We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous, great location, lovely staff, delicious breaky, new hotel”
Review of The Circus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Circus Hotel
Ranked #11 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fabulous, great location, lovely staff, delicious breaky, new hotel”
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Loved it. They have lots staff on reception, all of whom speak English, they were very helpful, they charged my i-pod, gave me tram tickets, advice on tours and where to go. It has WiFi and an environmental policy. The breaky was delicious with fresh/organic food. Double room was all brand new, very quiet hotel. No air-con but if you have room that opens onto the courtyard you can sleep with you windows open. Tram and train outside the front door with plenty of places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deejth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,905
    527
    82
    9
    4
See reviews for
279
1,407
183
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

We stayed at the Circus for four nights in July and had a really good time.
It's the hotel's first year of operation and, as you would expect, is spotlessly clean as a result.
But what really stands out is the level of customer service. As we waited to check out, we witnessed one member of staff patiently explaining everything to the couple in front of us from where to eat to where you can buy cheap shoes.
The location, as other reviews have said, is nice and central - it's an easy walk to lots of the main sights, and you are right opposite the underground station.
Because it's so new it can, at times, feel like the Circus is still finding its way a bit - for example, they have recently decided to stop providing shower gel and shampoo in the rooms as they found they were throwing so much away.
Whether this was done for financial or green reasons is unclear, but it was no hassle to help yourself to bottles from a shelf by reception when you need them.
The breakfast buffet is small but fresh and more than adequate. The only minor criticism I can make is that the night-time facilities are not quite as relaxing as they could be, despite the excellent cocktails on offer.
It's a combined restaurant and bar, which can make for a slightly formal feel and would probably benefit from being split into two. We found we preferred the more relaxed vibe at the Circus hostel over the road from the hotel.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BrightonBernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

I accompanied my husband to Berlin for a business trip, and we had a wonderful stay here! The hotel was conveniently located with a subway stop right outside, but we actually walked everywhere because it was so close to everything. The hotel had good internet access so my husband could work efficiently, but also had great amenities for travelers on holiday. The included breakfast was the perfect way to start our days, and we really appreciated the little extras that were added, including ipods on loan with music from local artists, a good jogging map of the area, and great restaurant suggestions by the helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ey319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Just returned from 4 nights in the Circus Hotel. Location is great, just outside Hackescher Markt in the old East Berlin. Close enough to loads of nightlife areas but quiet enough to retreat to after a long day in the city. Yards from Rosenthaler U-Bahn and the M1 Tram passes the door on its way into Friedrichstraase or up to Prenzlauer Berg.

Hotel staff are incredibly friendly, efficient and helpful. Hotel is clean, modern, brightly decorated and serves a nice selection of continental breakfast.

Rooms (ours was a Junior suite decorated in pink and silver) are very nice with modern bathroom facilites and huge rain head shower. Only slight niggle was not having our beds made/ freshened up during our stay.

Loved everything about Berlin and would highly recommend the Circus Hotel

Iain

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We stayed at the Circus hotel for 5 nights in June and I was blown away by how friendly the staff was, how yummy the included breakfast was, how nice our room was and how great it was to have a terrrace! I couldnt believe we payed less than 100 euros and got such a great room and such great customer service. I would absolutely recommend this hotel.

Location: in Mitte - a nice, hip part of Berlin
Room: very clean, good amount of space, very nice bathroom (fancier than i expected!), nice terrace (although it did look out on their solar panels but hey, at least they have solar panels!)
Staff: so nice! really really friendly and really really willing to help give directions etc.
Restaurant: very good! the breakfast that is included in the price of the room is very nice (I got the Vital) and we went to the restaurant for dinner once and it was very good. the restaurant also has a little outside courtyard which is nice. They will deliver breakfast to your room for no extra cost! Since breakfast is included in the price of your room, its basically breakfast in bed for free!
Other Perks: you can borrow a laptop for free and use their wireless both in the room but also in the lobby which is nice. you can borrow a lot of other things like ipods etc. very nice!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mswedowsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Me and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel 6 days and had a really wonderful time here! The staf are really helpfull and friendly! They just offer really good service, something which unfortunately is not that common anymore in a lot of hotels. If you need a laptop, you can borrow one, if you forgot to bring a Lonely Planet or something, you can borrow one, at their hostel (which is located across the street) you can rent bycicles, you can also get cheaper public transportation tickets and a REALLY BIG PLUS is that you can lend a zone-parking ticket if you go by car, so that means parking is free, and so on.

The location is really great as well. You can find a lot of restaurants, bars and shops in walking distance from the hotel. If you like to go to other areas, in front of the hotel is the subway and also a tramstop, so it's easy getting around.

The hotel itself is not that big, but spacious enough. They have a restaurant, but I only ate breakfast there, so I can't comment on their food. Breakfast though wasn't that great. You can choose one of three types of breakfast. The breakfast in itself is enough, but sometimes you just want to have AND fruit AND bread AND an egg. The "problem" is that these three are not in the same type of breakfast, so it's either one or the other. Also, the fruit I got 4 days in a row wasn't of a good quality.
The hotel has a really nice little garden, where you can eat your breakfast or have a drink. We had a double room which I found a little bit small, but ok. The only thing really missing in the room (for us) was that it didn't have a bath, but we're guessing that's because the hotel is a green hotel.

Overall, I would really recommend this hotel to travellers due to it's excellent service, location and price!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhottinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2009

The Circus started out as a Youth Hostel. I first stayed there in 1995. They've been through two follow-on locations, the last still operates as a hostel.

Nearby they've built a lovely hotel which is both modern and exceptionally comfortable. Prices are very reasonable and the staff seem to have a genuine interest in making guests happy.

The hotel is centrally located and guided tours can easily be organised from the reception. Also, discounts are available for public transport.

You won't be disappointed with this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephentodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#3 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#12 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Circus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hotel

Property: The Circus Hotel
Address: Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#9 Family Hotel in Berlin
#50 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Circus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2008, the Circus Hotel continues our tradition of a friendly welcome to Berlin, and has been designed to reflect our commitments to hospitality, individuality and sustainability. At the Circus Hotel you will not only find comfortable accommodation, but also a range of services and lots of recommendations to make your stay in our wonderful city truly special. Along many other things we offer a tablet in each room, bike rental, a garden courtyard, roof terrace and exlusive events and tours put together by our lovely staff. Of course we also provide free Wi-Fi throughout the building. On the ground floor you find our partners Commonground who offer breakfast until as late as 4pm, and tasty tapas and drinks in the evenings. You can also just relax in the salon or browse through some records or the library. We look forward to welcoming you to the Circus Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your The Circus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing