We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Circus Hotel May Not Be For Everybody”
Review of The Circus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Circus Hotel
Ranked #12 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“The Circus Hotel May Not Be For Everybody”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Booked this hotel for two nights in July due to excellent TA reviews and its location in the heart of former east Berlin. Taxi from Tegel was 25 euro. The hotel entrance and lobby were really low key and eclectic. I asked the young woman at the desk, with a name tag that said, 'I'm New', if this was the best hotel in Berlin, and she said, 'it depends on what you are looking for.' The perfect answer. I wanted authentic, different, distinct, vibrant. What I got was all of that, and an eco-friendly feel, a cool simple German room on the first floor literally above a curry wurst restaurant and a doner kabob on very busy Roesenthaler Strasse. And, that was just fine because two sets of very high quality double pane windows with black out drapes blocked 100% of the noise, and there was no smell from the restaurants. The bed was comfy, the bathroom very cool (big shower head - no tub, just partial glass separating the shower from the rest of the room), and the fan even better. It was warm and there was no AC, so I turned on the fan, put in my plugs, opened all the windows and slept like a baby.

Next day breakfast was 8 euros, was very German complete and was served off of an internal courtyard that was earthy and beautiful. Rented a bike at the Circus Hostel for 12 euros, toured Berlin all day, ate sushi next door to the hotel and then read a book on roof terrace. There are tons of food options everywhere, and the Rosenthaler U-bahn is right across the street. The M-1 S-bahn is right out the front door too. BTW, the hotel has a few monthly metro passes that it rents out for cost on a daily basis. Reserve one the night before. This hotel rocks - but its probably a three star property - albeit the best three you will ever experience! It's as if Feng Shui was invented here. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: There are rooms off the main street - quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adventurebuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,916
    531
    83
    10
    5
See reviews for
285
1,412
184
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed here in January 2013 after reading positive reviews and it did not disappoint! The hotel is fantastic and we would stay here again in a heartbeat if we ever find ourselves back in Berlin. Exceptional value which we'd recommend to all. The location is superb and with the train station on the doorstep it is very easy to navigate around this magnificent city. The neighbourhood is historical worth a look around - the hotel provides a guided map of sights to see. The hotel is very neat and tidy and uber-stylish without being stuffy. Our room overlooked the street so there was some noise at night but not enough to keep us awake. The room was fairly large and decorated simply but very clean. The bathroom was surprisingly large and again, very clean. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful and gave us some excellent advice. The restaurant/bar had a great atmosphere and even had a live band playing one night we were there, which was fun. The menu looked good however we only ate here once due to reservations at some fancy restaurants around town (VAU and Fischer's Fritz - both superb). There are some great local restaurants in the area which are well worth checking out - very authentic. In short, we loved this hotel and everything about our visit to Berlin - definitely one of our favourite cities. Check it out!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJR_190880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hod HaSharon, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

stayed with my son ( 9 years old) for three nights. charming hotel, very nice and clean room with street view( my son was very happy). despite this we slept very good at night. the staff is very friendly and helpful. we loved the breakfast, and the courtyard, which is quiet and relaxed. great location. outside underground and metro. the area is full of coffee shops and restaurants. just walk along the street to hackesche hofe, interesting and wonderful atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hadas I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I signed up for trip advisor just to post a review about this place because we had such a great experience. It is not a ritzy stunningly beautiful over the top opulent place...but it's clean, efficient, super friendly, in a fantastic location, and a great value.

We had a court yard room which was nice. We visited in the middle of July and the temperature in the room was fine which I was worried about beforehand as, like everywhere else in Europe, there is no AC.

I couldn't get over how friendly and helpful the staff was. They took the time to explain a few things and came outside to point us in the right direction when asking about a store location. We rented their transportation pass for 4.50€ per day. It's a great deal and saves you from having to buy a ticket every time you use the U-Bahn, S-Bahn, tram, or bus lines.

The location is perfect, the hotel is literally steps away from the Rosenthalerplatz u-bahn stop on the U8 line. It's 2stops north of Alexanderplatz, so you can be anywhere in Berlin in minutes. It's also 1 stop from Bernauer Strasse which has a larger section of the wall remaining, and is near the east side gallery.

There are also many food options steps away from the hotel and several bars and restaurants on adjacent streets. For a fantastic quick bite go to either the "China Food" just to your left as you exit the hotel. We ate there twice and loved it. There is also. A good kebab place and a convenient store right next door.

We enjoyed everything about our stay and won't stay anywhere else in Berlin!

Room Tip: Choose a courtyard room for less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
204 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This is a moderate sized hotel in interesting and central Scheunenviertel that is suitable for all ages and moderately priced. The staff are young and friendly, with great language skills and the rooms, while not large, are well equipped and all have individual designs. The hotel provides, as loans or cheap rentals, DVDs of Berlin movies, public transportation passes (4 Euros/day), bicycles, motorbikes, a Segway, &c.

The restaurant is good, and the breakfast buffet is extremely fresh, varied and (largely?) organic, setting you up for the whole day! There is a courtyard, and a roof deck. A disadvantage in really hot weather: no a/c.

The Circus is in a recently renovated building in what was East Berlin, and pays tribute to the Fabich family, who used to own it and various tailoring businesses within it, and who were victims of the Nazi concentration camps. The management also run a hostel and buildings with available apartments nearby.

We had little trouble booking - in April - 5 nights for June. Can't recommend the hotel too highly.

Room Tip: Top floors and away from street are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicJBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Rey, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I would have never discovered this hotel had it not been for Trip Advisor. The reviews are accurate, and our family loved the hotel so much, and I was so impressed by the caring and helpful staff I felt compelled to add my review to the others. I gave this property 5 Stars, not because it is a Four Seasons kind of luxury property, but because it offers truly outstanding lodging at a moderate price point. Worth noting upfront, that the company that owns the Circus Hotel also owns the Circus Hostel which is about a block away and which offers accomodations at lower prices.

We loved The Circus for the following reasons:
1. THE STAFF! Alot of them are young and they are very eager to please! We stayed in the 2 BR apartment (a great value at $130/night) and the staff member that checked us in insisted on walking our luggage up the stairs to the apartment. (no elevator in this part of the hotel). I cut my arm (modest bleeding) and the staff member dropped everything to assist. When we needed to arrange for a cab at the airport (there is a cab stand about 50 yards away), the front desk staff told me the advantages of having him call a cab on our behalf. (there were several). I give the staff six stars out of five!

2. THE ATMOSPHERE - A bit funky, which my wife and I, and our twelve year old daugter really liked.

3. RESTAURANT in the LOBBY - Serves a great breakfast and offers dinner as well. Very convenient. A beautiful outdoor courtyard patio is soothing and wonderful if the weather cooperates. Great drinks too, at respectable price points.

4. ACCOMODATIONS - We loved our room. We had a small kitchen (which would have come in handy if we stayed more than two nights) with various cookware, table sofabed and then a staircase to the upstairs loft which featured a sitting area plus large bed, all of which was stylishly decorated. (Bath was downstairs next to kitchen).

Finally, location was convenient to public transportation and some great sites were walkable. Net/net a terrific find (thank you Travel Advisor!). When we have the chance to return to Berlin (which I would love to do!) the first website we will check for availability will be for The Circus in Berlin!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Booked hotel for 5 nights ( 14th - 19th July) after reading really positive reviews on trip advisor. Arrived on very hot day and the room was nice, clean but very small.The sun was shining directly on windows all day, so by the time we went to bed to was like an oven inside. We tried opening windows but our room was on the first floor and faced on to the busy junction at Rosenthaler Platz (great for during the day and brilliant atmosphere at night but too noisy to sleep with window open. Hardly slept at all and checked out at 9am the next morning. The hotel staff was brilliant, they allowed us to check out with no penalty and apologized, although it was my own fault for not checking air con before I booked it. It is green hotel so air con is against their ethos and i have since discovered not very common in Germany. Definitely stay here in cooler months or if you don't mind the heat. Great sfaff, great location, pleasant rooms, nice courtyard for breakfast and good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask to face courtyard not main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,705 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#3 of 634 in Berlin
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 634 in Berlin
2,139 reviews
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 634 in Berlin
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Circus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hotel

Property: The Circus Hotel
Address: Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#9 Family Hotel in Berlin
#50 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Circus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2008, the Circus Hotel continues our tradition of a friendly welcome to Berlin, and has been designed to reflect our commitments to hospitality, individuality and sustainability. At the Circus Hotel you will not only find comfortable accommodation, but also a range of services and lots of recommendations to make your stay in our wonderful city truly special. Along many other things we offer a tablet in each room, bike rental, a garden courtyard, roof terrace and exlusive events and tours put together by our lovely staff. Of course we also provide free Wi-Fi throughout the building. On the ground floor you find our partners Commonground who offer breakfast until as late as 4pm, and tasty tapas and drinks in the evenings. You can also just relax in the salon or browse through some records or the library. We look forward to welcoming you to the Circus Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotel.de so you can book your The Circus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing