We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice summer stay”
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Axel Hotel Berlin
Ranked #201 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Tel aviv
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice summer stay”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

It's a concept Hotel - Gotta love the design.

Excellent location!!!

Good front desk service

Good Spa&Nice Jacuzzi And nice tan roof

Hotel manager refers guest requests Nice and very quickly

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buiumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    583
    307
    125
    82
See reviews for
17
692
401
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We have reviewed the Axel Hotel already on TripAdvisor and basically decided not to stay in this hotel anymore. Our review was commented by the General Manager and he said: 'It would be nice if you plan your next trip to Berlin to stay again with us to show you what the real Axel Service means and plan some nice days for you.' So, we thought we give the Axel Hotel another chance. It has become our most expensive and worst experience at this hotel. We decided on Thursday to fly to Berlin on Saturday for one night and agreed to pay more than EUR 240 for our room (junior suite). We were then confronted with the fact that the hotel decided to host a wedding and that therefore neither the bar, the restaurant nor the room service were available to hotel guests. We always use such facilities in every hotel (that is the reason why we are willing to pay more) and were extremely disappointed that the hotel did not manage to inform us on this fact when we booked (two days before arrival!!!). It seemed to us that they just wanted to rip us off with such a price and no available service. We immediately informed the reception staff about our disliking, who wanted to address this to the Manager. When checking out, there was nothing known about our complaint. The receptionist however saw our point and gave us a EUR 60 discount. Now, we are finally done with the Axel Hotel - the water still flows out of the shower to the bathroom, the black walls show dust and greasy fingerprints and the closing of the major facilities gave us the rest. No Axel Hotel anymore in Berlin!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank swisspigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelhotelBerlin, Geschäftsführer at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear Swisspigs, first of all let me thank you for another stay in the Axel Hotel Berlin. I m sorry that you found again some lack in our Hotel. It was a pity that you stay with us during the wedding ceremony. This kind of events we are having maximum 2 times a year and i m sorry that due to this event you are not able to use our spaces.But also in other Hotels worldwide this kind of Events happens and the guest are not able to use the Restaurants or Bars. By the way please be informed for the future that our restauant is closed since the 01.09.2011 anyway. We realize some problems in the Housekeeping company thats why we are changing our Partner also to the 01.09.2011. Let me inform you as well that we are having different rates, due that you book your room more less last minute and our occupancy was really high on this weekend we are selling for a higher rate. It is a pity that we cant do anything for you anymore but whenever you like to come back to Berlin, the Axel is still here and we are all looking forward to welcome you again. I wish you all the best and send my regards from Berlin, Oliver Boehme, General Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

This is the second time we have stayed here, and will stay again.

The location is wonderful, great neighbourhood, lots of bars and restaurants within minutes of the hotel, both gay and straight (no-one seems to care either way in Berlin!).

Also only five minutes to KaDeWa and the K'Dam. Couldn't ask for better location, with a convenience store right next door with English newspapers, soft drinks, etc. Also hairdressers, nail salons, etc. all nearby. easy parking everwhere. It is the area you would want live if you were to move to Berlin.

Staff always friendly, will get a taxi for you within just minutes, any time of day or night. Very helpful with advice. Perfect English for us non-German speakers.

And do get a room with the breakfast package....one of the best breakfast buffets on our trip, and a lovely lawned couryard to eat in good weather.

The manager, Oliver Boehme, is very approachable, and efficient, and anxious to meet his guests at the evening drinks reception, and responds to any requests promptly. An asset to the organisation.

The rooms are slightly quirky, and it takes a little getting used to the black decor and the mirrors, but a very comfortable bed. Hanging / storage space is a little limited. Shower tends to flood the floor if not careful. Could do with an internet computer station on each floor (rather than just two floors, as thetyget busy), although we had a larger room with WiFi.

Great place to stay. in Berlin. We are recommending it to our daughter and son-in-law for their visit next month, and have recommended other friends all of whom have been pleased with their stays.

Definitely a fun place to stay, and to us the best location in town.

Room Tip: Pay extra to get a larger room if you have much luggage. Try for a higher floor with a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubacubaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelhotelBerlin, Geschäftsführer at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear cubacubaSydney, i m really touched from your comment here on Tripadvisor and happy as well to know that we are on the right way in terms of quality and service. My Team and i are always improving the Standard of the Hotel to offer an individual guestservice. It is nice to win you alraedy as a regular guest. We are all looking forward to welcoming you as soon as possible. Kind regards from Berlin, Oliver Boehme, General Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We consider ourselves a young, easy-going gay couple, but what meant to be a romantic weekend for a special occasion in a 4-star gay hotel in the centre of Berlin turned out to be a bit of a troublesome experience. The location is nice, and that's about it!! For the price this hotel charges (650 euro for 4 nights for a regular double room!) you can find much better hotels in the area. The first day we returned back to the hotel, we realized the room had not been cleaned or made up. So we friendly notified reception staff about this matter and they assured us it would be cleaned the day after. However, one day later: same scene... room not cleaned! A bit more aroussed we demanded to speak to the manager ("U really want to speak to someone- YES") and a young girl apologized ("new cleaning firm" "still have to learn how to clean ?"...blabla), told us the room would be cleaned the day after (not more than normal ??).
By scrolling down former reviews on Tripadvisor, we saw that the hotel already had to deal with this kind of issue some years ago (un-cleaned rooms) and apparently after these years they still are not able to manage this problem, no matter what fancy words have been written about it. Completely UN-exceptable, not worth 4 stars and definitely not worth the price rates they charge. The lady in charge gave us a 90euro reduction (not even worth one night!) and a drinking voucher. We should also mention the Sky bar does not exist anymore (although the hotel still keeps mentioning it on its website and in the elevators), so we drank our free drink in the Urban bar downstairs - a tasteless bubbleless Prosecco, not even worth mentioning, but we do it anyways since it seems to be the major problem of this hotel: no quality, no service: just pay your money (no-refund policy, by the way) and get out. Never ever again for us!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coupleberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelhotelBerlin, Geschäftsführer at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Dear coupleberlin, i m really sorry that you found some lack during your last stay in Berlin. My Team and i try always to offer the best and individual service to our guest. A lot of people appriciate it and are really happy. For sure that i m dissapointed that you are not happy. What my colleague told you was right. We have a new cleaning company and due to the missing routine we have a kind of delay in the room cleaning this days. I m honest and agree that this is not our Standard. Also if you wrote already that you found some comments before this is a really different matter and with the new Partner we reach a good level and improving already a lot in the quality. You got a room cleaning in these days, with a delay but you got a service, thats why we gave a procentage and discounted your roomrate. Again, i have to say sorry for the cirumstance. I hope in the future will give us another chance to show you our services and the standard of the Hotel. I wish you all the best and send my Regards from Berlin, Oliver Boehme,General Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed for three nights at this hotel. We have stayed at Axel hotels in Barcelona and Buenos Aires. This hotel is not up to the same standard as the Barcelona and Buenos Aires properties. It is not interesting or exciting in any way. Unfortunately, it is dull and boring! The room we had was a junior suite, the "Berlin Suite." It was large, but strangely configured, without being comfortable. It had more space for the dressing and closet areas than in the bathroom. There was a large tub, but a small stall shower. The shower leaked water through the shower door onto the bathroom floor, which was wet most of the time. The room attendants were late each day, which made it difficult to use the room until they arrived at 20:00 the first day to clean the room. The next day was somewhere around 16:00. There seemed to be an absence of people, both guests and hotel employees, at this hotel. The staff was mostly pleasant. Don't bother with the breakfast buffet unless you get it inexpensively. The computer for the business center has no printer. The wireless internet is insane! You need to re-enter a ticket number every time you enter the hotel to sign on each device. We had to sign onto the internet many times each day just on our iPhones. It was annoying. Each day, the ticket and password changes, so we had to call to the front desk or have them print a new one. The outside spa (hot tub) is in a small area, and is locked later at night. The access to the spa and fitness center is strange and cumbersome. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom area was very dark!! The vibe of the hotel is supposed to be hip and fun, but it is not hip or fun at all!! We saw a lot of unhappy faces, especially on check-in since rooms are cleared so slowly.

Room Tip: You should not pay anywhere near full price on this hotel. I got it on Hotels.com at a discount, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelhotelBerlin, Geschäftsführer at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Dear Guest, thank you for your review here on Tripadvisor and your constructive criticism. First of all let me explain you that all three Hotel belongs to the same chain but please dont compare all Hotels together. This is not possible due with we have different countries and and also on different Kontinent.The Berlin Property is the most Business Hotel in our Chain and you cant compare for instance a City Hotel on the weekend when are you here where Berlin was totally grey and rainy with a Hotel in a meditaranien City with blue sky a huge SKY Bar with a view to the Sea. It is more then clear that the atmosphere is here more relaxt because everybody is on holiday modus.I m sorry that i cant offer this kind of space in Berlin and the clima as well.Our WI-FI which is for free is working proper and aligned for 87 rooms.In no other Hotel in the world you can compare the Wi-FI Connection with the System in a private house. If you use three different workingstation(I-phone,I-Pad and Laptop) it is for sure that on a certain point the connection is getting slow in the same room.After one hour there is a automatic Log Out from the system if you dont use the workingstation. For my opinion is also not necessary to be connected 24hours with so many workingstations if you are not online and dont use the system. It decrease also the average of the system in the whole Hotel as well. Our Wellnes Area is open from 8am till 2am this is up to 18 hours. To make a general cleaning in the SPA it is neccessary to shut down the Sauna to clean the whole space and at night it is most convenient because the spa is not frequented. I m sorry that you found for your opinion some lack in our Hotel i will thank you anyway to stay with during your last stay.Kind regards from Berlin, Oliver Boehme, General Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We loved this hotel. Beautiful rooms. Sauna was amazing and comfortable. The staff is amazing. Great location for gay Berlin. Go on the walking tour of Berlin!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelhotelBerlin, Geschäftsführer at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Dear Jamie C, thank you so much for your comment here on Tripadvisor. I m really happy that you had a good time with us in Berlin and we are all happy to win you already as a regular guest. We are looking forwars to welcome you as soon as possible back in Berlin,Kind regards, Oliver Boehme,General Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2011

It was my first time in Berlin and my first time in a Axel Hotel!
I had my the time of my life, the City is awesome and Axel made my stay just perfect.
I felt very homey, the staff was friendly and helpfull. The rooms ar bit small but it was very quite considering the the hotel is so central and i liked the curtains in the room.
Can't wait for my next stay at the Axel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelhotelBerlin, Geschäftsführer at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Dear Alex101010, thank you very much for your comment and report here on Tripadvisor and thank you also to choose the Axel Hotel during your first stay in Berlin. I m really happy that you like our amazing City and that you are also happy with our Hotel. We hope that you will choose us again during your next stay. Thanks again and kind regards, Oliver Boehme, General Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
TWO Hotel Berlin by Axel
#186 of 634 in Berlin
83 reviews
Schoneberg
Mercure Berlin Wittenbergplatz
Schoneberg
Tom's Hotel
Tom's Hotel
#362 of 634 in Berlin
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schoneberg
Ellington Hotel Berlin
Ellington Hotel Berlin
#145 of 634 in Berlin
1,004 reviews
Schoneberg
Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum
Schoneberg
Hotel Artim
Hotel Artim
#303 of 634 in Berlin
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Hotel Berlin

Property: Axel Hotel Berlin
Address: Lietzenburger Str. 13-15, 10789 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Axel Hotel Berlin 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Schöneberg, the heart of the gay scene in the city, Axel Hotel Berlin is fascinating for its cosmopolitan spirit and delicious, by the careful combination of design and comfort, and for excellent service. The charm and elegant mix of gold on black, overlay and textures make Axel Hotel Berlin a unique space in the German capital. With 87 design rooms, fully equipped to provide guests with maximum confort and a different stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Axel Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing