We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of fun, great staff”
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Axel Hotel Berlin
Ranked #189 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed at Axel for 3 nights and had lots of fun the whole time. The room had a good view but narrow windows, but the bed was quite comfortable. The bathroom was split in two, with the shower/tub and the sink in the room, visible from the bed. Overall the room was very nice. On the 6th floor there is a hot tub, sauna, steam room, and gym overlooking the neighbourhood. These were all quite nice and usually busy. As well, we got massages offered within the hotel, and they were excellent. Reasonably priced and available from 1300 - 2300. The restaurant downstairs has good burgers and a good drinks selection. Around the hotel, the neighbourhood is very nice, and is very central to the gay district. About 5 minutes away (walking) is the U-Bahn, and it's about a block away from the shopping centre KaDeWe. It's tough NOT to have fun when you're staying here, and I would recommend it to any gay couple.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColinFromVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelhotelBerlin, Leiter Front Office at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Colin K,
thank you so much for taking the time to write down your impressions of your stay here in Axel Hotel Berlin. I am glad you had a good time staying at Axel Hotel Berlin. Please feel free to visit us again anytime. Also you might be interested in checkin out our other hotels in Barcelona and Maspalomas / Gran Canaria.
Best regards from Berlin,
Stephan Krebs, Front Office Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

515 - 521 of 1,738 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

I have just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable 3 night stay at the Axel Berlin.

The hotel is perfectly placed for all of the gay bars, shops and facilities that Schoneburg has to offer.

On arrival the reception staff were pleasant and helpful. We were able to check in early, which was welcome after being up since 3am!

The room itself was clean and perfectly adequate for what we wanted. Yes the standard rooms are not massive but if this is an issue then consider booking a junior suite.

Our room had a lovely big double shower - it did however have a transparent glass side, which was fine for us but if you were travelling with a friend this may not be suitable.

We made use of the spa facilities and thought they were a nice addition. They were certainly welcome after a long day of sightseeing on foot. There are lockers but you have to get a key from reception and there is a €20 deposit for the key. This could be better advertised as we had to contact reception to find out more.

Bedding & towels were spotless and comfortable.

We didn't eat on site at Hamburger Mary's but we had the odd drink at the bar, which was pleasant but quite quiet although I am sure that this was because we were there mid week. The food we saw looked good.

The wifi was quick & reliable - handy for last minute research!!

We loved the Axel and would return without hesitation.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank KyleWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelhotelBerlin, Leiter Front Office at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear KyleWL,
thank you so much for your kind words here on TripAdvisor. I am happy to read you had an enjoyable stay with us and all of us will be more than happy to welcome you back on your next stay in Axel Hotel Berlin! In case you want to see something different you might want to check out our other hotels in Barcelona and Maspalomas/ Gran Canaria. Best regards from Berlin, Stephan Krebs
Front Office Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Checked in at the Axel 2 hours earlier than the official check in time. Reception were helpful and friendly. The room was ready and Jonas was very efficient and helpful.

We were given a fourth floor room. Very clean. Had read previous reviews saying rooms dirty and dusty. Not in our room. The black furniture does show fluff from the white towels but that's not dirt. Very comfy bed, clean linen and very spacious powerful shower. Liked the fact you could open windows to. Slept very well.

The spa facilities are great. We went sight seeing one day and after walking for 5 hours it was so nice to relax in the hot tub and the steam room.

Bar staff friendly and wine nice. Mary's Restaurant was not my thing so we didn't eat there but hey, I can see it would appeal to some so no points off there.

Check out again was painless. Nothing but polite staff and other guests polite and friendly. I loved the fact that being a gay hotel there was no children running around.

Can't wait to go back. Great base for either sight seeing or simply visiting the gay Berlin.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelhotelBerlin, Leiter Front Office at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear G W,
I would like to thank you for your great review here an TripAdvisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here at Axel Hotel Berlin. Thank you also for taking the time to write the review! Whenever you are in Berlin again, please feel free to visit us! Also you might be interested in checking our other hotels in Barcelona and Maspalomas / Gran Canaria. Best regards from Berlin,
Stephan Krebs
Front Office Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I had a fantastic stay at this hotel. The food, location and service was all great. It's a little too gay friendly in the sense that I wouldn't recommend it to straight couples but aside from that it's great for visiting Berlin. Room was comfy and modern; however, one slight issue for me was the gym or the lack of gym facilities. There some running machines but the gym really needs a bar and weights so someone can do free weights. There is one machine but it needs updating and it felt dangerous to use.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zach101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelhotelBerlin, Leiter Front Office at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear zach101,
thank you so much for your comment here on Tripadvisor. It is always important for us to get a feedback from our guest. We are happy that you had a good timer with us during your stay in Berlin. Please feel free to visit us! Also you might be interested in checking our other hotels in Barcelona and Maspalomas / Gran Canaria. We hope to welcoming you soon again.
Kind regards, Stephan Krebs Front OfficeManager, Axel Hotel Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at the Axel Hotel for three days at the beginning of May 2014. The hotel location is good for a gay traveller. Walking distance from most of the bars and restaurants in the area.

However, we personally found the ambiance of the hotel to be dreadful, although this is personal opinion. The black walls and strategically placed mirrors throughout the hotel just did not work for us. It creates the atmosphere of being in a dark club wherever you walk in the hotel - night and day.

The yellow painting colour of the walls and red glass divider in our room also did not contribute to a congenial feeling during our stay.

The different room types depicted on the website also do not correspond with the actual room type you may be allocated. We booked a superior room and when I looked at the website the room is exactly the same as the standard city room illustrated on the hotel’s website. When I made an enquiry about this the person at reception merely stated that we were in fact allocated a superior room because it has a spa-type shower in the room. There is no cupboard in the superior room we were allocated. Just a hang space next to the bed. Again, for a superior hotel room I expected more.

I love Berlin, but will not return to the Axel Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andre6612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelhotelBerlin, Leiter Front Office at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Andre6612
thanks a lot for your review on your stay here at Axel Hotel Berlin! I am very sorry about your words regarding the room size. I can understand you found them small but please let me assure you, the size is normal for a city hotel in Berlin and of course design is always a matter of taste. Also we of course have Junior Suites and Suites in case one likes to have a bigger room. Please feel free to check them out on your next stay in Berlin. Also you might be interested in our other hotels in Barcelona and Maspalomas / Gran Canaria. Best regards from Berlin,
Stephan Krebs, Front Office Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for our honeymoon in the Axel Hotel and had a wonderful time. The hotel staff were universally pleasant, helpful accommodating and spoke perfect English. The food in Hamburger Mary's was very good, as was breakfast and he cabaret acts were fun! The room was stylish, clean and well designed. Highly recommended. We'll be back!

Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AxelhotelBerlin, Leiter Front Office at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear,
I would like to thank you for your great review here an TripAdvisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here at Axel Hotel Berlin. Thank you also for taking the time to write the review! Whenever you are in Berlin again, please feel free to visit us! Also you might be interested in checking our other hotels in Barcelona and Maspalomas / Gran Canaria. Best regards from Berlin, Stephan Krebs, Front Office Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Perfect location near public transport and in the centre of gay Berlin. Stylish if you like black and mirrors and glass all over, looks ridiculous if you don't. Very small standard rooms, no doors to bathroom. Few places to put clothes etc. We had booked non smoking, were asked twice if we wanted non smoking and were given smoking room. Rubbish from a previous guest still in the room.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank gxnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelhotelBerlin, Leiter Front Office at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Gudbrand G,
thank you very much for taking the time and writing a review about your stay with us. I am terribly sorry we were not able to meet the expectations you had. Please believe me we are taking your words seriously and will do our best to improve in the mentioned points. I would be happy to show you the results on your next stay although. Also you might be interested in checking our other hotels in Barcelona and Maspalomas / Gran Canaria. Best regards from Berlin, All the best from Berlin. Stephan Krebs, Front Office Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
TWO Hotel Berlin by Axel
#153 of 634 in Berlin
141 reviews
Schoneberg
Mercure Berlin Wittenbergplatz
Charlottenburg
Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schoneberg
Ibis Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Schoneberg
Hotel Riu Plaza Berlin
Hotel Riu Plaza Berlin
#95 of 634 in Berlin
752 reviews
Schoneberg
Tom's Hotel
Tom's Hotel
#356 of 634 in Berlin
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Hotel Berlin

Address: Lietzenburger Str. 13-15, 10789 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £49 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Axel Hotel Berlin 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Schöneberg, the heart of the gay scene in the city, Axel Hotel Berlin is fascinating for its cosmopolitan spirit and delicious, by the careful combination of design and comfort, and for excellent service. The charm and elegant mix of gold on black, overlay and textures make Axel Hotel Berlin a unique space in the German capital. With 87 design rooms, fully equipped to provide guests with maximum confort and a different stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Axel Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing