We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pizza and italian food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sotto Sopra

Sotto Sopra
Ranked #4,151 of 8,231 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Kreuzberg
Reykjavik iceland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Pizza and italian food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We had a pizza, it was good, ovenbaked. Italians working there, restaurant was ok, old furniture but clean.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristinsig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    50
    46
    11
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Looks Deceive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

From the outside this place looks just like any other Italian restaurant. Even when you enter, it appears fairly basic. However, you receive a very warm greeting from the staff and they really do look after you very well.
But when it comes to the food, I have to say the starters and mains were superb.
Bruschetta for starters came on a large pizza bread base. For mains we had penne with strips of steak and penne arrabiatta. A nice full bodied wine went with the meal really well and overall it was an excellent evening.















































































































































Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank trotter1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Salt, salt and more salt! Avoid!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Currently sat in Sotto Soporo, listening to the 11th rendition of Antonello Vendicci's 'Unica' on the restaurant's stereo. I know this because I have just shazam'd it, having endured it over and over through one of the worst meals I have ever eaten in my life. Unless you love an abundance of salt, reheated, soggy vegetables and overcooked, tasteless food (apart from the salt!) I would avoid this place at all costs. Great location, right next to Checkpoint Charlie, but I imagine this is the kind of place that thinks it can get away with serving terrible food because it will always have a steady stream of unwitting customers. What a shame.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
152 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Italians running an Italian Pizzeria at the heart of Berlin.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Just a few meters to Checkpoint Charlie, this Italian Pizzeria serves delicious Italian food and prices are reasonable for Berlin standards. Soups are around 5 euro (Minestrone Soup was magical). Pizzas are large, o.k. in taste, and around 6-10 euro. Actually we tried two pizzas, Pizza Margherita and Pizza Tonno. Margherita wasn't very good (I have eaten much better Margheritas in Germany and in Italy). The Thun fish pizza was quite delicious.
By the way, don't forget to request some bread from the waiter and try the virgin olive oil in the bottle on your table. It is incredible, fantastic, no words to describe!
One last thing, the waiters are Italian and their accent and frequent use of Italian words is very nice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Murat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“You would never guess from the looks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

We at first ignored it as it rid not look that good from outside and after being turned down twice (no reservation) we went back and got a table after a 2 minute wait.

The steak was the best piece of meat we had had in many years. The pasta was very good, fresh and they made a small portion of pasta from the menu for our 3 year old.

The prices were reasonable for such a touristic area.

After the grub we have come to expect from touristic areas such as near the Vatican and in Barcelona or Palma this was a real surprise!

We can recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amesthyite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sotto Sopra also viewed

 

Been to Sotto Sopra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing