We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Axel Hotel Berlin
Ranked #190 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Great hotel in a great location in Berlin. The staff was beyond accommodating and were very helpful with any requests I had. This is a great gay hotel and very stylish at that. Being close to the gay area and also neat the metro station where you can go to the other parts of the city were very convenient. You can get great deals on the rooms if you book in advance and also choose non-refundable which can give you up to 20% discount per night. I have stayed at this hotel several times and will continue to stay here when in Berlin. The best hotel staff I have ever had!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelhotelBerlin, Geschäftsführer at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Dear NYCb0y, thank you so much for your review here on Tripadvisor. We are happy to have you already as a regular guest in our Hotel and the whole Team is already looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Best regards, Oliver Boehme,General Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

800 - 806 of 1,738 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012

From check in to check out the Axel Berlin did not disappoint. A friendly staff great room and excellent location the Axel could not have been better.
The staff was very helpful, pointing out great places to eat near by, sights that might go unseen and very professional and friendly. The rooms were well kept and clean every day. I will go back to Berlin and and I will stay at the Axel, largely in par to the service I received at this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the courtyard in back very very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WreckNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelhotelBerlin, Geschäftsführer at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Dear WreckNYC, i love to thank you for your recent stay in the Axel Berlin and for your great review here on Tripadvisor. We are all happy that you had a good time with us so far and we are all looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.Best regards from Berlin, Oliver Boehme,General Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Axel hotel holds what it says: it's gay. Very masculine style, very friendly service, clean and stylish. Had a room with tub, good size room, cosy bed. BEST location. On the one side you have KaDeWe in 2 min walk, on the other side Schönebergs gay area, with bars and restaurants. We (two women) will visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tipthetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelhotelBerlin, Geschäftsführer at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Deat Tipthetrip, thank you so much for your great review here on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you like our Hotel and that you had a great time with us during your stay in Berlin. We are all looking forward to welcome you in the near future. All the best and kind regards, Oliver Boehme, General Manager, Axel Hotel, Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We had made our reservations online a year and a half ago (we were also going to be staying at the Barcelona location) and were given a great impression from the start of the professionalism that we would be receiving once we had actually arrived!

After travelling for 20 hours, check in was an absolute SNAP! and we were able to get into our room straight away. Location is AMAZING very close to the tube, shops, restaurants, gay bars and the zoo (which is a definite must see)

The front desk were a great help even though there was a slight languauge barrier on our behalf. Any concerns or questions were dealt with swiftly and efficently.

The spa is great way to relax after a long day and I agree that the jacuzzi could be warmer, but that is a very minor issue.

We really loved the washroom and the red glass divider, great soaker tub!

Upon our returning to Berlin, we will definately be staying again and will be recommending you to our friends and familes

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gay2some
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelhotelBerlin, Geschäftsführer at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear gay2some, first of all i like to thank you to choose the Axel Hotel for your recent stay in Berlin.We are happy that you had a good time during your City Trip and like to share your opinion with other guest in the future. We hope to welcoming you again in the next couple of month. I wish you all the best and send my regards from Berlin, Oliver Boehme, General Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This hotel is in a great location close to nice restaurants, great shopping, the gayborhood and easy access to the U-Bahn via the station at Whittenburgplatz, which is one block away. The hotel has a modern decor and offers a nice breakfast each morning and has a full-service bar. There is also room service available in the evening. We had a junior suite room which was nicely sized with all amenities. While you should not be expecting the Ritz, the hotel is a great value for the price. Wi-fi is free, but you have to get a code each day, which is very cumbersome and the signal strength is weak in some parts of the hotel. Also, the gym equipment is in need of repair. The staff is this hotel's best asset. They are all knowledgable and very eager to be of assistance. I would recommend the Axel Hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Get a Junior Suite...much nicer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randall D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelhotelBerlin, Geschäftsführer at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Hi Randall D, thank you so much for your great review here on Tripadvisor. These are the comments we really like to read and it confirms that we are doing right. We are all looking forward to welcome you back in the near future. All the best and regards from Berlin, Oliver Boehme, General Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Got a great deal and the room was a decent size. Not exactly my taste in decor, but it was clean and modern and the staff were nice enough. The location was perfect, very pleasant neighborhood - a short walk from U-bahn and shopping and restaurants. The only thing I would suggest is that they put tea/coffee facilities in the room. But otherwise, was really happy with my stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hktraveler852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelhotelBerlin, Geschäftsführer at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear hktraveler852, thank you so much for your Tripadvisor review. We are always happy to get a feedback from our guest to improve our guestservice. we are also happy that you had a good time with us and the whole Team is looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Best regards, Oliver Boehme, General Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I was very disappointed with my stay at Axel in Berlin. I have stayed at the Barcelona hotel before and that was very good. However, the one in Berlin has many problems:

1. The room we were originally given was very small and dingy. We happily agreed to pay 40 Euros to upgrade the room to a suite. Although online it showed that suites were still available, Patrik, the rude receptionist, did not give us the room. On the 2nd day, we spoke to someone else, and we got the room.

2. Pedro and his colleagues are all lovely and super helpful. But Patrick is rude and acts like he is doing you a huge favor by even answering your questions!

3. The new suite that we got smelled of smoke and despite airing it for the whole day, it still smelled disgusting. (this was a non smoking room).

4. The hotel overall is dark and dingy and smells bad on almost all floors.

5. The location is decent and the hotel is around 400m from the tube station.

I would never visit again and would advise you to look at other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelhotelBerlin, Geschäftsführer at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear Mrijay, first of all I want to thank you for choosing Axel Hotel Berlin during the last visit. However, I'm sorry we have not met your expectations. I would be happy to answer all the points here.

1) Our rooms have a size of 20qm2 which is normal for a modern city hotel. On the day that you asked for a Suite, we are not able to sell a suite as an upgrade. Please understand that the situation can change in minutes, and the situation on the Internet is not always the current one and to compare with the situation at the Desk. Our goal is to offer the best guestservice to our clients and not to offend our guests.

2) Patrick is like any of our employees professional and a service-oriented colleague. It never comes here to a problem with him and he offerd a very good and professional guest service as well. Maybe you were annoyed that there was no suite that day available. But if we are sold out we are not able to offer any other suites or guestrooms.

3) We have a strict Non smoking policy and only the rooms on the second floor are smoking rooms. Unfortunately, not all guests abide by them. Even though we charge a penalty, it is not always possible to get in the room odor-free from the former guest. I m sorry for that.

4) The hotel is dark because our design is black Which you can see already in the WEB, but the hotel is not dingy at all. I know black is not the color for everybody and maybe you dind`t felt comfortable in our Hotel because of the Darkness.But this is our Design, and we can`t and will not change this, because it is also unique.

Dear Mrijay, i m sorry that i couldn`t win you as a regular guest but i hope that you will chose our Hotel in Barcelona during your next Trip to spain as well.

I wish you all the best and send regards from Berlin
Oliver Boehme, General Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
TWO Hotel Berlin by Axel
#158 of 634 in Berlin
141 reviews
Schoneberg
Mercure Berlin Wittenbergplatz
Charlottenburg
Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schoneberg
Hotel Riu Plaza Berlin
Hotel Riu Plaza Berlin
#95 of 634 in Berlin
752 reviews
Schoneberg
Ellington Hotel Berlin
Ellington Hotel Berlin
#137 of 634 in Berlin
1,112 reviews
Schoneberg
Quentin Design hotel
Quentin Design hotel
#332 of 634 in Berlin
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Hotel Berlin

Address: Lietzenburger Str. 13-15, 10789 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £50 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Axel Hotel Berlin 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Schöneberg, the heart of the gay scene in the city, Axel Hotel Berlin is fascinating for its cosmopolitan spirit and delicious, by the careful combination of design and comfort, and for excellent service. The charm and elegant mix of gold on black, overlay and textures make Axel Hotel Berlin a unique space in the German capital. With 87 design rooms, fully equipped to provide guests with maximum confort and a different stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Axel Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing