We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd go there again”
Review of The Circus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Circus Hotel
Ranked #11 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

2,561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,929
    534
    83
    10
    5
See reviews for
290
1,419
184
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights with my girlfriend. Was looking forward to staying here based on the rave reviews it had been getting.
We weren't disappointed. The hotel is very easy to find and well located. The under ground stop is basically on the hotels front door and only 2 stops from Alexander platz.It's about a 10-15min walk other wise.

The guys at the desk were very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. We ate once in the hotel restaurant, the menu was limited but the beef on the menu was melt in the mouth and I would recommend that but the ribs weren't great.
There's ipads and free wifi in the bar area and it's really nice for unwinding after a day of getting to know Berlin!

The hotel is modern and our double room was very reasonably priced, clean, comfortable and had no faults.
It's a perfect base, there's a real mix of cool bars close by too. There's a 24hr bar just down the street and another bar with a table tennis table if your looking for something different your sure to find it in Berlin. When you've had your beer, you can get your kebabs or pizza which are all located adjacent to the hotel.

I would certainly recommend this hotel and it's all positive on my front.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boycie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Small, comfortable, reasonably priced, clean, friendly and well located (next to an underground station, within 10 mins walk of Alexanderplatz and 30 mins walk of the Brandenberg gate). No negatives to report. Would definitely stay here again. You should too!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hirant1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This small (ish) but perfectly formed hotel is excellent. The directions on the hotel website are invaluable and very easy to follow, there is a multitude of info on Berlin itself as well, with plenty of recommendations on what to see and where to go.
Our room was quite small but it had everything we needed and was beautifully presented, small issue was the level of heat in the room, easily remedied by turning off all 3!! radiators. The view was of the street which was super busy and fun to watch the comings and goings of Berlin below, there was very little noise when the windows were closed.
Breakfast was lovely and again beautifully presented, yoghurt, fruit, nuts, seeds,fresh bread, meats and cheeses but in my opinion slightly overpriced at €9.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, I would definitely highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wishfultraveller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The hotel itself is really nice and is in an excellent location for the underground station. We had the Junior Suite, the room was spacious, comfortable, very clean and quiet during the night. The bar down stairs has a nice ambiance; casual, yet still has a classy feel. The cocktails are excellent, the wine and beer is also a good price. The bar staff and reception staff were also helpful, no complaints there. The hotel breakfast is lovely, fresh fruit and bread with homemade pots of jam, plus a selection of German cheeses etc. We had a meal in the hotel restaurant the main was very good.

However, on arrival, there was a major problem before we had even left the airport. We arranged an airport transfer with the hotel. Firstly, we thought he had not arrived; we waited for over 30 minutes before phoning the hotel. The reception staff explained that the driver was there and he was waiting for us. To cut a long story short the driver was there, but he was holding a card with the wrong name, could hardly speak a word of English, tried to pick up a couple instead of us (their driver also hadn't turned up) and this all ended with us chasing him outside and explaining who we where whilst my partner and him where both on the phone to the hotel reception - nightmare, and wasted over an hour. The hotel did say to us get a taxi and they would cover the cost, which was very good service but since we got the airport transfer we didn't get any discounted which seemed unfair.

I would recommend using the Airport Express to transfer from the Airport to the hotel. It is cheap, quick and easy to navigate. Once on the Underground the station is right around the corner from the hotel.

There were also several other problems; we had to ask for more pillows, the steak ordered from the hotel was undercooked, and again the soufflé was terrible quality. The hotel room was also very hot! There was no air-con and the bathroom radiator would come automatically.

These are all small things that to be fair, where sorted by the hotel staff immediately and where not really problems. However, because of these little things and the mishap with the airport transfer the hotel doesn't warrant 5*.

Despite this we would definitely stay here again and believe we were just unlucky with some of the things that happened during our stay.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite was a good size and worth paying the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Day48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisburn
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We have all read the glowing reviews about The Circus Hotel..... and they are all absolutely true! This Hotel really does care about their guests & they also have a healthy attitude to environmental issues (without any pressure) The Staff are helpful, knowledgeable and extremely pleasant, even in the early morning! The location is perfect for the U-bahn, the Restaurant is very good value & the inclusive Breakfast is a great start to any day before exploring the wonderful city of Berlin....so much to see! I would also recommend upgrading to a Junior Suite for that little bit of extra room. The decor in the Rooms is modern with comfy beds & a modern bathroom....what more could you ask for! I would even suggest that this is one of the best Hotels I have ever stayed in!

Room Tip: A Junior Suite is worth the extra €
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aefb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I stayed at the Circus for the first half of the Berlinale 2014. The location is good, very central and in a nice area and the hotel original with a super café and a few unusual but cool ideas. (E.g. there are no shampoos in the room, but you can take them with you from the reception - for a more eco experience). The rooms are all different (friends were staying too so I had a chance to check theirs out), full of original art and cool design solutions. The bathrooms are beautiful. The only problem I had was the noise in my first room that was situated right next to the lift - some sound insulation there would be welcome. The following day the staff was very helpful and I was transferred to another, quiet room and after that my stay was perfect.

Room Tip: Avoid the room next to the lift - very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsShetland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,751 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 634 in Berlin
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 634 in Berlin
2,162 reviews
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#3 of 634 in Berlin
967 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Circus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hotel

Property: The Circus Hotel
Address: Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#9 Family Hotel in Berlin
#50 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Circus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2008, the Circus Hotel continues our tradition of a friendly welcome to Berlin, and has been designed to reflect our commitments to hospitality, individuality and sustainability. At the Circus Hotel you will not only find comfortable accommodation, but also a range of services and lots of recommendations to make your stay in our wonderful city truly special. Along many other things we offer a tablet in each room, bike rental, a garden courtyard, roof terrace and exlusive events and tours put together by our lovely staff. Of course we also provide free Wi-Fi throughout the building. On the ground floor you find our partners Commonground who offer breakfast until as late as 4pm, and tasty tapas and drinks in the evenings. You can also just relax in the salon or browse through some records or the library. We look forward to welcoming you to the Circus Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Circus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing