We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in the heart of Berlin”
Review of The Circus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Circus Hotel
Ranked #9 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2010

We stayed at the Circus hotel during a 4 day trip exploring Berlin. We picked the hotel due to the great write up on Tripadvisor, and have to agree with all of the postive things said on the site. It's an excellent base for exploring the city. The U Bahn is literally on the doorstep, and the S Bahn is a pleasant walk away. Restaurants & bars are everywhere, and the helpful staff will direct you where to go depending on your taste. The free WiFi was great, and the rooms were clean and new with a fabulous walk in shower.
I've never experienced such helpful and knowledgeable staff - all of the tips they gave us were good. We went on the 'free' (although you have to tip) walking tour that left daily from the hotel, and we were so pleased we did it - very informative and not at all cheesey.
If you're planning a trip to Berlin, I couldn't recommend The Circus Hotel more highly.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helsbells75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,859 - 1,865 of 2,610 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2010

This place really deserves its ranking - it's one of the nicest places i've stayed in, staff are great, location is ideal, bar is really cool. Top class

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roughpatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

This is the great hotel. Staff was ready to help inany time with any question! Fine restarant. Free WiFi.
We've stayed in economy-double - fine room, not very small, not very big.
Location is great: 5 seconds from U-Bahn station Rothentaler plz.
There was one small minus - tram on the street. My wife woke up at the morning because of it, but I don't ;)
Generally - really great hotel!! Definitally, I recomend it and I would stay here if I come to Berlin once more!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boris_tyumnev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Totally positive review for Circus Hotel . Staff are very welcoming , friendly and helpful.
Actually the welcome we got when we checked in was top quality and made us feel straight away a valued guest and put us in a good mood straight away. The staff also gave us dinner recommendations, directions and organised for us to go on a great (and free ) walking tour. Food and service in the restaurent is also excellent and would recommend the buffet breakfast at €8 each. great location with U bahn stop outside the door and plenty of good restaurents, bars and shopping around the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baztipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We stayed at the Circus Hotel for 3 nights in March 2010. The hotel itself was all you would expect from a modern German hotel-ie good rooms ,houskeeping, quality of public spaces etc. The reception staff at the hotel are outstanding-very friendly and so helpful. I did an online checkin with no fuss at reception. They all spoke english and their advice was spot on.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FMAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

We spent four nights at The Circus Hotel in late February, and are very pleased to report that it's one place that certainly does live up to its TripAdvisor reputation!

The hotel itself is very easy to reach on arrival in Berlin. We flew to Schoenefeld, and from boarding the train at the airport, were in our room in no more than 35 minutes. Rosenthaler Platz U-Bahn is literally on the doorstep, which is minutes from Alexanderplatz, from where connections to anywhere in the city are plentiful. Rosenthaler Platz itself is a bustling junction, full of eateries, interesting and quirky shops and cafes and transport links. Trams run in a couple of directions from directly outside the hotel if the U-Bahn doesn't go where you want to (easiest way to get to Friedrichstrasse was on the M1 tram we found)

We stayed in a Junior Suite on the third floor (301), overlooking the courtyard, which was lovely and quiet (as requested when we booked). The room was spacious, spotlessly clean, very well appointed, with an extremely comfortable bed. Worth particular mention was the brilliantly spacious bathroom, which had one of the best showers I've ever experienced. The room itself was full of quirky and individual design elements which had clearly been very cleverly thought out, and made the best possible use of the space available.

The staff in the hotel were - without exception - friendly, helpful and informative with no question too trivial to answer. All of course spoke perfect English, which put our pidgin German to shame.

The bar/restaurant on the ground floor, Fabisch, has to be one of the Circus's best assets, and in paricular, the coveted window seats are perfect for watching the world go by on Rosenthaler Platz. We had breakfast in Fabisch on a couple of occassions, and the choice was apetising, plentiful and fresh.

The Circus is the perfect base for exploring all the many delights that Berlin has to offer, and the hotel itself was one of the highlights of our stay. We would consider staying here again without hesitation if another weekend in Berlin was in the offing.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rb1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

Excellent place to stay and very close to everything that Berlin has to offer..

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayasurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,887 reviews
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 635 in Berlin
500 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#3 of 635 in Berlin
1,006 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 635 in Berlin
2,319 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Circus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hotel

Address: Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#9 Family Hotel in Berlin
#50 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £83 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Circus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2008, the Circus Hotel continues our tradition of a friendly welcome to Berlin, and has been designed to reflect our commitments to hospitality, individuality and sustainability. At the Circus Hotel you will not only find comfortable accommodation, but also a range of services and lots of recommendations to make your stay in our wonderful city truly special. Along many other things we offer a tablet in each room, bike rental, a garden courtyard, roof terrace and exlusive events and tours put together by our lovely staff. Of course we also provide free Wi-Fi throughout the building. On the ground floor you find our partners Commonground who offer breakfast until as late as 4pm, and tasty tapas and drinks in the evenings. You can also just relax in the salon or browse through some records or the library. We look forward to welcoming you to the Circus Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Circus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing