We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel, good location”
Review of The Circus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Circus Hotel
Ranked #12 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
106 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“good hotel, good location”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Circus hotel at Berlin is centrally located. The hotel is on a crowded road junction but when the windows are closed there is full quiet inside. The hotel has nice new rooms and very good restaurant. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,916
    531
    83
    10
    5
See reviews for
285
1,412
184
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Great location - walking distance to all tourist sights and restaurants and cafes along the street, as well as many shops and there's a small market in a square a few blocks away on Saturdays. The staff are really helpful. There's 2 different walking tours that come around to the lobby to pick you up. The cafe has a breakfast. You can get a bowl of muesli with fruit and yoghurt for 4 euros. A buffet breakfast is 9 euros which includes cold meats, cheeses and bread. There's also an a la carte menu for breakfast.

The room was 2 twin beds pushed together but there was enough room at the end of the bed (in front of the desk) to have 2 suitcases opened. It was neat and clean. The bathroom was modern and clean and a good size by European standards.

The only thing I think may be an issue for travellers is if the temperature gets too hot. We were there for one day when it was 30 degrees celsius. We opened the window. Our room faced Rosenthaler Platz, a main road with a tram running down it so it was a bit noisy at night to sleep with the window open. The room has a fan but the room didn't gethot enough to require a fan. Some rooms face the inner courtyard so perhaps travellers going in high summer concerned about heat can request those rooms. When the windows are closed, you don't hear the tram going by.

We stayed here for 6 nights and loved it. Free WiFi and English channels. The hotel provides shampoo, conditioner and shower gel. You pick it up at the front desk. They do this to be less wasteful about throwing out those little bottles of shampoo etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie_Charlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The hotel is located on a very busy crossroad. Ideal to visit the city, but although the hotel is quite well sound insulated, one can hear the traffic clearly and feel the vibrations through the building. The room and bathroom looked very beautiful and clean but rather small and the soap and shampoo from the hotel are really good! Unfortunately we stayed there during a heat wave and the room was way too hot. There was a fence in the room but that wasn't by far good enough to make us even comfortable and opening a window is impossible because of the noise that is already too loud with the windows closed. So we had very poor sleep due to the traffic noises and heat. Breakfast was limited but nice and tasty and all organic. Definitely worth 9€! It's also served at a pleasant and quiet terrace/garden.
Unfortunately the sleep we had was so poor that we decided to leave the hotel after 1 night, although we booked some more. The staff was so friendly and understanding and so we could leave without extra costs. We went to another hotel for 10€/night more and had so much more luxury and were way more comfortable. This hotel is ok if you're not expecting too much comfort, but it's definitely not worth the money and the high rank on booking websites!

+ staff, toilet products, breakfast
- noisy, hot, small rooms

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Yane20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Colorado
Level Contributor
187 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Staying here on a tour of Berlin. The room has twin beds and a large bathroom. Overlooks Rosenthaler Platz, so easy to get around the city. Very friendly and accommodating staff. No air conditioning, but the room did have a large fan, so we were comfortable on a very warm day (high 80's). Has a restaurant/bar and an outdoor patio area. Fast WiFi and a good tv.

Room Tip: Bring a sound machine because the room we had was on the Rosenthaler Platz and there was a lot of st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDeut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

very nice hotel, excellent location, really nice staff and delicious breakfast. 100% recommended! The best thing to me was the location that allows you to walk to most of the attractions or take the underground, literally around the corner.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adeponte83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Terrific location with good access to Berlin's excellent public transport. We got a warm welcome from a member of the young efficient enthusiastic staff and enjoyed our comfortable spacious junior suite. We overlooked the bustling Rosenplatz 'circus' but good double glazing overcame any potential noise problems. The walk-in 'rain forest' shower was a delight. We got there early (around 11am) but our room was ready so we were able to check in. Enjoyed a pre-lunch glass of wine in the restaurant courtyard which is charming and doesn't feel at all like a typically bland hotel restaurant. Would recommend to anyone looking for a comfortable well-located stay in Berlin.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Circus Hotel is directly on the Rosenthaler Platz, and provides not only all the amenities one should expect in a decent hotel, but some quirky extras as well. None of the people who work here are "professionals" (many may have worked their way into the hotel via the hostel - also run by the Circus and also good - across the street) - they are chosen for their personalities and for their knowledge of Berlin. Rooms are spacious, clean, and come equipped with pretty much everything. Views are good, restaurant is good, and the breakfast is awesome (extra charge, but worth every pfenning!).

Room Tip: The hallways require you to flip a light switch -- you get used to it. This is a "green"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,705 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#3 of 634 in Berlin
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 634 in Berlin
2,139 reviews
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 634 in Berlin
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Circus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hotel

Property: The Circus Hotel
Address: Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#9 Family Hotel in Berlin
#50 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Circus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2008, the Circus Hotel continues our tradition of a friendly welcome to Berlin, and has been designed to reflect our commitments to hospitality, individuality and sustainability. At the Circus Hotel you will not only find comfortable accommodation, but also a range of services and lots of recommendations to make your stay in our wonderful city truly special. Along many other things we offer a tablet in each room, bike rental, a garden courtyard, roof terrace and exlusive events and tours put together by our lovely staff. Of course we also provide free Wi-Fi throughout the building. On the ground floor you find our partners Commonground who offer breakfast until as late as 4pm, and tasty tapas and drinks in the evenings. You can also just relax in the salon or browse through some records or the library. We look forward to welcoming you to the Circus Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your The Circus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing