We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS IS THE WAY CITY HOTELS SHOULD BE”
Review of The Circus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Circus Hotel
Ranked #9 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2010

There are so many great reviews about the Circus that we did consider not bothering to write another one. But having just returned from a long-weekend, we couldn't stop ourselves. This place is just fantastic.

What's so good about the Circus? There's a long list...

It feels like a very upmarket hostel - you feel at home as soon as you walk through the door.
It's most definitely not corporate - businessmen in suits would feel out of place here
It's in a perfect location, no more than 15 minutes walk from many of the places you want to see when you first come to Berlin; right next to an underground station and tram stop and 2 minutes from some of the best cafes and restaurants in the City. (Can't speak for the nightclubs as we didn't go to any!)
There are wonderfully friendly and helpful young staff at reception and in the bar and restaurant - all of whom speak perfect English (and probably other languages as well)
It's very modern (just 2 years since renovation), with a beautiful contemporary design, in the public areas and each individual bedroom. There are imaginative touches all over the hotel
The double rooms are large for a city centre hotel; you certainly don't feel cramped
There is free wi-fi, laptop loan, a library of books about Berlin, daily European newspapers, with leather armchairs to flop into in the foyer and bar, oh, and fresh flowers everywhere
At weekends, they can provide you with a public transport pass which will get two of you all over the city for 2 whole days for just 4 euros - an incredible bargain
The breakfasts (8 Euros) are healthy and largely organic; the 'make your own teabag' system may test the patience of some, but everything else is top rate
There is great modern German food in the restaurant, at prices which are lower than most other places we tried
They have live fairly laid-back music on some evenings
The bedrooms are quiet! We had a 3rd floor room facing onto a very busy main street with trams trundling along at 50kph, but the heavy double-glazed windows kept out all but the occasional police siren. We slept like logs
There is a lovely central courtyard for sitting out when its warm enough (not when we were there)
The Circus is a one-off - not a chain (although they do have the Circus Hostel just across the road) - and it really shows. It has a real human quality you rarely find in most souless hotels

Please don't change anything - we are coming back in a couple of years and won't even bother researching other options. This is the place to be!

Pete Duncan and Sally Thomas Newcastle Upon Tyne UK

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeteD012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,586)
There are newer reviews for The Circus Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,716 - 1,722 of 2,586 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2010

I booked this because of all the great reviews and I liked the hotel but didn't LOVE it. There are many good things about it such as location, the eco policy, the beds, breakfast & some staff. It's probably a 4 star property and I love also that it has personality and isn't a brand name hotel. The art and decor are absolutely wonderful! The thing is the people behind the desk are not consistent in service delivery. You get a great interaction then the next person couldn't care less. Without giving too much away I had a problem during my stay and asked the staff to please fix it (a noise issue). They assured me it would be dealt with and when I returned an hour later and a staff shift change had occurred no one knew about it / has resolved the issue. I therefore had to put up with another night of bad sleep because they never acted on the situation. In the bar we had generally good staff then on another night the American sounding bar guy was slow and kinda grumpy. I believe the staff work at both the back packer Circus over the road and also at the Hotel. Instead I think they need to keep the two products separate and dedicate staff to each project. The better staff should be working at the Hotel and newbies at the back packer. For Euro100 a night I have very different expectations than an backpacker might have so give me the staff who can deal with those expectations. Give me staff who will take ownership and ensure a situation is thoroughly resolved. As mentioned the basic shell of this is good and appealing - please don't get me wrong. They just need to work with staff on some customer service training and get rid of the back packer mentality. This is a hotel, not hostel!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank dreamonixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

I just got back from a week long tour of Berlin with a group of fellow history buffs, and I was very pleased with the hotel, restaurant, and staff. While they call themselves a "Green" hotel, I didn't find this as a negative to my stay.

If you're heading to Berlin, this place is worth a try.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnthonyF2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Overall the hotel was well presented, reasonable location and good value for money (although breakfast wasn't inclusive in the rate). Hotel staff were also very helpful. We would recommend it for a stay of any duration in Berlin.

Stayed in Apartment 2 - very spacious, well equipped, good value for money. At 110 Euros per night, I believe this room would be far bigger than you would get at one of the big hotel chains and equally, if not more comfortable / well presented. Being picky, it would be better if rate included breakfast.

Hotel is in a reasonably central location and is very well connected with buses, trams and underground. TIP: The hotel rents public transport travel passes which save you 2 euros per day compared to buying standard daily passes.

Wifi internet is free and the hotel lends laptops free of charge which is helpful for booking tourist attractions (ie. the TV tower to avoid the queues) and restaurants in advance, as well as general internet browsing / research.

For those staying in the apartments, there is a very good supermarket on Ackerstrasse - 5 min walk away from the hotel.

Although the hotel had a restaurant, we didn't use it as there are lots of eateries in Berlin.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaz_n_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

We booked The Circus Hotel after finding it on Trip Advisor, the positive rating and reviews sealed our decision. We stayed for two nights during our 'Berlin city break' and were not disappointed.
Take a look at their website for lots of information on the hotel, staff and services available, it's a great philosophy and it works. The hotel website also provided excellent instructions to navigate our way from the airport, it was very easy to find - don't forget to validate your travel ticket on the S-Bahn though!
The Circus hotel is well placed in the geography of Berlin, within easy walking distance there is a U-Bahn station, food, drink and plenty of interesting sights to be found, service being excellent in all of these establishments, English being well spoken by everyone
we encountered.
The rooms are very modern and well appointed for a small city hotel, we have paid a lot more and received less in major chain hotels. Amongst other pluses, the shower being a notable 'excellent' in our opinion! We stayed during a warm August but didn't miss the air conditioning, the ventilation from the window together with the fan provided were more than adequate.
We are not demanding travellers but it was the great service and smiles that we got from the hotel staff when we did ask of them (directions and info. on the city mostly), they really do want to help you. I was encouraged to see that a group of 'Pan European' motorcyclists were well received and accommodated into upgraded rooms without surcharge even though it was more than apparent they had not booked.
We took up the breakfast option, it was an extra cost - not too much, but the pricing system was not completely visible to the 'waking' guest. I would have liked to have seen one price for breakfast, then you're either in or out. Having only a glass of orange juice seemed an expensive choice. The food was available buffet style, it was excellent in presentation, freshness, quality and taste. Again the staff were very attentive and eager to help.
We did not have any negative experiences during our stay. If we ever return to Berlin, we will definitely stay at The Circus Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polkadot_shade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. The value for money is amazing, the facilities available are everything you could expect. Would rival any four-star establishment. Close to many good bars, restaurants and cafes. About a 30 min walk to the Bradenburg Gate but right next an underground station if you don't feel like walking! Within walking distance of most of the main sights.
Only complaint would be that the cleaners left the windows open on a very cold day, so when we got back in the evening the room was freezing! Apart from that I couldn't really fault much else.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmbieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Staff went beyond the call of duty nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was good value at 8 euros for a fantastically varied and healthy start to the day. Rooms were spotless and the shower is to die for. One of the best hotels we've ever stayed in... and we do city breaks at least three times a year around Europe. 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggiesoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,840 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 635 in Berlin
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#2 of 635 in Berlin
993 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 635 in Berlin
2,269 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Circus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hotel

Address: Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#9 Family Hotel in Berlin
#46 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
#50 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £85 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Circus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2008, the Circus Hotel continues our tradition of a friendly welcome to Berlin, and has been designed to reflect our commitments to hospitality, individuality and sustainability. At the Circus Hotel you will not only find comfortable accommodation, but also a range of services and lots of recommendations to make your stay in our wonderful city truly special. Along many other things we offer a tablet in each room, bike rental, a garden courtyard, roof terrace and exlusive events and tours put together by our lovely staff. Of course we also provide free Wi-Fi throughout the building. On the ground floor you find our partners Commonground who offer breakfast until as late as 4pm, and tasty tapas and drinks in the evenings. You can also just relax in the salon or browse through some records or the library. We look forward to welcoming you to the Circus Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Circus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing