addict because you said on the leaflet in the appartment that to watch TV we simply had to open eye-tv. But the icon wasn't there and I had to search on the computer...
The location was fabulous, Prenzlauer Berg is definitely a beautiful neighbourhood. Your concept is great but you have to maintain it and make it more obvious because it really felt like the loft wasn't beeing taken care of.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanami2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed in one of the large apartments.This place was beautiful, spacious, and very functional. The location is hip with its many cafes and shops, but also convenient, near to public transportation and well placed in the city center. The kitchen was very well equipped and all of the design was modern and well chosen. I would recommend this place to anyone I know, and consider it to be an amazing deal for such a gorgeous loft apartment!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stay on this very modern and lovely apartment on september 2012. It was a great place to stay since it is in a very nice neihborhood near restaurants, bars, and bakeries. Also easy access to public transportation. The owner of these apartments works and lives on the same building, so is very accesable, nice, and helpful. The apartment was clean, organized, and had Apple Computer with free Internet and Apple TV. Also has a small well equipped kitchen. The apartment does not have air condition, but we did not mind since the tempeture was very pleasant. We recommend this apartment.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Perfect apt for a stay in Berlin. Here with my Mother and Partner, staying in the large two bedroom, plenty of space, cool design, fully furnished, lovely art, and fantastic location. V good price for such a large well equipped apt. Easy check in by very kind owner and good communication via email.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MjasonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Prenzlauer Berg
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
#72 of 634 in Berlin
252 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Oderberger
Hotel Oderberger
#215 of 634 in Berlin
132 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Jurine
Hotel Jurine
#364 of 634 in Berlin
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Die Schule
Hotel Die Schule
#362 of 634 in Berlin
23 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Homage Design Apartments
Homage Design Apartments
#82 of 349 in Berlin
56 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Old Town Apartments Zehdenicker Strasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartloft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartloft

Property: smartloft
Address: Choriner Str. 7, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 349 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — smartloft 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your smartloft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing