We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located and cheap”
Review of Arcotel John F

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arcotel John F
Ranked #81 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Stayed here over Easter. The hotel is on a quiet office street a short walk from Museum Island and close to the Metro and the sites. The rooms are modern. Mine was smallish as I was solo but my friends had a slightly bigger room with one of the rocking chairs that seem to be a theme for the hotel. Think this is a good choice for business or pleasure and it was cheap too. PS If you get a chance go to the Topography of Terror site (very moving) and the Pergamon Museum. The boat trip is also worth doing on a sunny day.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psellus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

645 - 651 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2011

We were in town for the Berlin Marathon and wanted a hotel close to the race start/finish, that was of very good quality and would not kill our budget. This hotel fit on all counts. Only 1.6 km (ish) to the start of the race (near the Brandenburg Gate) and easy access to all other sites and shopping in 'Mitte'. Our room was spacious and the hotel facilities were very good (though we did not try the fitness centre this time around). Finally, the price was quite reasonable for a hotel of this quality and in this location on the marathon weekend.

If you are driving, just be aware there is no place off the street to unload - just pull up at the front door for check-in. Also, it might be best to let the hotel know that you are driving and that you would like a spot in their garage if possible. We did not but were still lucky to get the last spot (and they did park for us). There is however, a public parking garage nearby.

We did not have breakfast included in our package and opted on a couple mornings for the continental breakfast in the bar area. It was not fancy but the food and coffee were very good. Also the price was much better than the full breakfast in the main dining room.

Just to note that this was the second 'Arcotel' we have stayed in and the other was good too. If you are looking for good hotel while in Germany or Austria, give might want to give an Arcotel a try.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornelia_wleklinski, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel John F, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for posting your feedback for other travellers. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please be assured that all your comments are valuable for us and we will share them with the entire team.

Thank you for choosing The ARCOTEl John F and we are looking forward of welcoming you back in the near future in any of our ARCOTELS.

Best regards, the ARCOTEL John F Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Stayed for 4 nights at the end of September, weather was lovely and we were able to walk everywhere. Check-in was smooth and all staff speak excellent english. Rooms are clean,modern and spacious, the free apples are a nice touch. Free toiletries are excellent quality and a massive walk-in shower is lovely.
Breakfst in the restaurant is a little chaotic, waitresses seem rushed and unorganised, perhaps someone directing guests to tables would help, All said choice of food was excellent and all fresh. Bar is lovely, relaxing and friendly with very knowledgable staff, good cocktails, and I loved the Berliner Weisse with Woodruff Syrup or Raspberry, so refreshing.
Alexander Platz within 15 minutes walk, checkpoint Charlie, 25 minute walk, the Topograph of Terrors is well worth a visit. Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp is a must, free entry and get the S1 U-Bahn from Frederichstrasse, 40 minutes ride, last stop on the line, €3 each way, and then a 20 minute walk to the camp, well worth it.
Can recommend the Bistro near Hotel, turn left and walk to corner of Genermarkt, about 7 minutes walk, cheap food & drink and very friendly.
Berlin is a lovely city and the people very welcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dannyairedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Stayed for 4 nights in a superior room overlooking the park. Could not fault the hotel, it was welcoming, check in easy and friendly, rooms modern, bathrooms clean and fresh. Good location and easy to walk to all attractions.
Staff all spoke english and this was a godsend when I unfortunately had to be taken to hospital at 3am - Yvonne arranged an ambulance and even translated for us. We even received a call from Nancy (reception) the following day to see if I was o.k and to say that if we needed anything just to ask.
Will be coming back to Berlin and will definitely be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasstir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornelia_wleklinski, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel John F, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2011

Dear guest,

thank you very much for having stayed with us and for your review.

We are really happy to read your positive comments about your experience and out staff .
We will be pleased to share them with all of our employees here at the ARCOTEL John F.

We really hope to welcome you soon again and remain in the meanwhile

with best regards, the ARCOTEL John F Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Berlin is a 'must visit' city for lovers of architecture and archeology, and this hotel is ideally placed within walking distance of the Unter dem Linden, the Pergamon Museum, Alexanderplatz, and so much more. Comfortable rooms, helpful staff and good facilities complete the picture.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mg788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornelia_wleklinski, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel John F, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure for us to have you as our guests at the ARCOTEL John F.

Thank you for your time to share your nice feedback about the hotel and staff with other guests.

We appreciate your feedback and please be insured that we will forward your comments to the team.

We really do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards, the ARCOTEL John F Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We enjoyed out stay here. Our room had a very large and comfortable bed. The breakfast buffet was well-stocked with diverse items.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FranFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornelia_wleklinski, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel John F, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2011

Dear guest,

thank you very much for choosing the ARCOTEL John F and for sharing your impressions regarding your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.

We are very deligthed to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay.

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we do hope that we get the chance to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards, The ARCOTEL John F Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This hotel is warm and inviting the second you walk in while still maintaining a high-class ambiance with its artistic touches. The staff was welcoming and helpful. The hotel is only a short 5 minute walk to Museum Island and the Sunday market which is great for souvenirs. It’s also a very short walk to the shopping and restaurant areas. When we asked for a cab to the airport, one arrived in less than 2 minutes. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable and the shades keep out all of the light for sleeping late but open up the huge window for some natural sunlight and a great view of the city. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjs0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornelia_wleklinski, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel John F, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Dear guest,

thank you very much for having stayed with us at the ARCOTEL John F and for taking the time to record your feedback.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall time and were satisfied with our location and our helpfull staff.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we would be delighted to be of any assistance in the future should your travel plans lead you back to the Berlin area.

Kind regards the ARCOTEL John F Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#28 of 635 in Berlin
5,460 reviews
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#75 of 635 in Berlin
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#9 of 635 in Berlin
864 reviews
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#62 of 635 in Berlin
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcotel John F? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcotel John F

Address: Werderscher Markt 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Berlin
#31 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#50 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#61 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#62 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £69 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arcotel John F 4.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARCOTEL John F is located within easy distance of the Gendarmenmarkt, the Museum Island and the Boulevard Unter den Linden. The cosmopolitan and international flair of the hotel, which is themed around the former US president John F Kennedy, is deliberately showcased by its proximity to the German Ministry of Foreign Affairs. The lobby and each of the rooms are appointed with rocking chairs and lamp shades based on a dress worn by the First Lady Jackie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Arcotel John F reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel John f Berlin
Arcotel John f Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing