We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading but Friendly Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vienna House Andel's Berlin
Ranked #61 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Travelling to the hotel was more like a trip through Soviet Russia.Its on the East side of Berlin so dont expect to see much more than Graffiti and dogs with muzzles. I was travelling with my mother who had a sore back so when we booked this Hotel we were reassured it was very close to the centre. Not being very familiar with big city layouts I didnt know this ment it was a 30min journey by tram/train/bus to find a pleasent area that I would consider clean enough to have a coffee in. The hotel itself is amazing, they made a real effort to suit our dietery requirement after a day of trailing through Berlin without food! The rooms were spotless and the conceriage was a great help, despite not telling us what side of the tram station to stand on, so we ended up miles out of Berlin(it was even off the tourist map)! All the staff were lovely and were so patient as my Mum and I are both still learning Germany (they all spoke fluent English anyway!) Overall Fantastic hotel, but perhaps more suited to buisness or seasoned travellers than newbies to city breaks.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anchor_grill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andelsBerlin, Manager at Vienna House Andel's Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2011

Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for having the pleasure of welcoming you as our guest at the andel´s Hotel Berlin.

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience during your stay. We appreciate the feedback of our guests as it enables us to examine our performance and to extend our service continuously.

We are very happy that you were so satisfied with our services and the hotel itself. On the other hand, we are very sorry the the location and surrounding of the hotel didn’t meet your expectations. Berlin is a huge city that is permanently changing and growing. We are confident that the neighborhood of our hotel will be soon more attractive. The hotel is the perfect starting position to easily and comfortably visit the sights and attractions of Berlin. Thanks to the ideal train, tram and bus connections you benefit from a door-to-door service. Nevertheless we have to apologize for the inconveniences that occurred in giving you professional advices for an optimal travel schedule.

Whenever you return to Berlin, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the andel’s Hotel Berlin. In the meantime, if there is anything we can do to assist you, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time.

Yours sincerely.

Ralph Alsdorf
General Manager andel’s Hotel Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

982 - 988 of 2,668 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2011

This hotel is relatively far out of central Berlin (wherever that is!!) but our suite was unbelievable. Service was very pleasnt if abit lacking in co-ordination. (4 requests to get room cleaned).

A great hotel that I would definitely stay at again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaiJai30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Had a very good stay just before the easter break. Although the hotel is not central Berlin, it is not so far as to cause too much inconvenience. Plus as part of our booking we got 2 48 hr passes for the city transport- free subway, train, tram and bus travel around the city! And the travelcard got us discounts for some museums and food places (hard rock cafe we got a massive free icecream!)
The breakfast in thr hotel was well worth it too. The timings were great as it was up until 10.00am, so not too early for the leisure travellers. It had lots of choice- continental, hot, yoghurts, cereal, lots of meats, pastries etc. Great for a day of sight seeing, often kept us going till our evening meal.
The staff were very helpful also. We had an incident of some clothes go missing from our room. Assuming they got taken by accident when housekeeping cleaned our room, we phoned reception, who straight away got someone to check the laundry- clothes were found, they brought them up, very apologetic &
After 10mins another knock on door, with a free bottle of wine and a note expressing how sorry they were for the mix-up. We were just glad our clothes were found, and the extra lengths they went to was very impressive.
The hotel, is smart, clean and very modern. Its location was approx 30 mins by train and bus from airport (only 2.60 euros) and approx 15mins from main attractions in the city. We had an excellent couple of days in Berlin and the Anders hotel was a big part in that. Would definately stay there again and reccomend to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pixie_Thunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Stayed here as tourist exploring Berlin. It was easy to get to taking the s9 train from the airport and there were trams directly outside.

It's a good few stops from alexanderplatz and you wouldn't walk it.

The hotel itself is exceptional well maintained and clean and the rooms are beautiful if not large and has everything you can want including separate bath and safe.

The staff were fantastic with fluent English and nothing was a problem. They were able to help quickly with every request, from plasters, to storing bags, to late night good food in the bar.

We got it as the secret hotel on lastminute.com and were delighted with the result.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macgdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

I stayed at this hotel for three days with work and had a very comfortable stay. The room was spacious and as I was on the seventh floor, had a view over to central Berlin. The quality of the food was very high and breakfast is certainly worth paying for. The sky bar is really funky and the food served in the sky bar isn't bad value for a hotel bar.

I found the staff were very helpful and friendly. When walking around the hotel, the housekeeping staff all stoped and greeted me and the staff at the front desk were able to provide good advice on transport. The conference facilities are excellent, although the wifi is not free at this hotel (€3/hour).

The only downside to staying in this hotel is that it is in a fairly derelict area with few decent shops or facilities, although the hotel has several restaurants and a small shop. public transport in Berlin is excellent so it is easy to get into the centre, but if I was staying for pleasure I would prefer to stay in a more lively area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

On the whole, this was a very good hotel. The staff were extremely helpful, and they always seemed to have enough people at reception to avoid queues, even at busy times. The food was lovely. I was there for a conference, and all the conference arrangements worked flawlessly.

But the one bad point was the room design. The bedrooms had been "designed", clearly with the intention that they should look impressive and trendy. That's all very well, but I would much prefer a bedroom that had been designed with the intention that someone might actually want to stay in it. The room was completely impractical. There were no drawers at all to put your clothes or anything else in, and only a fairly minimal amount of hanging space. Now, if perhaps you're only staying overnight or you just prefer to live out of your suitcase, that may not be a problem, in which case I would certainly recommend the hotel. However, I was there for a few days, and I prefer to unpack my kit when I arrive, which was simply not possible. So be aware of that if you're thinking of choosing this place.

A couple of other minor niggles: the TV in the bedroom came on to a channel showing adverts for the hotel chain by default. Nothing wrong with that, of course, most hotels do that these days. What was different here, however, was that you then couldn't change channel until after it had played a complete loop of the advert. That was annoying, and I only watched TV a couple of times in my stay. If you like to watch TV several times during your stay, I imagine you'd end up throwing things at the TV before very long.

Also the wireless internet access was a bit unreliable. Perhaps my bedroom was located particularly far from the nearest access point, but I found my connection dropped far more often than I would have liked. On the plus side, the internet was free, although I'm not sure whether it's always like that or whether that was a special deal for the conference I was staying at. Check if that's important to you.

Room Tip: Ask if they have a room with drawers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NautiusMaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andelsBerlin, Manager at Vienna House Andel's Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us feedback regarding your stay at the andel’s Hotel Berlin.

We really do regret that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations and turned into an unpleasant experience for you. Please be informed that we appreciate both positive and negative feedback, as we take great care to constantly optimise the quality of our services. It is our highest priority and aim to achieve the utmost satisfaction of our guests.

As we offer different room categories they differ not only in size and furniture but also in closet space. Due to this difference we tend to give free upgrades to higher categories for long staying guests depending on the occupancy. In addition, we offer mobile closets being brought to your room at anytime during your stay for no extra charge. Furthermore, we are undergoing some renovations regarding this matter to ensure customer satisfaction at this very moment.

Thank you for bringing up the issue you had to experience with the TV and the wireless internet connectivity. We kindly ask you to accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that occurred. Please be ensured that they do not meet our very own standards and that your comments have been forwarded to the appropriate department heads. Necessary actions have been taken to avoid such incidents in the future.

We would like to thank you very much for so positive rating and comments you gave us for sleep quality, cleanliness and our service. Of course, we forwarded these to our staff as well as it gives us additional motivation to keep up the high standard we set for ourself.

It would be our greatest pleasure welcome you again and to reestablish your image of the andel’s Hotel Berlin. Please do not hesitate to contact our reservation department for arrangements at any time.


Sincerely,


Ralph Alsdorf
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Andels hotel was a superb choice, its proximity to public transport was the best thing about it. Out the front door and there was the tram!!! The breakfast was also great set us up for the day. the front desk staff were all very helpful. The only negative point was the cost of the roof top bar, we had something to eat there on our arrival which was very good but expensive but the view was great. I would stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myraom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Prenzlauer Berg
Vienna House Easy Berlin
Vienna House Easy Berlin
#120 of 635 in Berlin
100 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,974 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#27 of 635 in Berlin
5,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vienna House Andel's Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vienna House Andel's Berlin

Address: Landsberger Allee 106, 10369 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#41 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#48 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#61 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £72 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vienna House Andel's Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vienna House Andel's Berlin unites all the contrasts of the German capital: design & lifestyle, sophisticated dining & cool drinks, party spot & private retreat. The 4-star superior design hotel, located in the melting pot of Friedrichshain and Kreuzberg not far from Alexanderplatz square, promises an experience of modern style, fresh charm and professional simplicity for both business guests and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Vienna House Andel's Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Andels Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing