We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for the price”
Review of Arcotel John F

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arcotel John F
Ranked #78 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
oregon
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the price”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We slept in the cheapest room (comfort class?).. Bed comfortable, shower tub combo, mini bar. Tons hot water. ( shampoo/body wash combo in wall dispenser. )

AC worked well- and it was very warm when we were there. Good drinks in bar- 10euro for gin/tonic- but it was very good.

Few min walk to Ubahn line 2. Coffee shop there. ( breakfast was 25 euro pp, or 7 euro for continental). We did the continental. It was fine, but fruit and cereal not included. Only bread, cheese, yogurt and coffee/tea.

Or only complaint is two beds pushed together---- a typical European thing- but annoying. Also, we spent 4 night and our sheets were never changed. Maybe we needed to remove them and put on the floor.

We thought for the price 100$ night, we got a great deal. Would stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank horsewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear guests, Thank you kindly for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the comment regarding the beds in your room. Most of our rooms have to seperate beds standing together, they are not pushed together, they are actually connected - so they cannot slip apart. We left a comment in your guest profile that you do prefer one big bed. As we only have a few of those. So on your next we could try to preallocate a room with a big bed. Usually our sheets are changed every two days, or if wanted more often. We do apologise that due to a housekeeping mistake nothing was changed for four days. We can reassure you that this is not our standard. Our Continental breakfast is giving our guests a cheaper option compared to our extensive buffet. Please understand that it is merely a selection of breakfast items and therefore cannot offer the whole range of a buffet at the lower price. If would be our pleasure to be able to welcloming you back in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

The team of the ARCOTEL John F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    580
    105
    14
    18
See reviews for
172
648
61
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Comfortable bed, quiet room on the 6th floor (611). Very clean and functional. Good room for hanging clothes, minimal space for folded items (no drawers only a few shelves). We are walkers and use public transit and this was a great location to get all over town easily and quickly.staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Four days in berlin with tow kids aged 1 and 5
The room great, there staff delightfull, the bar and restaurant wonderfull
And the ubication for tourism, perfect
Whenenver we came back to Berlin, sure it will be in Arcotel

If you have children book a taxi in advance because if they do not have car seats for the children, they dont get you

Room Tip: 603 delighted views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mfernandezros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your excellent feedback regarding your stay at the ARCOTEL John F, We are absolutely delighted by your comments. We are really looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards from Berlin,

Your team of the ARCOTEL John F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northerner in London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Fantastic location with so many sights a very short walk away, we purchased a travel card as part of the package but we didn't need to use. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Breakfast was excellent, something for every palate. We had a lovely room with a fantastic view although we did have a small problem with our room which was resolved immediately and efficiently. We happened to see some of the other rooms and it is definitely worth paying a little extra for a superior or panorama room. I agree that WiFi is a bit of a pain and the bar is rather expensive particularly when there are so many watering holes close by, but that said, I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Comfort rooms are rather basic, it's worth a little extra for a superior room. the view from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefs75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for your postive feedback regarding your recent stay at the ARCOTEL John F. Please be assured, that we are happily passing on your comments to our team. We would like to apologize for the problem you had to experience with the WIFI connetion. At the moment we are looking at possibilties to improove our network. Your comment regarding the prices at our Town Bar was passed on to the relevant department. It makes us very happy to hear that you would visit us again. We are really looking forward to your next visit to Berlin.

Kind regards,

The team of the ARCOTEL John F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We found Arcotel John F to be a very comfortable and convenient hotel for a city break in Berlin. Within 10-15 mins walking distance are a lot of the key sites in the centre of Berlin. In fact we only used the U-Bahn for a single trip with a 4 day stay. The advance cost of breakfast at 25Eur p/p was very expensive, but we were offered the full breakfast at 15Eur p/p on arrival providing we took it for all nights of the stay. The alternative was a lighter Continental breakfast in the Bar area for 7.50Eur p/p which was more than sufficient. The only issue in the Bar area was that it did get a little crowded on some days.

Ideally it is best to choose a room at the rear or the side of the hotel given the building work in progress near the front of the hotel. We chose a Superior room after getting a promotional rate for our 4 night stay. The Wi-Fi in the hotel was a little slow and access a bit clunky.

We found some very pleasant eating places within 10mins of the hotel - Augustiner Brau (Bavarian), Good Time (Thai), and Sagrantino (Italian). There is also a Lidl store about 5 mins away in Leipziger Straße 45 if you need supplies.

Room Tip: Side or rear of the hotel to avoid construction noise & traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here two nights as part of a tour of Germany. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The location was great, we were able to walk to most of the major attractions in the city. Although the bar was a little on the expensive side, it had quality liquor and great service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shlj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear guests, We would like to thank you for your positive feedback on TripAdvisor. It is our pleasure to hear that you had a pleasant time at the ARCOTEL John F. Please be assured that we do pass on your great feedback to our bar team. We are really looking forward to your next Berlin vist.

Kind regards,

Your team of the ARCOTEL John F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark now...
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Nice hotel, very accomodating staff. Check-in did take some extra time as we had a car to park, and there are special procedures for that. Excellent bar, and will make drinks on request. Large breakfast buffet with warm and cold dishes. Walking distance to many major attractions.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaffekaffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear guest, Thank you very much for staying with us and leaving your positive feedack regarding your stay. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. Your positive comments on our staff will be passed on. We do apologize for the delays during check in due to the parking situation in the hotel. Please come back very soon!

Yours sincerely,

The team of the ARCOTEL John F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#12 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
#59 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#52 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Alexander Plaza Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcotel John F? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcotel John F

Property: Arcotel John F
Address: Werderscher Markt 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Berlin
#28 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#32 Family Hotel in Berlin
#50 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#61 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#62 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arcotel John F 4.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Arcotel John F reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel John f Berlin
Arcotel John f Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing