We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dorint Berlin Airport Tegel
Ranked #462 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We really did not intend to stay in Berlin, but a really funky airplane schedule forced us to spend a night near Tegel airport. We arrived after dark and left before dawn, so we didn't see much around here. The hotel was a 10 minute taxi ride from the airport, so it was quite convenient. Our room was very clean, comfortable, and quiet (other reviews mentioned airplane noise, but we heard nothing). The hotel has a restaurant; we ate a bit of supper there and enjoyed it (you must try the apple celery soup -- it is unbelievable). The staff were very friendly and helpful. They got us a 5 AM cab. The price was also very right!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rahrlebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed here last year so going back was not a surprise, the rooms at the hotel are quite spacious and clean, they do lack some basics such as tea and coffee making facilities but I did have a fridge in my room this time around, many of the reviews complain about aircraft noise, it is on the airfield perimeter so this is to be expected, having said that my room this year was on 1st floor and the noise sounded more like road traffic. Getting here couldn't be easier with the 128 bus direct from TXL to the hotel door, there is a U-Bahn metro stop within 5 minutes and there is a number of shops and restaurants within easy walking distance. If I had to make one negative observation other than basic rooms it is some of the staff, they do look miserable and not welcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here for one reason only, we had a very early flight and wanted to be as close to Tegel Airport as possible. The hotel itself is very average, nothing out of the ordinary either positive or negative. it is clean, the room is spacious, staff is friendly and will call/schedule a cab ride for you; however the close location to the airport is the main draw. Despite the closeness to the airport we did not hear planes too often and slept well. The only true negative is the WiFi is outrageously priced at 3,95 Euros per hour and costs up to 12,95 Euros for 24 hours. They have one free computer with internet access in the lobby, but it was occupied with someone who was obviously trying to do a lot of work and did not seem to be relinquishing it anytime soon, so we ended up paying for one hour of WiFi use, in my opinion they really should have a time limit of 15 minutes or so per room for that computer. Other than that its a nice average hotel to put your head down before an early flight out of Berlin.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElGreco75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed at the Dorint as we had an early flight the next morning and it was an inexpensive hotel close to the airport.

The room was quite large, clean and basic which was fine.

The only issue we had was that Germany was in the middle of a heat wave and the room does not have air conditioning or fans, so it feels like you're sleeping in a sauna. We opened the window but the planes fly RIGHT OVER the hotel, so every few minutes you are deafened by the roar of the planes as they fly over. Even with the windows closed, the planes are still extremely loud, so remember to bring your ear plugs if staying here.

The receptionists were friendly enough and called taxi's for us which arrived within a couple of minutes. The cost from the Dorint to the airport was just over 10 Euro.

There are also plenty of restaurants, supermarkets and stores within a 5 min walking distance around the hotel, so plenty of options to get a meal, buy an extra bag, clothes etc outside of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetraveling6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We had a layover after our Air Berlin flight from Berlin to Rome has some technical difficulties. They put us in in the Dorint. It was close to the airport and clean. The rooms were a little dated and the beds were not that comfortable. They did have a good breakfast in the mornings that was part of the stay and had a littel BBQ outside at night wiht some good beer and brats. All in all, not a bad place to stay for a layover.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurfCbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed at the Dorint Hotel overnight on the way back to Miami since we could not connect on the same day. The hotel is about a convenient 10 minute bus ride from the bus station at the airport. The bus stop is just in front of the hotel going both ways and the hotel is a 2 block walk to the metro ( Karl Schumakerplatz underground station) for visiting checkpoint Charlie, the remains of the wall, etc.

Overall the hotel was excellent and very well appointed with many amenities including a bar/lounge and very nice restaurant, although we ate in town. It had a large car park, I don't know if it was free since we didn't have a car, and the price of the room did not include breakfast but the price of the room was very reasonable (80 euros) and we didn't have time for breakfast anyways since we had an early flight. They did offer a buffet breakfast for an additional cost.

I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for convenience near the airport and a very reasonable price with good connections to the center of town. You can purchase a one day ticket at the airport for 6.50 euros for the day which is good for any type of public transportation with unlimited use. We purchased the return trip to the airport the next day right on the bus for a couple of euros.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edgar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We paid 116 USD per night for an overnight stay in this hotel. We wanted to stay at the mercure but the rate was more than double this. We also needed a hotel where we can take public transportation to and from the airport since we have an early flight the next day and this one fits the bill. You get the bus just outside the terminals and it drops you off right in front of the hotel. You pay less than 2 Euros per person. This was very easy and convenient even if you have a luggage. The buses are built and designed to handle airport passengers.

We checked in real late and we were checked in by dumb and dumber. We asked if we were in a non smoking room and she said yes. We walk in our room on the second floor and it was a smoking floor. We asked if internet was included and he said no you have to pay but he doesnt know the price. We asked for the bus schedule and he said every hour, but the bus stops every 10 mins. We asked what types of food are in the breakfast menu and she said BUFFET! Maybe they put the bad eggs in the evening shift coz the needs are less late in the evening. You walk in the room and it smells moldy and musty. Ive been in so many hotels in Germany and this really doesn't measure up to the cleanliness of typical german hotels. Dont get me wrong, its not filthy or dirty but for German standards you expect more. The bathroom is clean and the water pressure really good. There's nothing much to talk about in terms of the room coz its nothing special. Beware though coz the airplane sounds are really loud even with earplugs. Its not like some of the hotel airports where you can barely hear it or it can be lulled by your earplugs. Sound insulation is not good in this hotel.

The problem is that there are not so many hotels by TEGEL so whatever is out there can charge a lot (eg. Mercure). Hopefully this will change with the opening of the new airport but I wouldnt recommend this place unless you are only staying for a few hours, you get a good rate, and YOU REALLY HAVE NO OTHER OPTION!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexisRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Ibis Hotel Airport Tegel
#276 of 633 in Berlin
645 reviews
Days Inn Berlin West
#259 of 633 in Berlin
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central-Hotel Tegel
#558 of 633 in Berlin
68 reviews
Moabit
Mercure Hotel MOA Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint Berlin Airport Tegel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Berlin Airport Tegel

Address: Gotthardstr. 96, 13403 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #462 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £71 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorint Berlin Airport Tegel 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dorint Airport-Hotel Berlin-Tegel offers 303 rooms, 5 conference and 4 small meeting rooms. Enjoy national and international dishes in our restaurants. The Hotel is an ideal base for business, conference or a private stay in Berlin. Centrally located at the airport Tegel (TXL), just a few minutes by public transport to the center of the capital city and its sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dorint Berlin Airport Tegel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorint Berlin Airport Tegel Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing