We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, comfortable room but lobby feels like an airline terminal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
andel's by Vienna House Berlin
Ranked #59 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
92 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Modern, comfortable room but lobby feels like an airline terminal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I felt the hotel was a little off the beaten path, however, the tram did stop in front of hotel. My room was ultra modern and very comfortable. However, the lobby could be a small airport terminal....some would like that sleek, huge feeling but I prefer a little more intimacy in hotels

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AZ PAUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,244
    894
    191
    41
    20
See reviews for
247
992
174
529
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Very nice hotel, not far away from center, room and bathroom spacious needs fresh paint (dirty walls), good breakfast but very poor internet connection and reception personnel.
Took them 20 minutes and not able to calculate proper the difference to be payed at the reception. Had to come the second day for calculation and payment.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mircea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andels106, Leiter Gästebetreuung at andel's by Vienna House Berlin, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Mircea,

thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate that you took time in order to let us know where to improve. Thank you for your understanding that if you choose to pay with a non corporate gift card, our personal has to check if that third party gift card is valid in first place and with how much it is actually charged with. We are very sorry for that you had to wait. Of course, you may choose to change the method of payment in case the validation process of that third party gift card takes too much time – a nature of processing we cannot influence.
We thank you for your understanding and are looking forward to welcome you back to Berlin.
King regards,
your andel’s Hotel Berlin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

we have a fantastic 3 night stay at andels in berlin. the staff were friendly and efficient, the rooms bright , clean and comfortable. The Sky bar gives an amazing view and lush cocktails. we will definately be staying here again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leilia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice hotel, but not the most central one. The tram and S bahn is just outside the entrance so its not a big problem. The rooms are really nice, the service ok, but nothing less than you should expect. To have a internet connection that makes sense you need to pay 2 EUR and hour.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19MO76NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

When we arrived, the receptionist told us there had been a computer crash resulting in double bookings (at the same time, a whole party of DHL guests arrived…by the coachload it appeared ...suspicious?). This meant one of the two rooms we had booked and pre-paid 4 months earlier was no longer available for the first night and we were re-directed to a different hotel across the road. Unbelievable, especially as they stated that the room for my male friend was okay but mine was not! They truly expected me to check in over the road as a lone female.

Given we had no choice, we both checked in to a supposedly 4 star hotel over the road. This hotel was okay but fairly basic (clean 2 star?). We dumped our luggage and then returned to the Skybar at the Andel’s – which was pretentious and overpriced. Returning to the alternate hotel, the bar was also fairly basic but the staff were very friendly and welcoming and much better than at the Andel’s.

The following day, we returned to the Andel’s with our luggage and were personally escorted to the Breakfast area by the Manager. We were then able to check in and were given an upgrade for the last two nights to business rooms as "compensation". This was much appreciated, and the duty manager was very good at turning two fairly annoyed customers (and between us we have spent literally thousands of nights in hotels on business and NEVER had to move hotels because of overbooking) into two (temporarily) happy bunnies.

If I were ever to visit the hotel I would definitely pay the extra for the business rooms; instead of breakfast in a huge “canteen”, the breakfast in the business lounge is much nicer, calmer, more intimate and offers 95% of the breakfast offerings. The larger bedrooms are better plus you can use the lounge which has free tea, coffee, (alcoholic and non-alcoholic) drinks, pastries, snacks etc. through the day – a few free beers after a day sightseeing was blissful but we never got back from “town” in time to have a post-dinner tipple! We did, however, return to the bar over the road each night in preference to the Andel’s offering.

Another reason for paying the extra for the business room: the business room floors had access to a lift that cut out about 50% of the walking required to come down from your room to reception – bit bizarre but true (I heard a number of people at reception complaining about the walk to the lifts on other floors).

The hotel was very clean, and the staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly on the Concierge desk where we received excellent help on local transportation and sightseeing tips.

The location being a few tram stops from Alexanderplatz was very good too – we were actually quite pleased to be slightly distant from the city centre.

Shame about our guaranteed booking not being guaranteed even though they had had our money for four months! Despite the upgrade and our enjoyable time at the hotel, I can not forgive the way our paid booking was ignored/overtaken by DHL (if that were the case) hence a three star rating (would have been one without the upgrade) instead of the four that I would have given had there been no issues with the booking. Sorry to say, but had we been from DHL we may have been valued more…

Room Tip: Confirm that your booking will be honoured before leaving home....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kippers60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

I would have given the hotel a 3,5 point rating if possible. We stayed in a standard room that was a tad on the small side but it was well planned so it worked fine for us. It was clean and surprisingly quiet considering we had a room facing a rather busy road. Probably helped being on the eighth floor. We had a non-smoking room and I'm guessing that smoking and non-smoking rooms are on separet floor as we didn't detect a whiff of smoke. Big bonus! Some o the staff at the hotel were great and very friendly, others less so. Breakfast was okay but not amazing. Although just to find a hotel who includes breakfast in the price is great. The hotel also prepared a breakfast bag for our early departure to the airport which was nice. The hotel was not in the most funky area but as there were several transit options just outside the door it was not a problem for us.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank x_simpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC, Beirut
Level Contributor
165 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

The hotel is very large. Almost as large as a small airport lobby. Its probably an inexpensive choice for companies having conferences. The rooms come with a good breakfast and there is a Gym. The hotel itself is a great business hotel. But the location is terrible--45 minutes from the Airport minimum and about 25 mins from anything you want to see or do.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baci2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Prenzlauer Berg
Vienna House Easy Berlin
Vienna House Easy Berlin
#215 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Friedrichshain
nhow Berlin
nhow Berlin
#29 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Friedrichshain
Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Charlottenburg
Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andel's by Vienna House Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andel's by Vienna House Berlin

Property: andel's by Vienna House Berlin
Address: Landsberger Allee 106, 10369 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#41 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#50 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#55 Family Hotel in Berlin
#61 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — andel's by Vienna House Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star superior design hotel, with 557 rooms and suites and a 3,800 m² flexibly designable conference centre, is among the most attractive hotels in the German capital. One of the highlights is the "sky.Bar" on the 14th floor with great panoramic views over the rooftops of Berlin. The heart of the house: the a-la-carte restaurant a.Choice. Guests also have a 550 m² wellness area at their disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your andel's by Vienna House Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Andels Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing