We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Thai kitchen in Berlin”
Review of DAO Restaurant

DAO Restaurant
Ranked #905 of 8,396 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$33
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Charlottenburg
Description: Welcome to the Thai restaurant DAO by Meo - the taste of Thailand. Here you will enjoy the famous, various homemade thai-curry by the owner "Meo" and other, original Thai Food. Cooked naturelly without glutamate. Experience the Thai food culture in our restaurant. Wee look forward to seeing you.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Real Thai kitchen in Berlin”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have been to this thai restaurant in Berlin, first we like the place very nice setup good thai music same like sitting in Thailand . Service by thai staff it make us feel like home staff are very nice and very kinds from the service hospitality the foods are so great !!! super gut !!! Thai curry tasty kick me to order one more dish, Somtum papaya salad is so nice and juicy from fresh ingredients we love rice here jasmine rice are very high quality . Highly recommend to everyone to try.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phimporn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    35
    12
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Level Contributor
201 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Wonderful Thai food”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and I had a summer vacation in Bangkok and we never imagined to have better Thai food in Berlin during the Easter Holiday. We had a mix starter which was substantial, followed by green tofu curry and chicken and oriental vegetable. All of them were very delicious. Services was warmly Asian. We had a very enjoyable dinner. The place is about 20 minutes metro trip from the Freidllichstrasse station but it is worth. Also, there are many ethnic restaurants along the street, vietnamese,Spanish,Chinese, Japanese etc. Next time, we will try another restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gehararigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
111 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai in Charlottenburg for a fair price”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Well, as far as pricing is concerned, this is not the best-value-for-money Thai place you may find in Berlin. Price is less prickly if you only take into account the Charlottenburg area, generally higher priced than the scrumptious Eastern cafés. That is about the only reproach one can make to Dao. This place is, in fact, one of the best examples of Thai cuisine in the city, if not the top one. Nice and discreet service, vast selection in the menu, spacious seating plan, quick service and, most importantly, absolutely delicious execution. Try those aromatic Thai wok-fries low on sauces, they are probably a better choice than the Indian-like curries (also present on the menu). I found chicken in tamarind sauce exquisite - this is what I look for in Thai cuisine: light composition, great selection of spices for the mix, good choice of basic elements (meats and veg), not too heavy on sauce, and the scrumptious art of oriental cuisine. Welcome to Dao. Good for couples, solo or small companies (up to 6-7 people).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tema A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!!!”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

It is really great food, the service is incredible and it was really reasonable. we were two and we ate till we were soooo stuffed. looking forward to go again. IT WAS SOOOO GOOD!!!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ttp1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good and friendly”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We had a very good dinner and a nice experience at Dao. All the dishes were tasty and well presented, the waiters friendly and helpful and all was served quickly and efficient. We warmly recommend the restaurant!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank palkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed DAO Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to DAO Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing