We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine thai food, as promised”
Review of Kamala

Kamala
Ranked #759 of 8,587 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Mitte
Tampere, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fine thai food, as promised”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

A positive surprise in Berlin.

Everything really clicked: beautiful & tasty, reasonably priced meals were served with a smile. Our waiter didn't have the most fluent English skills, but we got what we ordered.
Tom yam had a great kick - just perfect amount of chili. Fish and duck meals were large and satisfying experiences.

"Kamala" is a Finnish word for "terrible" - but this was truly something else. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jrissanen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    54
    11
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An excellent choice ”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Coming to Berlin and missing out on kamala would be a mistake! Deliscious thai food, excellent food and great atmosphere!

Helpful?
Thank DarioSheff
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Phuket, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai in Berlin”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

It is usually a good sign when the waiters and cooks are Thai nationals and this restaurant was no exception. Wanting a change from the excellent Mau Thai restaurant in Berlin, Prenzlauer Berg, we decided to try Kamala which was located less than 10 minutes walk from our hotel in Hackescher Markt and we were not disappointed. As other reviewers pointed out,the place is unassuming and quite small but maybe it helps that we live in Phuket,Thailand and my partner was able to speak Thai to waiter and cooks and we asked them to cook exactly as at home in Thailand. Basically they can cook almost any thai dish you ask for, even if not on the menu. Prices are very modest and we spent around €70 for 4 persons, including €10 for a bottle of Chardonnay. Needless to say we returned the following day and enjoyed another excellent meal for a similar price.We are happy to have found a genuine alternative to Mau Thai when we visit Berlin.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food but street style service”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Not exactly service with a smile but the food was awesome. Our rather rushed and grumpy waitress wasn't the most easy to extract information from regarding which dish we'd most enjoy, however we were all very impressed once our meals did arrive.

My main complaint would be that none of our dishes came with rice. Instead they give you a medium-ish sized bowl of rice for your whole table, which you will inevitably need to top up once or twice if sharing among a group (there were four of us present). This comes at an additional cost. After our first request for more rice was met with a rather frosty reaction from the waitress, we didn't dare ask for another top up and so this meant a lot of very tasty curry was wasted. I think individual portions of rice or at least sharing between two would be a much better option.

Despite my complaint this is a good fairly priced option if you are in the area. Don't expect a great selection of wine or spirits...or any type of ambience....but do expect good food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AbzTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great service and good thai food”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I dined at Kamala twice during my 4 day stay. The food was nice and the service was quick.

Its easy to miss the restaurant as it quietly tucked away on a busy street. So you see the sign post and walk down the stairs into the basement. There are seats on the basement and also above.

As you enter you will first see the kitchen which is a brave thing to do for the restaurant. I had vegeterian options to choose and I always appreciate this choice. The food was served well us. My red bean curry came in clay pots. The ingredients seemed fresh as well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bijucyborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kamala also viewed

Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Kamala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing