We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excelent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Ranked #154 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excelent”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

.i was staying in this hotel twice and i am going to book it now once more
my first staying was during two weeks, that's why i got a surprising benifit: a very big room with a ..corner with a big sofa and special coffe table. it was very nice and comfrtable
everything was just new and perfect
my second time i used also a breakfast which was rather good with a great collection of tea,the location is fantastic, everything is clean and modern.we walked to almost all attractions by foot.the price was more then reasonable.unfortunately this year the price seems to be raised/but still i recomended this hotel to my friends and some of them already used my recomendations..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dina2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven F, Manager at Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear dina2106,

thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review about our hotel, the Winters Hotel Berlin Mitte am Gendarmenmarkt. We appreciate all your comments very much and are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

with best regards from Berlin
Sven Fischer
Electronic Distribution Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    390
    157
    39
    18
See reviews for
104
349
57
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

On my comfirmation email it says "free wireless internet", when we got here we were told this wireless internet service only available in the lobby. The hotel does provide wired hook up in the guest room, however we only brought our ipad mini to minimize our luggages. So we had to come down to the lobby very often to check the info we need. This was a really draw back to us. Please make clear statement on hotel profile.

The rest about the hotel is very good. Great location, morden and very clean. Our room is one of those big suites in the hotel. very happy with that.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leah2020201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven F, Manager at Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
dear leah,
thanks alot for your review! We are very well aware that this takes a considerable effort from your side and we thank you very much for your time.
Concerning the wireless internet, we are aware of this problem and are working on finding a solution.
Again, thank you very much for having taken the time to rate our hotel. We do appreciate this, as it helps us to improve our products and services.
best regards
the managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel is incredibly well located. Within walking distance to many attractions, bars and restaurants - it's also just a few minutes from Stadmitte U-Bahn stop.

The hotel itself if very clean, modern and feels like it's just been refurbished. The hotel staff are very polite and friendly.

However the rooms was a bit of a let down - the room is very small, so small that the shower is in the bedroom - so make sure you're very friendly with the person you're staying with! The walls were also very thin meaning we could hear the guests next door.

If you're staying with a partner, and are only using the hotel as a base to explore Berlin - then I'd highly recommend it as it's great value, but if you want a hotel with wifi in your room, a bar or somewhere to relax this isn't it unfortunately.

Room Tip: You can just about get a weak WiFi signal if you stay on the first floor near reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven F, Manager at Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Good day mrleewilliams,
thank you for taking the time to comment in such great detail about our hotel. We were happy to read that you found the hotel clean with a great location. However, regarding the size of the room we are sorry that it did not fullfil the expectations. We have various roomsizes from 15 sqm to 38 sqm at different roomrates. The smallest rooms enable us to keep those room rates at a very affordable level. However, we would be pleased to host you again and do make sure to ask for a larger room for his next stay. We are putting all necessary electronic things together so that we can soon offer WIFI in all hotelrooms.
Again thank you very much for having taken the time to rate our hotel. We do appreciate this, as it helps us to improve our products and services.
best regards
the managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife and I have stayed twice in this clean, well situated hotel and we recomend it. But, this time, when we checked-out, we were surprised with the huge mistake they made. The amount was E376,00 for four nigths and they charged us more than E600,00. The mistake was solved because I had with me a copy of the e-mail that confirmed the reservation. But without any "I'm sorry". Seams rude, no?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danpeaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We got an absolute bargain last minute deal on this hotel and we were very pleased with the hotel. It was very clean and modern with soundproofed rooms so no corridor noise and no traffic noise. Good powerful shower too! We went in February so weatherwise it was freezing outisde, but our room was very cosy at all times.
The hotel is in quite a business-orientated/upmarket area so maybe wouldn't choose this location again. Still, it is near shopping streets and is walking distance to Checkpoint Charlie, the Currywurst Museum and the main street of Unter den Linden. The Friedrichstrasse train station is very near too, as well as various S&U-Bahns. Good restaurants in the surrounding areas too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We arrived and wanted to book. I very broken English and the receptionists colleagues talking even worse English together at the same time to me. Me responding and non of them seamed to understand me and therefor just repeating the same again.
'The hotel is full that's why you should book online and we will book you at a hotel just -one kilometer- away. It's the same hotel Winters Hotel'.
We spoke in English,so to her collegue she was whispering 'let him book online, so we save the paperwork'. Lazy employees! It's the 1th og May, you even get extra for working.
Let's just say that we didn't book that hotel, after we got online and compared prices and ratings.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I got to Berlin at nine o'clock in the morning and after arriving at the hotel twenty minutes later realized that my room will not be ready until 3 o'clock and I could not check in before that. It would have been nice to be informed of this fact at booking time.

The main issue was that wifi only covers the ground floor and the first floor. With my room being on the second floor, I had to spend great amounts of time loitering around the lobby or the seating area of the second floor.

The room - The whole separate toilet separate shower thing does not work, my shower was blocked the day I got there and all the water started to leak out when I was inside. The TV was also a bit small and so far up on the wall that it was practically on the ceiling.

Other than the above, the staff at reception were a cheerful bunch and were more than willing to help. The housekeeping staff on the other hand, seemed like they did not understand what it meant when someone says "sorry, please do not come in".

I'm not sure if I'd want to stay there again though.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Saad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Kreuzberg
Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt
Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt
#512 of 634 in Berlin
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte am Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Hotel Gendarm Nouveau
Hotel Gendarm Nouveau
#196 of 634 in Berlin
282 reviews
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#76 of 634 in Berlin
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt

Property: Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Address: Charlottenstr. 66, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Novum Winters Hotel Am Gendarmenmarkt)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#167 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nowhere is the idea of "centre" more versatile than in Berlin. Around the Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, history and future create an international everyday lifestyle. A place where magnificent historic buildings and boulevards, religious and national landmarks, monumental palaces, culture and major visionary architectural projects meet. All functionally designed 134 guestrooms in different categories are equiped with Flatscreec-TVs, air condition and complimentary WiFi. The hotel offers a various breakfast buffet in the stylish breakfast restaurant which offers a great view to the pulsating Leipziger Strasse through its panorama windows. Attractions as Checkpoint Charlie, the elegant shopping street Friedrichstrasse or Boulevard Unter den Linden are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winters Gendarmenmarkt Hotel Berlin
Berlin Winters Gendarmenmarkt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing