We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Circus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Circus Hotel
Ranked #7 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2010

In a good area for easy access to the rest of the city/tourist hot spots. Food in the restaurant is fine - not amazing but certainly not bad. THe Vegan breakfast wasn't great, the scrambled eggs and croissants are fabulous, the cheese board is delicious and the gnocchi was just ok. But this was just our opinion - taste is very subjective. Service is very good - staff friendly and helpful with faultless english. Good advice given on restaurants outside the hotel. Exceptionally clean hotel.
We stayed in room 203 and the bed was very comfy, and we heard no noise from inside the hotel/other rooms/corridor... but we did hear a lot of street noise, as although it was november the room got very hot in the night (we turned off all the radiators before getting into bed) and we had to open the windows. But this is part and parcel of staying in the city - you're bound to hear street noise. Oh, and room service is free - what a lovely touch.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scallions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,879
    515
    81
    8
    3
See reviews for
273
1,390
178
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2010

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at this hotel. This hotel is a great all around hotel. It is really great value for money, the rooms are to a good standard. The staff have excellent customer service from giving reccomendations on what to see to where to go for dinner, The brealfasts were fantastic with the scrambled eggs and bacon from the menu being some of the best ever. We normally avoid attached resteraunts to hotels as a rule but this one was fantastic. It offered great meals, great service and at a reasonable price. The wifi internet was down for one of the days we were there but the staff were very accommodating makeing a computer in the lobby avaliable for guests use. The eco focus of the hotel is also to be commended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussieduo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

We loved this hotel - it was in a really young vibrant part of the city and this hotel was right in the middle of it all. the staff couldnt have been more friendly and helpful. we stayed with a 1 year old and they had cots etc and welcomed people of all ages.
the room was a junior suite (i think!). and was quite small but big enough for us all to fit in. the rooms are amazing - with every little detail thought of, and the decor is modern and funky. we even had a little roof terrace. our only very minor issue was with the twin beds pushed together, with 2 single duvets. not great if you were travelling as a couple for a romantic break!! (although i'm sure they'd swap them for you?
loved this place and would definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flamand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

My wife and I are city-trip fans. We have visited most of the well-known capitals of Europe (Paris, London, ...). We always try to find a hotel worth the price, which is generally quite difficult : tourist cities usually are very expensive. The Circus may not be the cheapest hotel in Berlin, but I wonder if there exists a hotel with a price-value rate even close to the one of the Circus. I'm not going to repeat all the good others wrote, I can only say that all of it is true. I'd like to thank all staff members for their kindness and urge the owners to open a Circus in Paris, Rome and so on.
There is, of course, one thing: staying, sleeping and eating in the Circus is so good you'd forget to visit the city. (Just joking)
Frank Boogers

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francobollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

We had heard this was a great hotel and it was. The staff were very friendly and the rooms were modern clean with great facilities. This is a organic hotel with and amazing restaurant (only 8€ for a full buffet breakfast)
I can not recommend it enough. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank briand69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

Our first time in Berlin, and the service, friendliness and help that the staff gave us was excellent. The Circus has a central location to most interesting places in Berlin and to public communication in a very nice neigbourhood with nice shops and cafes. The breakfast and main meals that we had were very tasty.
We will be back!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellasfarere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

Great location, fabulous rooms but the best bit is the incredibly helpful, friendly staff who (without exception) go out of their way to make your stay in Berlin even better. Please, please open more Circus hotels in other cities.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#5 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#2 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Charlottenburg
Louisa's Place
Louisa's Place
#6 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Circus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hotel

Property: The Circus Hotel
Address: Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#9 Family Hotel in Berlin
#50 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Circus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2008, the Circus Hotel continues our tradition of a friendly welcome to Berlin, and has been designed to reflect our commitments to hospitality, individuality and sustainability. At the Circus Hotel you will not only find comfortable accommodation, but also a range of services and lots of recommendations to make your stay in our wonderful city truly special. Along many other things we offer a tablet in each room, bike rental, a garden courtyard, roof terrace and exlusive events and tours put together by our lovely staff. Of course we also provide free Wi-Fi throughout the building. On the ground floor you find our partners Commonground who offer breakfast until as late as 4pm, and tasty tapas and drinks in the evenings. You can also just relax in the salon or browse through some records or the library. We look forward to welcoming you to the Circus Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Circus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing