We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and near main attractions”
Review of Arcotel John F

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arcotel John F
Ranked #73 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel during our Christmas holiday 2010.
The location is great because just opposite the street there was a lovely christmas market that put us right in the mood! The metro station is 5 minutes walk, there is also a mini market near the station. In walking distance are many attractions, the Cathedral, the Museum island, Alexanderplatz etc. You have to take the metro to go to Charlie's point or the Brandenburg, Berlin has something to see in every district so it is not easy to walk around, especially at Christmas time with the snow!
The room was perfect, brand new furniture, clean and spacious, and the breakfast was very good (although i couldn't reach all platters of the buffet as i am not tall like the Germans!).
I didn't like the fact that the TV had so many channels but all translated to German...not so good if you are a tourist! And i mention TV because unfortunately on the 24th December EVERYTHING was closed after 4 in the afternoon and we couldn't even have dinner anywhere... In the morning we asked the reception if we could have dinner there and they said yes, but they didn't mention that we had to reserve a table! So when the time came, we couldn't even dine in the hotel beacause all tables were reserved... The girl at the reception tried to get us a table in another restaurant (taxi needed) but it was getting late so we passed. She told us this happened every year, but if this christmas-eve situation is common issue, shouldn't they warn us tourists to get a reservation someplace earlier?

Anyway, apart from this mishap, we enjoyed the hotel very much, although it was very cold to walk around we just crossed the street to the christmas market, had a warm wine there and enjoyed the Christmas spirit!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katerina_bralos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

649 - 655 of 1,450 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2011

This must be one of the best hotels we have stayed in. Gave us an upgrade, and room was fabulous.
All staff went out of their way to be pleasant and seemed to genuinely love what they were doing.
Food was excellent at reasonable prices.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nekeyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Good location in the new center. The amenities and the size of the room, as well as the new strucutre and decorations were on par with the pricing and the stars. The service, as mentioned by others could be warmer and leaves something to be desired in this regard. All in all a good choice in Berlin in that price level.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

If you have a very short period of time to visit Berlin, then this chic fashionable hotel in Berlin Mitte is the right place to stay.
Just a step away from Unter den Linden, the Berliner Dom, Museums Insel, Gendarmenmarkt , Friedrich Strasse, AlexanderPlatz and the Nikolai Viertel.
We stayed for two nights in a double comfort room, the room is stylishly decorated, comfortable ,spacious, good bathroom, friendly staff and an ecxellent breakfast buffet.
Good choice of restaurants and bars around the area of Gendarmenmarkt, and nice shops in the Friedrich strasse.
Museums Insel just across the street if you're interested in Museums and art, don't miss the Pergamon Museum, amazing!!
Good, high speed internet acces for free.
We'll gladly be back our next time in Berlin.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianayjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in July 2010, but only just got around to writing this review.
The room assigned was on the 3rd floor at the front so had a great view. The bed was fantastic. Just as shown in the hotel photo. Hotel facilities are very good and considering how cramped Berlin rooms usually are, then the room sizes are more than adequate. The museum island is just about 5 minutes walk away, though it is a bit of a trek from the subway point, though the tourist / main bus stops are outside the hotel, so if you get a travel card you have plenty of options.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkNMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

The hotel is 400 metres from the famous Museum Island, which has the five great museums: Pergamon, Bodes, Neues, Altes and Alte National Galerie. It's next door to the Foreign Ministry and 5 mins walk to the trendy Gendarmemarket area. Modern hotel with spacious rooms. Service is efficient.and courteous...if not warm and welcoming. Unter den Linden is 2 mins away. Restaurant and bar are reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SNANewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We travelled to Berlin as part of our honeymoon. Because of this fact the hotel gave us a complementary upgrade and some lovely treats. This was a really lovely gesture. To add to this the room was excellent, the location terrific and the staff were extremely helpful in providing assistance particularly regarding Berlin related activities.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Our_Thoughts_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#11 of 635 in Berlin
1,288 reviews
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#57 of 635 in Berlin
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcotel John F? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcotel John F

Address: Werderscher Markt 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Berlin
#28 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#32 Family Hotel in Berlin
#50 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#58 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#62 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £54 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arcotel John F 4.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARCOTEL John F is located within easy distance of the Gendarmenmarkt, the Museum Island and the Boulevard Unter den Linden. The cosmopolitan and international flair of the hotel, which is themed around the former US president John F Kennedy, is deliberately showcased by its proximity to the German Ministry of Foreign Affairs. The lobby and each of the rooms are appointed with rocking chairs and lamp shades based on a dress worn by the First Lady Jackie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arcotel John F reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel John f Berlin
Arcotel John f Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing