We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I hope they have a room for us next time we are going to visit beautiful Berlin.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Circus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Circus Hotel
Ranked #8 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
219 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“I hope they have a room for us next time we are going to visit beautiful Berlin.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

My wife and I stay at this charming hotel in Berlin from 14th to 17th of February 13. We had a Junior Suite (a room to the quiet courtyard) which was really big and nice and a great value for the price – see my attached photos (110 EUR/night)! The room is one of the largest hotel rooms I have ever booked for this price in a city like Berlin. The rooms are also of a very high standard and the bathroom is clean with proper shower room size and they provided nice toiletries which you pick up in the reception.

The organic breakfast was lovely and offered a big choice of cold food, fresh bread, fruit etc. If you want some hot food you have to pay extra.

The great service on this hotel makes you feel comfortable. The reception staffs are very friendly and very helpful and there is nothing to complain about the cleaning!

The friendly staff sincerely enjoy serving their guests and making us feel at home!

If you are going to Berlin - this is the hotel to book!!

Best Regards

Svein-Magne Tunli from Bergen, Norway.
tunliweb.no

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the quiet courtyard if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svein-Magne_Tunli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,878
    514
    81
    8
    3
See reviews for
273
1,388
178
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

This is a terrific idea from a few young kids to have a trendy,accesible,cheap,smart hotel in the interesting area of (the late East) Berlin. It's ideal for getting round Berlin and the kids that run it know all the answers ..they will talk to you about the best music places and in the evenings in the Hotel bar they have live musicians and although we didn't eat in their restaurant I bet it was first class. The rooms are funky and modern and spotless and I can see why it continually comes top in the Hotels in Berlin in Trip Advisor.For the budget traveller, the Circus Hostel is perfect.
We will be back

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BolBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Very clean rooms and excellent/friendly staff. Good location. Our room is 109, right above where several people love to chat in the middle of the night, it is not a quiet room by no means and would not recommend it in the summer. Tram is also right outside and very loud.

Room Tip: Not sure if there are any - but ask for the opposite side of the tram...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArmySpousechicagoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at your hotel for a few days over valentines day, we had a wonderful time and would highly recommend it. The room was a good size, with a balcony and double doors (which would be amazing in the summer...!) an extremely comfortable bed and an outstanding shower! The reception staff were all extremely polite and friendly, ready with direction and advice when requested.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belle3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

The circus is very central (although bus is the best way for reaching it from the train station), well connected to many local sights, has a lovely neighbourhood of shops, cafes & bars! Its a very lively environ, with super helpful & friendly staff & a wonderful open corner at the end of the lobby to enjoy a smoke! The rooms are spacious & great value for money. The food & especially hot chocolate are pretty worth every penny spent. The breakfast spread is relatively sparse but there are many cafes around it...would highly recommened the hotel. Just ensure you get a room thats not main road facing but one thats facing inwards. I did, & it was just great!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarantheBull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

I stay there every year since 2008 - staff has always been friendly and very professional - the hotel is located 20 meter from a metro station - neighborhood is plenty of bars & restaurants & shops.
Rooms are ultra clean, with contemporain decoration, sound insulation is OK, there is iPad for free use at the lounge bar (try their Caiperiñas) - I would recommend the place either for business and tourism,
it is maybe a bit difficult to park a car in this area - does't matter, hotel staff helps..I'll come back next year

Room Tip: I tried their apartments - interesting if you are traveling more than 2 persons
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

We had a wonderful stay at hotel circus. The location was awesome - access to public transportation was easy, lots of places in walking distance, and excellent variety of restaurants nearby! It was loud - since we were there in the summer, we had to leave the windows open to stay cool, but the street was really noisy during most of the night and early in the mornings. But the room was nicely decorated and spacious. Favorite part: the rooftop terrace with the incredible view of the city. Hotel restaurant was also fabulous and the concierges were full of helpful tips.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for one that does not face the street to avoid noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#5 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#2 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Charlottenburg
Louisa's Place
Louisa's Place
#6 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Circus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hotel

Property: The Circus Hotel
Address: Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#9 Family Hotel in Berlin
#50 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Circus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2008, the Circus Hotel continues our tradition of a friendly welcome to Berlin, and has been designed to reflect our commitments to hospitality, individuality and sustainability. At the Circus Hotel you will not only find comfortable accommodation, but also a range of services and lots of recommendations to make your stay in our wonderful city truly special. Along many other things we offer a tablet in each room, bike rental, a garden courtyard, roof terrace and exlusive events and tours put together by our lovely staff. Of course we also provide free Wi-Fi throughout the building. On the ground floor you find our partners Commonground who offer breakfast until as late as 4pm, and tasty tapas and drinks in the evenings. You can also just relax in the salon or browse through some records or the library. We look forward to welcoming you to the Circus Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your The Circus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing