We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Arcotel John F

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arcotel John F
Ranked #76 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We travelled to Berlin as part of our honeymoon. Because of this fact the hotel gave us a complementary upgrade and some lovely treats. This was a really lovely gesture. To add to this the room was excellent, the location terrific and the staff were extremely helpful in providing assistance particularly regarding Berlin related activities.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Our_Thoughts_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    684
    598
    110
    15
    18
See reviews for
178
666
64
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We stayed at the Arcotel for two nights and found it very comfortable and everything one would expect from a four star hotel. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom very modern. It was a bit dark as we looked directly into another building but I imagine there are nicer rooms. It was only about ten minutes walk to Checkpoint Charlie and cafes and restaurants and all the shops also so the location was good. We didn't eat in the restaurant due to the cost but found plenty of cafes nearby. The bar was very comfortable (drinks being the usual hotel bar prices) with the trademark rocking chairs to relax in, which makes it a memorable hotel for me. Also the four free internet points were very usefull. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmandaOZ09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
3,585 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,139 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I chose the Arcotel John F because I wanted a location near Museum Island. When I reached the hotel I found out that it took only 5 minutes to walk to Museum Island. Our room in the hotel was spacious and there was a rocking chair, probably to remember JFK. . People working in the hotel were friendly. What we enjoyed most was the breakfast buffet. The pastries such as the muffins and brownies were really very delicious. We met the chef, whose name was Marian, and complimented him on his baking skills. I will always remember those wonderful muffins and brownies.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isleworth,london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We enjoyed sightseeing in Berlin staying 5 days at the John F Hotel, just off Unter den Linden. The hotel is very comfortable and well located in a nice district. Public transport is close at hand. The staff are extremely helpful and pleasant.
We enjoyed our breakfasts in it's modern airy restaurant. The waiting staff very efficient & pleasant and the choice of food fine. The room was well furnished and had a nice bathroom. The hotel was in an ideal place for sightseeing and the area local to the hotel is great for early evening stroll & had plenty of good restaurants. One minute stroll from the hotel & you are on the Unter den Linden and can stroll up it's length to the Brandenburg Gate or walk to the Berliner Dom.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Pleasant, modern rooms. Extremely helpful reception staff who went out of their way to assist when I had a problem phoning my doctor in the US. Unfortunately the service in the bar/lounge area wasn't up to the same standard. Breakfast was typical, overpriced hotel buffet - we much preferred our breakfast at Chipps (located just behind the hotel). The free internet access was a definite plus.

Don't miss the Friedrichswerdersche Kirche across the road - a small sculpture museum in a beautiful restored church - free entry.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornelia_wleklinski, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, 27 May 2011
Dear guest,

We hope you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel and had a safe journey back home.

Thank you for bringing that matter, regarding the attitudes of the Bar staff to our attention and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and assure you that we aim to continually improve our level of service which you quite rightly expect.

I hope this matter does not prevent you from staying with us and that we will continue to have the pleasure of welcoming you to the ARCOTEL John F during your future trips to our city.

Kind regards

Cornelia Wleklinski
Assistant Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden Grove, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

This hotel was superior to most German hotels, in so much that it added exceptional courtesy and friendliness to its list of amenities. This hotel bent over backwards to please its geusts; and it also provided nominal services, like guides, tour ticket purchasing, pertinent advice of various types and genres, and other sundry services that made my stay absolutely perfect. This is a place where luxury meets sincere courtesy, which made it even more pleasent to come back in the evening. Thier rooms are luxurious, yet also comfortable; but the people and the service made it all.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patt-Khalili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

My partner and I stayed here for one night during the easter weekend. We were very impressed; staff were very polite, the rooms were very clean and well-designed and the location was absolutely brilliant. We did a walking tour (Insider Tours - highly reccommended!) and all of the main sights were within comfortable walking distance of the hotel. Also a good choice of restaurants, bars within 15 minutes walk, and plenty of public transport to explore other areas of Berlin. Would definately stay at this hotel again if we returned to the city.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovelucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#60 of 634 in Berlin
1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#28 of 634 in Berlin
5,047 reviews
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
#57 of 634 in Berlin
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcotel John F? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcotel John F

Property: Arcotel John F
Address: Werderscher Markt 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Berlin
#29 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#32 Family Hotel in Berlin
#50 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#60 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#62 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arcotel John F 4.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Arcotel John F reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel John f Berlin
Arcotel John f Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing