We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - helpful staff”
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Axel Hotel Berlin
Ranked #199 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Basel/Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Good location - helpful staff”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We booked the hotel through Easyjet together with our flight for a good rate. The location is great! (3 minutes by foot from the KaDeWe and the U-Bahn Wittenbergplatz). We had a room to the back which was very quiet. The black decor is indeed a bit unusual and certainly does not make things easy for the cleaning team (for ecological reasons you can't really use heavy descaling products everyday to avoid the white limescale marks on the black tiles of the bathroom and yes - black decor draws dust and makes it more visible) but unlike other reviewers here on Tripadvisor we found the rooms were very clean (with my experience as a university hospital housekeeper I know what I'm talking about). And a broken shower head was replaced immediately after we informed the reception staff.
The rooms are indeed a bit small but we found enough drawers and hangers to put away a week's supply of clothes for two - some guests do not seem to realize there is a storage space for your luggage on one side of the bed underneath the bed top. As for the preconception of some people regarding the fact that the Axel Hotel is a gay hotel - we can reassure all hetero-couples like ourselves that we did not feel awkward at any stage, the male staff were all very friendly and impartial. We just had to smile at the (temporary?) exhibit of some rather explicit oil paintings on the way to the breakfast room...
All in all my husband and I will be happy to stay there again on our next city trip to Berlin - Well done Axel Team!

Room Tip: Rooms to the back overlook a courtyard with trees and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrin2292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelhotelBerlin, Geschäftsführer at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear Katrin2292, first of all i like to say thank you for to choose the Axel Berlin during your recent stay in the City and for sure i like to say thanks as well for your really nice review. I really like it that you point out our problems with the black decor. It is always difficult to explain to the guest but is nice to hear it as well from a guest who had experience in that Business. I m really looking forward to welcoming you in the near future and hope i will meet you in person. Best regards, Oliver Boehme, General Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    579
    299
    124
    82
See reviews for
17
684
393
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We got a great deal on this hotel, so the value for money we got was amazing! It is such a nice, stylish hotel! It's very close to the underground, so it's quite convenient.

The rooms were clean, comfortable and actually very luxurious!
Had an excellent stay, really can't fault it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelhotelBerlin, Geschäftsführer at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear Jessi S, i like to thank you so much for your great review here on Tripadvisor. It is always so important to get a feedback from our guest to improve our service. I really hope that you will be back soon. All the best from Berlin, Oliver Boehme, General Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

After 22 hours I left my flat in São Paulo, I've got to the Axel hotel in Berlin. But for my surprise, the room I had booked 4 months before was not available because of some problem with my credit card (nobody from the hotel contacted me about this problem). In a few words: I had to find another hotel to spend the first night, what the clerk suggested I should stay in "Motel One" as it was "the appropriate hotel for my budget". I assume this as a ofence, but as my only alternative, I moved my luggages to "Motel One" - what is a surprising good hotel, I must say. The next day, about 10 AM I came back to Axel and my room was already ready. My question is: Was the hotel really full booked or were there rooms avaliable, but because of the bad mood of the clerk, he sent me to another hotel, just because he has this power??? I've stayed at Axel Hotel in Buenos Aires and in my opinion it is much better than the one in Berlin.

Room Tip: Run away from this hotel
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Henrique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelhotelBerlin, Geschäftsführer at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear Henrique S, first of all let me say thank you for sharing your opinion with other guest, even if your review is not the best we are having here. Let me point some things out of your review. It is always our Maingoal to offer the best and individual guest service, this is for the side of our clients. The Maingoal of the Hotel is to be sold out as much as possible. Therefore it will be ridiculous to send a guest away if we have rooms available and doesnt belongs to our policy. Second, due to the way you made your reservation as a guaranteed booking we are able to charge the credit card 24 hours before your arrival. We are doing this to see if the reserviation is fixed and charge the first night. Your card was not working and we send an reminder to your Travel Agent. Because your card was not working and we dont have a guarantee anymore we change it to a Non guarantee booking. We had a High demand this day so that we are able to sell this room again. Like you said you travel 22 hours and we charge the credit card 24 hours before more less, and due to the time difference we was not able to reach you, to clearify what happend.I know after a journey like yours it is not nice to have an incident like that, but think one moment for the hotel and that we dont have any guarantee anymore. I m sorry for all the trouble you had here but belive me and i promise that nobody move you out because he have the power or have a queen attitude. This kind of situation is not nice for the guest but for the receptionist as well. Sorry again for all the inconvenience, but i hope you will give us another time the chance to convince you with our personal guest service.
Best regards, Oliver Boehme, General Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

My first stay in Axel Berlin was really nice, interior is very stylish, and the rooms are spacious. I particularly liked the rain shower, the very comfortable bed and the well equipped amenities. It did take me quite a while to figure out where I can hang my clothes, and I had to laugh I missed the "wardrobe" after I called the reception.
The spa on the last floor was rather cosy, but the view is really worth it. The gym is basic and it offers devices to train virtually every muscle group, which is very important to me as I travel a lot and regularly train in hotel gyms. The barmen were nice and chatty. I can definitely recommend the signature cocktail.
Breakfast had a very varied selection of cold and warm items and offered one of the widest choices I've seen in European hotels.
Last, the receptionist was very kind and on my request took the time to recommend me various restaurants on each occasion when I asked.
I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnie_the_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelhotelBerlin, Geschäftsführer at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear johnnie_the_traveler, i like to thank you so much for your really kind review here on Tripadvisor. We are so happy that you had a good time with us in Berlin and like our concept. We are all looking forward to welcome you in the near future again. I wish you all the best and send regards from Berlin, Oliver Boehme, General Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Sleek and stylish interior, and a very friendly staff. The hotel is very close to restaurants and nightlife in the gay district of Schöneberg, and is only a short walk to the U-Bahn. Very easy to get around for sightseeing and shopping. It's a great hotel for couples, and I will definitely be back with my partner next time

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magoola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelhotelBerlin, Geschäftsführer at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear Magoola, first of all i like to say thank you for to choose the Axel Berlin for recent stay in Berlin and for sure also for your Tripadvisor review here. It is always important to get a feedback from our guest to increase our service.We are all looking already forward to welcome you in the near future. Best regards from Berlin, Oliver Boehme, General Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Me and my partner staying at Axel for two nights.
This is not the first time we are staying at the hotel.
The last time we stayed at the hotel, we encountered a small problem and after we got back home, we send the manager Oliver an email. Oliver promised that the issue will be dealt with, and indeed, this was handled fully.
As always, great staff, excellent service, great location, highly recommended.
We will go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomersi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelhotelBerlin, Geschäftsführer at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear tomersim thank you so much for your great review here on Tripadvisor. It is always important to get a feedback from our guest to continue with our individual guest service. I m already looking forward to welcome you again in the near future. Best regards, Oliver Boehme, General Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I have stayed here on three occasions and have always been very happy. It's a stylish hotel with excellent service from a very friendly and competent staff. The Axel is impeccably maintained with comfortable rooms and nice shower rooms. The rooms are a bit small but that is what you expect in a boutique type hotel in a busy urban neighbourhood. There isn't a lot of space for storage so you might have a problem if you've brought a huge wardrobe with you. The breakfast is good. The wifi signal is weak at times. If you want to stay in the Schoneberg district this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terrence o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelhotelBerlin, Geschäftsführer at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear terrence o, first of all i like to thank you, to choose the Axel Hotel during your recent stay in Berlin. I m happy that you enjoy to stay with us and that you like the concept. To inform you, we change the WI-FI System last week and dont have any Problem anymore. So i hope to see you soon to double check that again :-) Best regards, Oliver Boehme,General Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
TWO Hotel Berlin by Axel
#215 of 634 in Berlin
57 reviews
Schoneberg
Mercure Berlin Wittenbergplatz
Schoneberg
Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schoneberg
Tom's Hotel
Tom's Hotel
#389 of 634 in Berlin
125 reviews
Schoneberg
Hotel Artim
Hotel Artim
#305 of 634 in Berlin
212 reviews
Schoneberg
Ellington Hotel Berlin
Ellington Hotel Berlin
#139 of 634 in Berlin
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Hotel Berlin

Property: Axel Hotel Berlin
Address: Lietzenburger Str. 13-15, 10789 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Axel Hotel Berlin 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Schöneberg, the heart of the gay scene in the city, Axel Hotel Berlin is fascinating for its cosmopolitan spirit and delicious, by the careful combination of design and comfort, and for excellent service. The charm and elegant mix of gold on black, overlay and textures make Axel Hotel Berlin a unique space in the German capital. With 87 design rooms, fully equipped to provide guests with maximum confort and a different stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Axel Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing