We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of The Circus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Circus Hotel
Ranked #10 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, seems like the hoxton but better value, clean, good location, food is really good. All round pretty nice place! Room 402 was the room that me and my Fräulein made our magic in ;-)

What room will your fuehrer be tied up in? Also the cake!! Eat lots of their cake! It's amazing.

Much love

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZAK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

781 - 787 of 2,634 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

I chose The Circus in Berlin after reading all the wonderful reviews and because it was very affordable. I wasn't disappointed. Although the single room was small, I had everything I needed and the bed was very comfortable. The washroom was modern and updated. Swipe cards allowed access to the elevator and your room - very safe! I couldn't help but think this hotel epitomizes German efficiency and practicality. I loved it! The attached restaurant/bar was very convenient and I found myself sipping a glass of red wine and listening to a live jazz band on the night I arrived. Perfect! The location was just right for me, in the Mitte district, right on a U line and an easy walk to most attractions. I highly recommend this hotel for the discerning traveller and hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed one night in Junior Suite, which was on the back side (no street noise) and the end of a corridor (virtually no hallway noise).

Modern, spacious room, very comfortable. The bed was probably one of the best I have ever slept on. Nice bathroom too, luxury feel although none of the rooms have baths (but the shower is very good).

Problem with one of the keycards was resolved easily by reception

I felt that the extra price for the "junior suite" was probably not really worth it. If you want a bit more space and a larger bed, the "double room" is probably enough. I can imagine the "economy rooms" are really small, but will do if you only need a decent place to sleep.

Free wifi worked very well - this should be free in all hotels instead of the regular ripoff policy.

Although you can request ground coffee and milk for free downstairs, I think having this in the room is an absolute basic service.

Spotlessly clean.

Location is good, and perfect connection to U-bahn entrance 10 meters from the door.

Small reception - I can imagine this can be a bit hectic at peak times.

Overall very recommendable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenneB153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Circus in October and it was great! I can see why it constantly sells out.

I really would give it 4.5 stars- very clean, comfy, and they have a heated towel rack in the bathroom!

The room itself is on the smaller size- we just had a regular double room. But that was fine as the bed was very comfy and the location allowed us to walk to prenzlauerberg and take the metro everywhere (so we didnt spend that much time in the room).

Breakfast buffet at next door Fabisch is healthy and plentiful, and worth the cost.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank niclam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014


We chose Berlin as it had an Intercontinental Hotel, however after ready the reviews we decided to stay at the Circus and was not disappointed. We arrived early and the receptionist was happy to check us in and for us to leave our bags. She also gave us some ideas of where to visit and also advice on travel which they rent travel cards for 4.50 euros a day for use on all of the Berlin transport system. We had booked breakfast for our stay, however we realised that we needed to leave before breakfast on our last day which we advised the reception staff and we were not charged. The breakfast was simple but ample, and the hotel was spotless. We are so pleased we chose to stay and would highly recommend this hotel. The location and staff made a really excellent break in Berlin. We would suggest booking direct with the hotel as this seems to be the cheapest alternative.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JCandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Circus on New Year's Eve 2013. The staff were amazingly friendly. The room we stayed in was simple, clean and very fit for purpose. The food was great. The breakfast was absolutely amazing, it was a buffet style. The location is great for seeing the city, public transport links. The bar and restaurant were very cool. All the staff follow the anticipatory service model, awesome. Thank you

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MavenAdviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Clean & comfortable . Bed room are very good. We can see very good view from their. food are delivered very fast.. Only in few minute.. Food are also very testy but. Tha hotel also provide speecial kind of food. Eg: traditional food, different country food etc..

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank NiKhil20178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 633 in Berlin
1,924 reviews
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 633 in Berlin
528 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Q!
Hotel Q!
#9 of 633 in Berlin
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#2 of 633 in Berlin
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Circus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hotel

Address: Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#9 Family Hotel in Berlin
#50 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £82 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Circus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2008, the Circus Hotel continues our tradition of a friendly welcome to Berlin, and has been designed to reflect our commitments to hospitality, individuality and sustainability. At the Circus Hotel you will not only find comfortable accommodation, but also a range of services and lots of recommendations to make your stay in our wonderful city truly special. Along many other things we offer a tablet in each room, bike rental, a garden courtyard, roof terrace and exlusive events and tours put together by our lovely staff. Of course we also provide free Wi-Fi throughout the building. On the ground floor you find our partners Commonground who offer breakfast until as late as 4pm, and tasty tapas and drinks in the evenings. You can also just relax in the salon or browse through some records or the library. We look forward to welcoming you to the Circus Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Circus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing