We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, comfortable and great value”
Review of The Circus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Circus Hotel
Ranked #11 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Hartsdale, NY
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Modern, comfortable and great value”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This hotel is based on a simple white box construction but still lovely. Beds and pillows are really comfortable, shower really good, and there are enough plugs. Most important is the staff, who were really caring and helpful. I needed a late night pharmacy and was directed to the right place. My traveling companion's flight was cancelled because Lufthansa pilots went on strike. The quality of the staff made a huge difference, as they patiently helped an anxious traveler sort out the options. This hotel is not just a place to stay, but it's both modern and hip in style, and warm in spirit. That's a real accomplishment. The city is great and I look forward to coming back.

The location is really convenient, easy to get to day or night. The neighborhood has many options for window shopping, dining at all price points...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,929
    534
    83
    10
    5
See reviews for
290
1,419
184
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This place is so cool I was a bit worried we were going to get asked to leave because we weren't trendy enough, but seriously, it's a great place to stay with super-friendly, helpful staff, amazing amazing amazing breakfast (the bread alone is to die for) and a fantastic location with easy access to all Berlin has to offer. Our room was very cute with a lovely view over Rosenthaler Platz and a very comfy bed. There are plenty of great places nearby to eat and access to the metro is right outside the front door. Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaireBearRas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

What an excellent hotel. First and foremost the staff is young, fresh and seem to love the city and to know all about it. Just ask them anything and they'll direct you in the right direction. for example they have some crazy and interesting ideas like seeing the gay women's cemetery as a site 'must see' for gay women in town. or to see the old airport area that was turned into Coffee area and such. Rooms are nice and clean but a bit small. The house porch is absolutely the best space to hangout and the restaurant is very young and hip. Breakfast bufe' is nice but warm omellets and vegetables are not a part of it and its missing. The shampoo and bath gel are not the best products, so bring your own. And lastly, you need to connect to the wireless Internet again and again after leaving the hotel and coming back to it.
But overall, we would definitely return, we had a free and warm feeling and the people who visit here seem like a great crowd too. 5 stars without doubt.


  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This was a fantastic little hotel. The interior design was great, the room spacious and well equipped, the shower powerful and the staff friendly and well informed. There is a lovely bar area serving food and drink - we are in the restaurant one night (which the guidebook described as 'average') and really enjoyed the meal. They have live music some nights so a great atmosphere. Location is perfect - plenty going on but not right in the centre if the main tourist areas. All in all, this felt like a much more expensive hotel than it was! Great value at around £90 a night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

To start off, before staying here, I was initially deterred by the name. Then, based on Tripadvisor reviews, we booked our stay. It is such a great hotel at such a great price, that I'm very, very happy we made the booking!

The hotel, lobby, dining area, and rooms are extremely clean and offer a good amount of space for the price. Each room has a different theme, and the themes are well done and fun. It isn't a luxurious hotel, but the location is perfect for walking to museums, shops, art galleries, and great restaurants. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms perfectly adequately sized, and the breakfast is, frankly, awesome! We had to change rooms a few times because they were booked (we booked our stay less than a week before going during the busy summer months), so we experienced a few rooms. All comfortable, quiet, and with fun themes. Also, every staff member we met was kind and extremely helpful and knowledgeable.

I would definitely stay in this hotel again when visiting Berlin!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USTraveler121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We've just had 3 nights at Circus and were delighted. The room was not huge but finished to a high standard and great value. The staff were friendly and helpful and provided lots of good information on all aspects of our stay. The location is great, within walking distance of the many of the main tourist sights and on good public transport routes. The hotel bar restaurant has a good vibe and was a great place to drop into after a hard day walking round the city.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCAZ54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here in December and we were very pleased with our choice. This was our first trip to Berlin and we relied on TA reviews when choosing the Circus Hotel. We had a double room several floors up facing the courtyard and it was of adequate size, clean, comfortable and quiet. Towel warmers in the bathroom were an added treat. The hotel has a nice indoor/outdoor breakfast area in the Restaurant Bar Fabisch. Breakfast was reasonable, good and healthy, although there were no hot items to choose from. The Restaurant Bar Fabisch was a nice place to relax with a glass of wine after wearing out our shoes during the day. Be sure to ask for soaps from the counter when checking in. In my opinion they go a little over the top in trying to practice conservation but give them credit for for the effort, so again, ask for soap! Free wi-fi. They "rent" metro cards which is a good deal. Ask for one when checking in. There seemed to be only one small elevator so during busy times the elevator availability may be a problem. All forms of transportation just steps from the hotel. Give the Circus Hotel serious consideration when staying in Berlin!

Room Tip: It's probably quieter on a higher floor facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_5581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,753 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 634 in Berlin
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 634 in Berlin
2,164 reviews
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#3 of 634 in Berlin
968 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Circus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hotel

Property: The Circus Hotel
Address: Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#9 Family Hotel in Berlin
#50 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Circus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2008, the Circus Hotel continues our tradition of a friendly welcome to Berlin, and has been designed to reflect our commitments to hospitality, individuality and sustainability. At the Circus Hotel you will not only find comfortable accommodation, but also a range of services and lots of recommendations to make your stay in our wonderful city truly special. Along many other things we offer a tablet in each room, bike rental, a garden courtyard, roof terrace and exlusive events and tours put together by our lovely staff. Of course we also provide free Wi-Fi throughout the building. On the ground floor you find our partners Commonground who offer breakfast until as late as 4pm, and tasty tapas and drinks in the evenings. You can also just relax in the salon or browse through some records or the library. We look forward to welcoming you to the Circus Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Circus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing