We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find in a spread out city!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of nu hotel berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
nu hotel berlin
Ranked #329 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great find in a spread out city!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I was having a tough time finding a good hotel in Berlin because the city seemed so spread out and I wasn't sure what part of town I should be on to maximize my time there. I'm a solo female traveler on a budget. So what I typically look for is: WALLET FRIENDLY, safe neighborhood (particularly at night), close to train/mass transit, free wireless internet and my own bathroom. This hotel had it all!!! I arrived early from Brussels and my room wasn't ready. But the front desk said they would rush to get it ready for me and offered me complimentary wine while I waited. I think the gentlemen saw how tired I was from traveling (this was the 3rd stop in my 5 city tour). Within about 30-45 minutes my room was ready. The room was spacious, clean and had everything I needed. I didn't sleep well while there but it had nothing to do with the bed. The bed was comfortable, I think I was starting to get a little sick and was trying to fight it off.

I was still a bit confused by the U/S bahn system when I arrived but after spending less than 5 minutes with the front desk I was on my way. They were incredibly helpful with my travels and all questions I had.

There isn't much in the area as far as sightseeing (O2 World arena) but the train is about a 5 minute walk and a few stops to the city center & most attractions. The hotel is in a very quiet, low profile neighborhood. I saw women out walking with their children and just normal everyday activities going on. I would often return from sightseeing at night and felt 100% comfortable. I walked past a few bars that looked like a good time but was too tired to stop in (and was trying to fight off a cold). The front desk arranged a cab for me since I needed to get to the airport very early in the morning (5AM). No one was at the desk so they told me what do to with my key and packed me a breakfast which I kept in my fridge in the room until it was time to go. I stood outside for about 10-15 minutes waiting for my cab at 4:45AM in the dark and felt completely comfortable.

I found this hotel very last minute after booking a different hotel and I'm glad I did. It was absolutely a great find. It met all the needs I stated above and was very budget friendly!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NJGirlvTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    58
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
13
34
17
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, manchester
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

Reading some of the reviews you would think we should never book his place. But i did anyway. We stayed 4th to 7th December 2011. As mentioned its a short walk to both the U and S bahn train services that can get you to all the main places quickly. Breakfast was fine with a good selection of cereals, cold meats and bread, eggs and sausages. Staff, we never experienced any of the poor service mentioned in other reviews - perhaps its all about what attitude we as customers have as well!!!!

The room had all you need, a bed, a TV, a shower and toilet - its a room folks, you sleep there! We could have done with another two days to take in more of the city and will probably come back in spring or summer - and no reason not to stay here.

One tip. We did teh bus tour the first morning which is fine but on the second day we did a walking tour with www.insidertour.com its a 3 1/2 to 4 hour walk with a break and gave us so much more information and knowledge. Its not hard work and i can guarantee your interest will be maintained, plus of course you can ask questions as you wander. They do a number of tours and if we had extra time we woudl have done a couple more - try it instead of the bus and see it all up close.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, its a quiet stret so no issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

clean. great breakfast..freindly service.7minutes to train ,quiet,modern

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rozi509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Ideal location for walking to the O2 arena and the Berlin Wall East Side Gallery. Also very quick links to central Berlin via nearby S-Bahn and U-Bahn station.
Surprisingly spacious room, comfortable and clean. Good buffet breakfast that included hot and cold food - set us up well for a day's sight-seeing.
Quiet and relaxing neighbourhood. Friendly, helpful staff, all of whom spoke good English.
We want to go back to Berlin soon and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Automorph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

Nice hotel, tucked away in a quiet location. Close to a nice area with lots of "local bars" which is a good thing in a city the size of Berlin, and they all served amazing food at good prices. It's around 10 minutes walk to 2 train stations. The continental breakfast was 5 euros extra per person, but we were glad we went with it. You got everything from cereals and pastry's to sausages and scrambled egg.
After three visits to Berlin, this was by far the best hotel, and the best location. I can't wait until my next visit to Berlin, and yes, I will stay at the Nu Hotel.

(only con - the website we booked through said free internet. This is not the case as it came with a small charge)

PS The staff were lovely - very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

We arrived earlier than check in and the very friendly staff were more than happy to look after our cases.
The hotel is about 5 mins walk from the train station and if anyone is going to the O2 Centre it is about 15mins walk away.
The bedroom / bathroom were very clean and tidy and because bedrooms face on to an inner courtyard, a totally silent night was enjoyed.
The breakfast at 6euros was probably the best we have experienced for a while. Lots of fresh fruit / yoghurts / cereals / eggs and sausages plus continental breakfast choices. Lovely choice of hot drinks, which were topped up as required by the very attentive staff.
Supermarket a few mins walk away and plenty of cafes / restaurants locally.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pammi0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

Thoroughly recommended, especially the large single loft rooms. Based on the price and location I really cannot praise this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterN62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Friedrichshain
Hotel Comenius
Hotel Comenius
#321 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Friedrichshain
Juncker's Hotel Garni
Juncker's Hotel Garni
#366 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Friedrichshain
Upstalsboom Hotel Friedrichshain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
Hotel 26
Hotel 26
#328 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Friedrichshain
Zarenhof Friedrichshain
Zarenhof Friedrichshain
#258 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Friedrichshain
East Side City Hotel
East Side City Hotel
#426 of 634 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to nu hotel berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about nu hotel berlin

Property: nu hotel berlin
Address: Gubener Str. 46/47, 10243 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #329 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — nu hotel berlin 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether sightseeing, shopping, business trip, sports events or ClubbingThanks to nu hotel berlin, are always surrounded you in the middle in it and still in an oasis by rest. From us you reach your aims simply and fast. Our house lies centrally near the Berlin east railway station, between the city railroad station Warschauer Straße and one the main stations Ostbahnhof. We guarantee a pleasant journey and continuation of the journey for you therefore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your nu hotel berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing