We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berlin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Appartement Hackescher Markt
Ranked #90 of 347 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Honolulu, HI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here for the first week of our honeymoon, and we could not have picked a better spot to stay. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment that was larger than the place we live in normally(Quite a feat when staying in Europe). The place was nicely furnished, and we were amazed at how everything in the living room either reclined or transformed into something comfy to lounge on. The kitchen was fully stocked, and they even made sure we had detergent to use for the dishwasher.

That was another thing that made this place stand out, the staff and service. Now we're not talking about a maid that comes and cleans your room every day as this is very much your apartment while you stay here, so treat it as such. Silvia, who was very friendly and informative, gave us tons of great info about the area and city and went way out of her way to make sure we had a great experience. So much that we made sure to bless her with some wine and chocolates. Thanks again for helping make our honeymoon so remarkable. Be sure to get a map from her. It was more helpful than any map in an application or tourist guide. Trust me, we had them all. Also, as many have said before, the location cannot be beat. Located right in the middle of Berlin, and less than a stone's throw from transportation to any place your heart desires. Yes it is right by the subway, but you can't even hear it because the sound proofing is amazingly well done. This was something I myself was skeptical about.

That brings me to the con's, which are few and minor. The bed was a little hard, but wifey and I are spoiled on that one, and there is extra padding in the closet. The shower leaked a bit because it doesn't fully close (interestingly we found this to be the case at 4 out of 5 places we stayed throughout Europe), but the bathtub was quite roomy. Finally, they only take cash and I never like having to carry more than a couple hundred dollars on me at a time, but that is what it is.

Overall, I highly recommend anyone considering to stay here to do so. For the price it cannot be beat, and it was nice to have a place to call "home" while in Berlin.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dubsk8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    3
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
7
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
285 reviews
266 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

It’s hard to find the nice apartments (entrance Kleine PresidentstraBe 1, please make sure you do not drive under the railway bridge. It’s just before the bridge to your left)). The office where you get the key of the apartment is located next door (nr. 3) and the parking is under the complex (very comfortable). There is an elevator. The small apartments are more quite than the bigger ones, the latter are in front of the railway. The small apartment is well decorated but gives the impression that some one is still living there (with teddy bears, private books and photo’s of children etc). Some what awkward. There is a living room with a sofa and a small dining table with four chairs. A small balcony, a small kitchen, bedroom (with a comfortable bed) and a bathroom with a shower (no bath). Everything was well cleaned. The staff of the renting office was friendly, service oriented and willing to assist where possible. The location of the apartment complex is great. Just at the Hackescher Markt with it’s many restaurants, shops en galleries. A very nice and lively atmosphere. The museum island is just on the other side of the water and within a 7 minutes walk you are at the Dom and the Humbolt platform (where you can overlook the building of the new city palace). The train station is opposite, so also the rest of wonderful Berlin is within easy reach.
The only very strange aspect is the extra fee you have to pay when you arrive after 19.00. This was not indicated when we made the booking. We have never experienced such a thing. A negative aspect of a for the rest very positive experience.

Room Tip: The smaller appartments ar emore quite (the bigger ones are in front of the railway station)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAEMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights on a family trip to Berlin. We couldn't believe our eyes when we were shown our 2 bedroom Apartment. One of the best apartments we have stayed in all over Europe. The beds were also so comfortable to sleep in and everything was so spacious. Washing machine was also in the apartment which was very handy especially if you have children and need to wash lots of clothes.The view was fabulous looking over the restaurants and Berlin's tv tower especially at night, it was a great vibe hearing live music from the regular buskers and the buzz of diners in the restaurants below. We loved every minute of our stay at this place. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidS255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baumholder, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Our stay was ruined by the shady business practices of the management. First, there is the mandatory hidden fee of 40 euros for "cleaning fee." Check your booking carefully because somewhere in the fine print there is a blurb about this fee not being included in the price. This is not a fee for leaving the apartment in a mess, no it is simply an extra 40 euros for staying at the apartment. When I objected to this, the owner was quite rude about it. Second, the management describes the property as featuring a "large balcony which faces the quiet courtyard." This balcony in fact overlooks a railway station and loud street performers. Even with the windows closed, one can quite loudly hear the trains coming and going.

The management is dishonest about the property. The rest of the property is quite satisfactory, but the dishonesty about the true price and the noise level leaves me with a sour taste on the experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank historybuffarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2012

One of the best apartment to stay...spacious..beautiful and comfortable. Locationwise great as The Hackescher Markt railway station is just in front of it..this station is 2 stations away from berlin central station..plus tram station is very close by! The best part I guess is the small balcony room! All things one might need are taken care off..So straight YES to this apartment!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv_travel210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#79 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Hackescher Markt
Hotel Hackescher Markt
#253 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Alexander Plaza Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#78 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
Mitte
Hotel ZOE
Hotel ZOE
#8 of 347 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appartement Hackescher Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appartement Hackescher Markt

Property: Appartement Hackescher Markt
Address: Neue Promenade 7, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 347 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing