We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Be Staying Here Again”
Review of Arcotel John F

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arcotel John F
Ranked #77 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two days in April 2014 as part of a group tour. The hotel is in an excellent location: 3 minute walk to the nearest metro station, 5 minute walk to the cathedral, 10 minute walk to Checkpoint Charlie, and 15 minute walk to Brandenburg Gate. There are lots of cafe's and restaurants within walking distance, as well as a mall and stores in the neighborhood.

Check-in was smooth. Wifi is available for free throughout the hotel and the signal was strong enough to stream movies. The room was spacious and very very clean; however, bring your own lotion and hair conditioner. My room faced a quiet courtyard and was very quiet.

The breakfast selection was the usual deli meats, bread, croissants, eggs, etc. Dinner service was quick and the food was delicious.

Berlin is a fabulous city and I will be staying here the next time I visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank i-gots-wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear guest, We would like to use this opportunity to thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. It is with pleasure we hear that you enjoyed staying with us and that you would return to the ARCOTEL John F. We hope to see you soon.

Yours truly,

The team of the ARCOTEL John F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,438)
There are newer reviews for Arcotel John F
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 1,438 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

This is a nice hotel and it's in a great location for a reasonable price.

Sadly one thing made the experience here unpleasant. My wife booked this hotel well in advance and booked a double room. However when we got up to the room we were greeted by twin beds.

We rang down to reception to have our room changed to a double and the woman on reception barked at us that all their rooms were the same and they just push the twin beds together. We said this was a problem for us and she bites back and says 'well its not a problem for me!' and quickly says goodbye and hangs up.

They ended up just pushing the beds together and then left us with two separate duves instead of a double.

Such a shame this situation arose as otherwise this place is good. oh, and €22 for breakfast is outrageous.

Room Tip: If you are booking a double room it might be a good idea to ring ahead an insist on getting just tha...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ricallo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We loved it! A friend and I stayed three nights and were very pleased. Easy walking distance to the Gendarmenmarkt and Museum Island, not far to the Brandenburg Gate and beyond, but at the same time and importantly for us, well out of the touristy-mainstream. Very helpful staff, very clean and spacious rooms and bathrooms, and quiet at night for sleeping. The only thing - and it drove us crazy - is the wifi is terrible and you need to log in and re register every day. Dear Arcotel, please fix your wifi. Everything else is wonderful!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alpaca19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear guests, Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay at the ARCOTEL John F. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. Currently we are looking into the wifi matter.
It would be our pleasure to be able to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Your team of the ARCOTEL John F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Hotel was very well located with a 5min walk to the Musuem island and the Gendarmenmarkt and only 10min or so to the Brandenburg Gate. The rooms were clean, spacious and smartly decorated.

It wasn't perfect, there are building works outside the building - you can't hear any noise from within the hotel but it did make the area feel a bit untidy. The Internet connection is slow, and you need to enter your details everytime you connect - which gets a bit tiresome. It would also have been nice to get complimentary water or tea/coffee in the room - but that's not a big issue.

All in all it was a good place to stay for a 4 day trip to Berlin.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear guests, Thank you so much for your kind feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying at the ARCOTEL John F. As you already mentioned there is plenty of building work happening in and around the city centre of Berlin. Nevertheless subsequently this will lead to an even nicer city centre. Currently we are looking into the wifi matter to improve our service here as well. We are really looking forward to your next berlin visit.

Kind regards,

Your team of the ARCOTEL John F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Nice and comfortable hotel in a very central area, large room and bathroom, excellent shower, facilities for coffee/tea, decent WiFi even if not very fast (AND you need to log in every time), refrigerator.
We have been offered an upgrade, before our arrival, at a cost, which was supposed to give us, as benefits, slippers and morning papers, which we didn't have. Not a tragedy, however they blocked at our arrival a guarantee by far exceeding the total amount for the whole reservation, without informing us (they said they were just blocking a guarantee for small extra expenses). So why misinform about payment and guarantee policy?

Room Tip: I didn't see the standard rooms, but frankly I doubt the upgrade to superior is worth the money.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ioana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location... there are lots of interesting places within walking distance, it's close to more buzzing areas but also quite peaceful. We enjoyed just wandering around without a map and coming across lots of beautiful buildings, pretty courtyards and interesting shops. The room itself was a little disappointing. No rocking chair as promised (and after we asked at reception for one, they said our room was "too small" for the rocking chair... which it clearly wasn't, as we had quite a spacious "superior room"). The TV was tiny and almost all stations dubbed into German. Service was mixed. No complimentary bottle of water and wifi connection a joke. Not a bad experience, but I wouldn't choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoominLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear guest, Thank you for leaving your feedback on your recent stay at the ARCOTEL John F. We are sorry to hear that we could not convince you of our qualities. Nevertheless we would be very grateful. if you would give us another chance to proof ourselves as "passionate hotes".

Your sincerely,

The team of the ARCOTEL John F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We received an offer for an upgrade a few days before arrival, which we accepted. The room was spacious and faced the back of the hotel which was a really good thing, considering all the building they're doing in the area. We didn't receive all the extras we were promised with our upgrade, which was disappointing. We didn't have any meals at the hotel. There's a lovely breakfast place behind the hotel called 'Chipps' that we used. The room service menu is limited, especially if you're a vegetarian. Good beds, cleaning and good location. Service was pretty good.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Camokoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear guests,
Thank you for leaving your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry to hear that you did not receive the extras which were included in your prebooked upgrade. Unfortunately we do not know what was missing. It is always a pitty to find out that something might have been wrong once a guest left. Any comments are always taken very serious and if there are any problems - we are immediately looking for a solution. So please feel free to contact us, so we can offer you a free upgrade on your next visit to Berlin.

Kind regards,

The teamof the ARCOTEL John F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#28 of 635 in Berlin
5,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#58 of 635 in Berlin
1,962 reviews
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#12 of 635 in Berlin
1,255 reviews
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcotel John F? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcotel John F

Address: Werderscher Markt 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Berlin
#28 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#32 Family Hotel in Berlin
#50 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#61 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#62 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £62 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arcotel John F 4.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARCOTEL John F is located within easy distance of the Gendarmenmarkt, the Museum Island and the Boulevard Unter den Linden. The cosmopolitan and international flair of the hotel, which is themed around the former US president John F Kennedy, is deliberately showcased by its proximity to the German Ministry of Foreign Affairs. The lobby and each of the rooms are appointed with rocking chairs and lamp shades based on a dress worn by the First Lady Jackie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arcotel John F reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel John f Berlin
Arcotel John f Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing