We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Cityhostel Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cityhostel Berlin
Ranked #45 of 347 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed for 3 nights. It's in a great location, just 5 minute walk to checkpoint Charlie, however I wouldn't stay again. Yes it's cheap accommodation but we've paid much less and received much better service than what we got at this hostel. The staff seem unfriendly and unwilling to answer any questions or offer any help.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    242
    130
    47
    28
See reviews for
40
106
88
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I didn´t spend a lot of money for my room, and i had all what i need, in there.
A sufficiently big room, a readily bed and everything is clean.
I had a tasty breakfast evrey morning, with fresh bread and spread, fruits and vegatable. On the second day I´ve had to rent a bike from the hostel-bikestation, and was drive to the places I always wonted to see in berlin.
Here are a lot of restaurants and cafés close by and Imeet a few nice guys here.

Room Tip: The double beds are totally convinient!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie_wegner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremorris, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2012

we stayed here for 5 nights. we hardly slept because we either had people next door having a party all night or were unable to sleep due to people running up and down the corridors, shouting, banging doors from 1am to after 5. apart from this its a great place. so great if you dont want to aleep and want to meet people. just not so good if you like the idea of getting a few hours sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie123469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coburg, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Rooms:

I slept in a room with 6 beds. The beds are comfortable, the curtains can darken the room enough to not wake up too early and the bathroom and rooms was cleaned well. In addition there is enough space to get along with each other. There are also cabinets which you can close if u bring a lock.

Staff:

Extremely helpful and friendly. Always ready to help. Very young and energetic staff. Despite the fact, that the head of the cleaners is very rude and impolite (even infront of customers) to some foreign cleaning staff. I would not have expected that tone and chicanery in a Hostel which is run by an owner with Turkish roots. Some comments and words were Unacceptable.

Food:

The breakfast is amazing for the price you pay! Great buffet for a 17Euro room. I couldn’t expect more.\
The Drinks are medium priced but the bar is not very welcoming. A nice sitting area is missing.

Varies:

Customers can rent Downstairs alarm clocks, hair dryers and a lot more can be rented. Well equipped.
Also the internet is for free and easy accessible (not from most rooms). Parking lots are close and the location is great. Just a short walk to a lot of sights and the tram station.
It is not easy to meet people as there is no sitting or TV area. The atmosphere needs to be improved.
Unfortunately the building is owned by the North Korean embassy but run (rent) by a local business men from Turkey.
Check out time is very early (10am) but the staff is closing both eyes if you check out at 11 or 12. Also, check inn is at 3pm.
It is not the best Hostel to meet people. A good place to work (free internet, tables, headsets for rent, not busy afternoons)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drobstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Korcula Island, Croatia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

One of the best hostels I have stayed in Europe. Large rooms, big windows and lot of daylight inside. The bathroom was little bit small compare to the rest of the room.
Breakfast was like in a hotel. Would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gega_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Good access in from airport - very cheap so no need for taxies - really helpful staff - breakfast very European. Also very flexible on booking so easy to change reservation at last minute with no charges. Could not fault for the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Angelique69_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I used the hostel once, when I was 1 day in Berlin without accomodation.
After that when me or my friends need accomodation in Berlin, City Hostel Berlin is our destination.
I stayed with friends there as well. Rooms with bathroom, everything is clean, great service and staff members are very friendly and ready to help anytime. And breakfast is fantastic! Location is perfect-nearby there is U-bahn.
Everything was perfect for me. Thank u,guys!

Room Tip: u should bring laptop or smthing,cause wi-fi is free,but u'll have to pay for using PC in there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nika1490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel M68
Hotel M68
#554 of 634 in Berlin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Mitte
Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt
Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt
#523 of 634 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Mitte
Citystay Mitte
Citystay Mitte
#46 of 347 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Brandenburg Gate Hostel
Brandenburg Gate Hostel
#148 of 188 in Berlin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Mitte
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
#22 of 347 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Mitte
Sixmiles Guesthouse
Sixmiles Guesthouse
#48 of 188 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cityhostel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityhostel Berlin

Property: Cityhostel Berlin
Address: Glinkastr. 5-7, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 347 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cityhostel Berlin 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cityhostel Berlin, right in the middle of Berlin`s pulsing "Mitte" district, is the perfect starting accommodation for seeing Berlin`s main attractions - all within walking distance! But don't panic: No traffic noise will disrupt your sleep. The house is located on a small quiet side street of Friedrichstraße. Want to see sights like the Brandenburg Gate, Checkpoint Charlie, Alexanderplatz or the German Parliament? Want to stroll along the famous Friedrichstraße or Unter den Linden? The New and Old National Gallery, the Jewish Museum, the Wall Museum. Or do you feel like spending your money on fashion shops at Potsdamer Platz or just sitting in a nice cafe to watch Berlin pass by? You will find that and far more just around the corner at the Cityhostel Berlin! For example also only a few minutes away by subway is the ultra trendy east berlin district and happening area with its famous nightlife: bars, clubs, beer gardens, fabulous scene shops - what you're looking for in Berlin, with our central accommodation you're not for away and got best transfer connections! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Cityhostel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hostel Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing