We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average ultra-modern business hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of andel's by Vienna House Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
andel's by Vienna House Berlin
Ranked #56 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Average ultra-modern business hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I was disappointed by twin beds with duvets that only were as wide as the bed i.e. Do not go over the edge. The black-out curtains didn't quite cover the window as someone had foolishly miscalculated when putting a stopper in the curtain rail. Plus sides - fantastic bathroom with a great shower, excellent location (quietish and within 5 to 10 min of variety of restaurants), Sky-cafe. Reasonable continental breakfast but watch out for the business person rush. Good for business but not enough character for a holiday-maker looking for authenticity.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,226
    872
    187
    42
    20
See reviews for
236
982
172
520
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Soul-less business and conference Hotel stranded in a wasteland in the East Berlin suburbs. This was not the best way to enjoy a weekend in Berlin. The hotel is perfectly fine in an international 4 star kind if way. Horribly noisy air conditioning and continual noise from trains which pass at the front and the mainline railway station at the side. On a direct tram to Alexanderplatz, but feels a long way out if town and so no sense of Berlin vibe. Also not especially cheap. Booked a similar standard room in the centre for less after giving Andel's up and checking out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Latebloomer100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andels106, Leiter Gästebetreuung at andel's by Vienna House Berlin, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Kim C,

Thank you for your review even though it seems that you did not really enjoy your stay with us. Your statement that we are perfectly fine in the international 4 star category makes us happy, since we actually are. We deeply regret that we were not able to convince you of all our features. Such as the more than 400 rooms that are not facing the public transportation and may be requested at check in or our amazing sky.bar that is a part of the famous Berlin vibe or our relaxing 550sqm Spa area, that offers free access to a Finnish sauna, bio sauna, Turkish steam bath, whirlpool and quiet terraces. Please feel free to contact our reservation dept. for one of our very affordable spezial offers that are available almost all year long for your next stay. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Berlin.


Kind regards
Your andel’s Hotel Berlin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Andel's Hotel looked spectacular when we arrived. Th lobby has an ultramodern open winding staircase and the space is light and airy and very clean looking. Check in was easy and fast. To get to our room however was a hike. After getting out of the elevator we had to march almost completely around the circumference of the building which is rather large. But we lived through it. Our room was modern with all the amenities you'd need but our beds were separate twins that couldn't be pushed together. I realize many European hotels are arranged this way so it wasn't a surprise but just annoying. Again we lived through it. The only complaint about the room itself was the shower drain. By the end of a 10 minute shower the tub was filled about 1 foot high with water and that took almost an hour to drain. Not a big problem but if you have several people waiting to take showers it might take a while. The hotel was quite a walk from some areas we wanted to be but the convenience of the tram across the street made it very fast and easy to travel to other areas to shop or eat or sightsee. My complaint about the hotel lays in the area of food and food service. We ate dinner at the hotel the first night at a buffet and the variety of food at the buffet was severely limited. I ended up eating a lot of bread and noodles, yes all carbs, to satiate my hunger from the long airplane trip to Europe. The meats were tasteless and inedible and eve the desserts were not looking good. My husband, who will eat almost anything, sad he was starved because of the bad food that he couldn't even chew. And breakfast the next morning was also a buffet but the coffee machines did not work asking a waitress for coffee took almost a half hour. There were cold cut meats but they were fatty and tasteless and the eggs were dry and rubbery with the bacon almost all fat and dripping grease. Again I resorted to rolls with my coffee and waited to eat some protein at lunch where I made sure we would eat at a real restaurant. When asking for anything of the wait staff I was repeatedly given an eye roll and a nasty comment. I would stay at this hotel again for the hotel itself but would opt to pay for my own breakfast at a coffee shop next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not too far from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andels106, Leiter Gästebetreuung at andel's by Vienna House Berlin, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Ann,
thank you for the feedback. We highly appreciate your review as it helps us to constantly improve our service. Please accept our dearest apology not just for the maintenance issue in your bathroom, but also for the comments on the buffets for your travel group. Both, our General Manager as well as the Department Head of Food & Beverage will take care to ensure our very own standards for the evening buffet for groups as well as for the general breakfast buffet. We would love to welcome you back to the andel’s not just to see our improvements but also to benefit from our fine dining restaurant a.choice or to enjoy the amazing view at the sky.bar.
Best regards
Your andel’s Hotel Berlin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I checked-in to Andel's without a printed copy of our reservation however was shown on an iPad, which the staff were not impressed about (although this has not seemed to be an issue elsewhere). There was then a problem with our fully-paid booking, as staff could not locate it on their systems. We weren't entirely sure what was happening, as there was not much communication to us at this point. We were shown to a room eventually while they sorted out the confusion only to find the double bed we'd paid for was actually two singles beds. We then had to go all the way downstairs once more with our luggage to request a double-bed. Long story short once all was sorted, the room itself was wonderful. Very clean and modern and a great location - just a short walk to both the tram stop and train station. The buffet breakfast was very generous with plenty of fresh options available. An overall good stay, however it was not the warmest welcome to a new city we were otherwise excited about.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AngeRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andels106, Leiter Gästebetreuung at andel's by Vienna House Berlin, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear AngeRad,
thank you for the very good review on our hotel. We would of course like to apologize for the inconvenience you described during check-in. In fact your reservation had not been forwarded to us and this is why our team was not just confused but also did not have any information about your initial request. Please be sure that there will be additional trainings to ensure our staff is welcoming every guest just as warm as it is supposed to be. We are happy that the two of you were able to enjoy your stay with us just like the visit to Berlin in the end. This is why we are looking forward to welcome you back to us.
Best regards
Your andel’s Hotel Berlin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location just in front of the tram station. The restaurant is very nice. Good food. The breakfast is also good. Big bottle of water is 8 euros. Really expensive. Some rooms do not have wireless signal at 5th floor. İn general; it was a good stay. Very clean rooms

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Zeliha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolding, Danmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed at the hotel for four nights.

The stay was nice and I have no real complaints. The free internet was a bit slow, but the hotel openly writes that the free connection is slow, and it is possible to buy faster internet.

The room was nice and had what was needed, however I think they should take a look at the drains, since the water in the shower cabin took a while to empty - but not a big concern.

Good breakfast with a lot of choices.

I didn't need much help from the staff, but when I had questions, they were very nice and could answer all my quetions.

Location was a bit out from Alexanderplatz, however there was a direct and frequent tram just outside the hotel. In addition, there was also an S-train station just out the door.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spoock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Check in was quick and efficient.
There was a long walk to my room from the elevators on the 6th floor but on reaching the room it was large, well laid out with a modern design and clean.

However there were a few maintenance/facility niggles i experienced.
The desk lamp didn't work and the shower door could not be closed properly and leaked all over the bathroom floor. I normally raise these items with reception but when i did no one answered the phone after a few mins so i couldn't be bothered to waste any more time as i was only there for 2 nights. There was also no iron or ironing board provided in the room and no pay TV - although a DVD player was provided. The free in-room wifi was not very good - the paid for Wifi was better...but pricey.

Service often missed the mark and on occasions was bordering on rude.
I had to ask 5 times over 36 hours for an Iron and Ironing board to be sent to my room. On one of the calls I was told I could get one in 2 hours...I explained I did need to leave for the office before then and I was bluntly told "well what do you want me to do about" in a very sarcastic tone. On another occasion I ordered room service and had to wait on the line for 7 minutes before it was answered and when it was it answered it was with a sigh and a "yeah".

I also asked for some dry cleaning to be done (there was no iron making an appearance!) and interestingly they will return same ay items by 8pm ....most hotels get dry cleaning back to you by 6pm...so in my opinion 8pm is a bit late if you need something for an evening event.

Overall, the missing hospitality ethos lets the place down....my advice to the hotel is be more polite to paying guests, put iron/boards in rooms, do maintenance room checks before guest checks in, get dry cleaning back by 6pm and answer the reception phone promptly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lordtug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andels106, Leiter Gästebetreuung at andel's by Vienna House Berlin, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Lordtug,

thank you for sharing your experience. We would like to apologize for the sum of inconveniences you described. Please be ensured that none of those meets our very own standards. This is why we are so thankful for that you took so much effort for a detailed feedback. As for the external dry cleaning, 6 p.m. return is offered for drop off until 9 a.m.. A same day return with a drop off later than 9 a.m. is 8 p.m.. In coordination with our department heads we will take steps to eliminate all of the service related gabs in future. This is why we hope you give us the chance to prove our improved service to you with your next stay with us.
Kind regards
your andel’s Hotel Berlin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Friedrichshain
nhow Berlin
nhow Berlin
#29 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,899 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#5 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
Friedrichshain
Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
Charlottenburg
Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andel's by Vienna House Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andel's by Vienna House Berlin

Property: andel's by Vienna House Berlin
Address: Landsberger Allee 106, 10369 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#41 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#48 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#55 Family Hotel in Berlin
#61 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — andel's by Vienna House Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star superior design hotel, with 557 rooms and suites and a 3,800 m² flexibly designable conference centre, is among the most attractive hotels in the German capital. One of the highlights is the "sky.Bar" on the 14th floor with great panoramic views over the rooftops of Berlin. The heart of the house: the a-la-carte restaurant a.Choice. Guests also have a 550 m² wellness area at their disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your andel's by Vienna House Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Andels Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing