We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An extremely good hotel”
Review of Arcotel John F

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arcotel John F
Ranked #77 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Arriving at Tegel we bought bus tickets from the information desk by the exit - route TXL goes into the centre and for this hotel you should get off at the Opera House stop on the Unter den Linden (stops are on a rolling display and announced) and it is then a few minutes walk to the hotel. This is by far the cheapest way from the airport and was surprisingly quicker than we expected.

On arrival at the hotel we were greeted in perfect English by the reception staff, check in was painless and we were told we had been given upgraded rooms - I'm not too sure what this entailed other then free access to the hotel wifi but it did make us feel a bit more special on arrival.

We had four rooms on the third floor which where spacious and very clean. The one I stayed in was at the rear of the hotel and overlooked an inner courtyard garden surrounded by other buildings that were a mix of office and apartments. It was very quiet despite us having the window open all night as it was rather warm in the room even with the air conditioning turned down. The rooms my friends had were on the side of the hotel above the road but, again, there was no problem with noise as there wasn't too much traffic.

Some other reviews have complained about breakfast and I can only assume this is don to cost but I can't comment on the value of the cost of breakfast because we had booked our trip as a package with British Airways meaning that we had access to the full breakfast in the restaurant included in our costs. What I can say though is that it was absolutely superb with a massive variety of food and drinks to choose from which definietly set us up for a day out and about.

In addition to that there is also the option of a light 'continental' breakfast which is taken in the bar area, presumably aimed at those who don't want to pay for the full selection.

The bar area was pleasant and comfortable, a nice place to meet for pre-dinner drinks at reasonable prices and the reception staff were very helpful throughout our stay including providing very good restaurant recommendations and information about the city bus tour, keeping our luggage after check- out on our last day and booking a taxi back to the airport.

I can't comment on the pool or spa as I didn't use them during my stay.

Location wise this hotel is brilliant. It's very central, right by Gendarmenmarkt just about everything on the tourist trail is within walking distance and if you don't want to walk the U-bahn and S-bahn are easily accessible from here.

The only tiny niggle I had about the hotel was that the tea supplies in the room were meagre - only two teabags at a time meaning if you had a cup of tea when you got back after a day out, you didn't have any for later that night for the next morning before going to breakfast. The reception staff happily provided a small amount of extra supplies each day when asked but it surely wouldn't be such a big thing to up the quantities left in the rooms.

Room Tip: The window in the room above the inner courtyard opened fully, those in the rooms above the road did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tanja-koch, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on tripadvisor.

The entire ARCOTEL John F Team is glad to know that we met your expectation during your recent stay. It is a pleasure to read that you felt welcome to the ARCOTEL John F.

Your comment is a great motivation to our team to keep up with our standards in order to satisfy all guests staying at the ARCOTEL John F.

We would be delighted to be of any assistance in the future should your travel plans lead you back to the Berlin area.

Kind regards,

Your ARCOTEL John F Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 517 of 1,460 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2012

Hotel is well located and well appointed. The rooms were a good size, the beds were comfy and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We didn't sample the food so I can't comment on that. I would gladly stay here again on future trips to Berlin.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dub_SLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tanja-koch, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2012

Dear guest,

It was a great pleasure to have had you staying with us. We would like to thank you for your positive feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards from Berlin,

Your team of the ARCOTEL John F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Well, probably not literally. I expect there are better hotels in Berlin if you want to pay a lot more but for my money, if we come to Berlin again, we will stay here. The hotel is new (Google shows it in scaffolding still being built about 2009) and is very well appointed, scrupulously clean and has excellent helpful staff who speak very good English. Our room was a very good size (with space for the trademark rocking chair) comfortable beds, tea/coffee making with a kettle, a free safe and a minibar (not free of course). The bathroom was slightly small in comparison to the room but well fitted with a bath and a shower over the bath and a good supply of towels and toiletries but only liquid soap. We ate in the "Foreign Affairs" restaurant one night and the food was very good, especially the goose, and reasonably priced especially with the 15% discount card which they give guests and applies on all purchases at the restaurant, the "Town" bar and room service etc. The bar food was also very good.
The three lifts work only with your room card and only take you to your own floor on the way up which I thought was a good bit of low level security.
The location, as others have said, is about as good as it could be in a large city and is within reasonable walking distance of the cathedral (Dom), the Brandenburg Gate, the Reichstag (reservations needed - see website) and Checkpoint Charlie. There are buses and underground trains quite close for other places and the sightseeing buses also stop nearby. You can easily get from Tegel Airport on the TXS bus for 2.4 euros getting off at Staats Oper. (State Opera House, currently under reconstruction). We came partly for the Christmas markets which are numerous, almost in any vacant space, and these were quite good but not as good as Austria. Too much piped pop music and no live choirs singing carols but good food and gluwein.
There is a lot of building work going on near the hotel but this is true of nearly all of Berlin and the main difficulty was negotiating pavements around it. Rooms at the rear of the hotel are well away from any possible noise but worth asking for to be on the safe side.
All in all, this was an excellent hotel, possibly slightly lacking in personality - just a bit of JFK reference - but this was more than made up by the friendly staff.
We didn't use the spa, so cannot comment but no doubt it was well up to standard.

Room Tip: May be some advantage in having a room on the rear of the hotel to avoid any possible noise from bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaze2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tanja-koch, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on tripadvisor.

The entire ARCOTEL John F Team is glad to know that we met your expectation during your recent stay. It is a pleasure to read that you felt welcome to the ARCOTEL John F.

Your comment is a great motivation to our team to keep up with our standards in order to satisfy all guests staying at the ARCOTEL John F.

We would be delighted to be of any assistance in the future should your travel plans lead you back to the Berlin area.

Kind regards,

Your ARCOTEL John F Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Excellent location, particularly for Christmas markets, and for Museum a island, opera etc.
Staff welcoming. Good size rooms. Austrian based menu, evening meals very good, but good nearby restaurants also available.
Excellent breakfast buffet, catering for all tastes.
Staff helpful and friendly.
Rooms well equipped, and good size. Quiet location.
Recommended for both business and holiday trips.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tanja-koch, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2012

Dear guest,

It was a great pleasure to have had you staying with us. We would like to thank you for your positive feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards from Berlin,

Your team of the ARCOTEL John F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

What a lovely hotel! beautiful spotless rooms. (Loved the bed decor). Great breakfast, but the thing I liked the most was the staff. So helpfull and kind. We had luggage problems, restaurant queries, special requests and they were always there for us, smiling and helping. This is our hotel in Berlin!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osnat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tanja-koch, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2012

Dear guests,

First of all we would like to thank you, that you took the time to leave your feedback. On this occasion we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the ARCOTEL John F and that you were satisfied with our friendly staff and comfortable rooms. As we are constantly trying to achieve a hundred percent guest satisfaction, we are very pleased that you enjoyed staying with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

The team of the ARCOTEL John F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Stayed here 2 nights visiting Berlin with friends. Fair sized quiet rooms. Small but adequate bathroom, all very clean. Excellent bed. Pleasant lounge/bar. Breakfast simply excellent. Great location in the center of the city. Even when it is very busy, the service is good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrs7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tanja-koch, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your pleasant feedback. It makes us very proud to hear that you were so pleased with your stay. We will pass on your comments to all relevant departments. It would be our great pleasure to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Your team of the ARCOTEL John F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Spent a long weekend here and cannot fault the hotel. It's very centrally located - you can walk to many of the sights in under 10-15 minutes. And yet it's in a very quiet neighbourhood. Staff were super friendly and helpful, the breakfast was very good and the room had everything we needed. Loved the rocking chairs!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank PerryM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tanja-koch, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your staying in the ARCOTEL John F. We appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback on www.tripadvisor.com as your comments are valuable to us in order to continuously improve our service and standards. On this occasion we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation in the ARCOTEL John F and that you were satisfied with our attentive staff.

We would be delighted to be of any assistance in the future should your travel plans lead you back to the Berlin area.

Kind regards,

The ARCOTEL John F team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
Leonardo Hotel Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#65 of 633 in Berlin
1,987 reviews
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#27 of 633 in Berlin
5,259 reviews
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#87 of 633 in Berlin
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcotel John F? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcotel John F

Address: Werderscher Markt 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Berlin
#28 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#32 Family Hotel in Berlin
#50 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#59 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#62 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £55 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arcotel John F 4.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARCOTEL John F is located within easy distance of the Gendarmenmarkt, the Museum Island and the Boulevard Unter den Linden. The cosmopolitan and international flair of the hotel, which is themed around the former US president John F Kennedy, is deliberately showcased by its proximity to the German Ministry of Foreign Affairs. The lobby and each of the rooms are appointed with rocking chairs and lamp shades based on a dress worn by the First Lady Jackie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Arcotel John F reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel John f Berlin
Arcotel John f Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing