We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and cheerful does the trick!”
Review of Hotel M68

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel M68
Ranked #554 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful does the trick!”
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

If you're checking in late, this may not be the place for you. Our taxi struggled to find the place, as its a apparently a new hotel (in the last few years) and the night entrance is down a somewhat dark alleyway. They leave your room key in an envelope just inside the door.

The room we had was on the roadside of the building and was a wee but noisey, but the location in terms of being so close to Checkpoint Charlie was ideal.

The bedding was a little past its best, with holes and well worn patches. The fan in the room was also broken and fell apart each time you tried to shift it.

The staff were pleasant enough, and the breakfast was lovely but room hadn't been terribly well thought out - the single twin beds were rather close together, there weren't two reading lamps and one person ended up up with a giant floor lamp, there was a table in the room (behind the curtain, in the window) but no chairs to sit at the table.

If you don't require too much then this place is probably fine.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeeeThomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    19
    19
    11
    13
See reviews for
14
12
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mannheim, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We DID have problems, such as the water being turned of during the day because the was a leak next door. But usually people are gone during the day and only come back in the evening. But we had a few people that needed to rest during the day (children and not-so-spring-chickens), so we were there when it was off. We were immediately given access to other bathrooms until the water was turned back on. No problem.

The breakfasts were quite nice, too!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ncrist-see
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We booked for 3 nights but then our plans changed. On arrival we asked to cancel the third night but they flatly refused. We travel a lot and have never had a problem modifying a booking 2 days in advance but this M68 hotel is extremely strict and would not budge. even a call from booking.com did not help.

Don't take the RISK of booking here. GO ELSEWHERE!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Private U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

When I first arrived, I wasn't terribly impressed with the room. It's one step up from a nice hostel, so the money I paid (59 E per night) seemed a little steep.

With that said, once I realized the location was so great, it made me appreciate the hotel a little more. The rooms were clean and bed was comfortable; there is free wi-fi (which I find a necessity when traveling); the staff was very friendly and helpful; and....did I mention the location?

What I didn't like was the communal bathrooms. Not averse to sharing a bathroom, but they weren't always clean and all three showers had VERY slow drains. My last night there I was switched to a room with a private bath, which was nice, because I had made another reservation to stay an extra night. If you stay here, try to get an in-room toilette/shower.

Located in the old East Germany, the hotel location, as I mentioned, is superb! It is a block from the U6 and 1 1/2 from the U2. A 5-10 minute walk from Checkpoint Charlie made this my first stop. About 4-6 blocks from Gendarmenmarkt and a little farther to Unter den Linden. The other way, it's about a 3-4 block walk to Topografie des Terrors, where a portion of the actual Berlin Wall still stands in its original place. A couple of blocks up from that is where Hitler killed himself in one of his bunkers. The Brandenberger Tor is about a 20-30 minute walk, as is the memorial to the murdered Jews.

In terms of location, the best part is the easy access to the U-Bahn. Hotel itself is okay and I would only recommend it to friends who didn't mind low budget, mostly clean accommodations in a cool, historical location.

Room Tip: try to get one with a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathyindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Chose the hotel because of the location and stayed for some 3-4 nights. The room - quite clean, the bed broken, one of the light bulbs on the ceiling was blinking so annoyingly. Bathroom is not attached, so had to walk to the end of the corridor to use it - quite clean. No chance to sleep after 7 am - cos of the pub downstairs, they serve breakfast from 7 am and play music. All noise in the building can be heard in the room such as ... next door etc. They allow smoking in the bathroom downstairs and it smells all over the hotel including the rooms, not pleasant. The staff isn't professional, but very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeMoe8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt
Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt
#523 of 634 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
#76 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte am Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Hotel Gendarm Nouveau
Hotel Gendarm Nouveau
#202 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Berlin Markischer Hof am Tacheles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel M68? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel M68

Property: Hotel M68
Address: Mauerstr. 68, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #554 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel M68 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel M68 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing