We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anytime again - best staff!”
Review of Hotel AMANO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel AMANO
Ranked #108 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The location of the hotel is great, as you can walk to nice individual restaurants and bars in Mitte. A taxi drive to the Brandenburg gate (if it is raining) is only 4€. The staff of the hotel is excellent and I don't give lots of compliments away. They read your mind to know what you need. The rooms are not huge, but funcional and the layout with the bathroom integrated into the room is a nice change to standard hotels. We had a room which overlooked a street and the entrace of the hotel, but the double glazing is so soundproof, you could hardly hear anything.
We loved Berlin and we will certainly come back to hotel Amano - there is simply no need looking anywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AleksGra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

612 - 618 of 1,614 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

One of the better hotels in Berlin where location meets modern interiors, and for very reasonable prices too! I'd made a list of places I wanted to go in downtown Berlin and by coincidence, most of them were right outside the hotel lobby! The hotel is nice and clean and the staff are friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Trendy, modern and clean hotel in Eastern part of Berlin´s city centre (Berlin-Mitte). Felt more like a good four-star hotel rather than a three-star hotel.

The location of the hotel is fine. Not far from the tubestation (Rosenthaler Platz, 2 mins). The Hackesche Höfe are about 8 mins away, famous Alexanderplatz about 10 mins. From Berlin main station it´s best to take a taxi which is about 8 €.
There are plenty of cool bars, clubs and shops in the area - you are bang in the middle of the new, cool Berlin! To me, much more likeable than the Western part of the city (Kurfürstendamm and around).

The hotel boasts a spacious lobby with bar, breakfast room, patio (can be used for breakfast), room with vending machines, computer room (free guest, just as WLAN-use in the hotel) and a lovely rooftop terrace. There´s an underground car park (charge applies) and the reception offers some extra services (lending bikes, ordering a picnic basket, etc.)

The staff was really great: very friendly, welcoming competent on check-in, at breakfast or whenever we had a question!

We had a double room on second floor to the rear of the hotel. The room is medium-sized. I liked the large windows, very nice on a summer day. The room design is very stylish, but functional at the same time. Everything´s clean. Room facilities include air conditioning, a free safe, flatscreen-TV, desk, phone and hairdryer. Storage space is just enough for a short trip. The bed´s are fine.
However, some people won´t like the open bathroom. The toilet is in the fact the only place that offers some privacy with shower and wash basin situated within the room. So this might be an issue if you travel with someone you are not that familiar with.
There´s no kettle in the room - what a shame! However, this is not a standard feature of German hotel rooms and you may just head to the bar for a coffee.

If booked on the hotel website, breakfast is not included in the room rate, it´s 15 € for the breakfast buffet.
I really enjoyed breakfast and I would say it´s superior to what most German hotels of this category offer. There´s a good selection of bread (proper German wholemeal bread, toast, rolls, croissants), cheeses & cold meats, jams, fresh fruits and vegetables, juices, cereals, joghurt, rice pudding plus a selection of hot food (scrambled eggs, bacon, meatballs). There´s a pot of filter coffee on your table, however you may also get a latte, cappuccino, espresso or tea from the machine.
We went early to breakfast and the breakfast room was never busy or crowded.

On summer evening you should definitely visit the hotel´s rooftop bar which offers great views of Berlin, electronic sounds and a friendly atmopshere. Drinks are bit pricey though.

Well, this review might sound just a little too enthusiastic to you, but there was really nothing I could fault! Amano was really way above! So if you get a good rate, you should book it and have good time!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Badlydrawngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a long weekend, and got one of the apartment-style rooms with a fridge and stove. The room was clean and fairly big, more than enough for two people. The location was great too, both in terms of shopping and getting around. Right around the corner from the hotel is a restaurant called Transit, we ate there 5 days in a row, great asian food and very cheap. Downsides of the hotel was: our room smelled of cigarette smoke, not cool!! And there was no shampoo or conditioner, just plain soap. And there were too few lifts, we ended up taking the stairs a lot (only one floor up, thankfully). Other than that, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the interior design was lovely. Will be coming back here if we want to stay in the same area of Berlin.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecilie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I had looked at the Amano in the past and didn't stay there bcz the rates were On the high side. This time, I got a price of around $120/night and decided to give it a try based on the low rate and the great reviews.

A few thoughts about this hotel:

1. Location is fantastic, in a very hip part of town and close to the subway.
2. Service at the hotel is very good, with a well-appointed lobby and a very cool bar which, like many bars in Berlin, unfortunately still allow smoking.
3. The rooms are just OK--they look like they were done a bit on the cheap--but cleanliness was not an issue at all, it's all well maintained.
4. No fitness center, which was a disappointment being that this is not a tiny hotel. Even something bare bones would've been good to have.
5. The wifi in the rooms is awful. I tried it in two different rooms, and while I was able to get a signal On my laptop, my iPhone coverage was spotty at best. For me that is unacceptable in a hip hotel in Berlin.
6. No phone by the bed. You have to sit at the tiny desk in order to make a phone call via landline. And the lousy wifi made it difficult to Skype.

So in summary--great location, So-so rooms, but clean. Worth staying if you get a good rate.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Velvetgemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We got a good deal for this hotel with a travel web site and were really happy with our choice. Loved the location as very convenient to subways plus good spot to wander the local residential streets where there were great restaurants and bars. Rooms were always cleaned to a high standard and breakfast plentiful. Seems to have a mix of local and international tourists.
Note that shower is a bit 'open' in room (though toilet separate) which might cause an issue if sharing with someone you didn't know very well.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We have just had 4 nights at the Amano. The hotel was in a great location, it was totally clean, breakfast and the staff were truly amazing!!

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 different rooms, 110 on the corner was ace! p.s Definitely got to the Transit Chines...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel MANI
Hotel MANI
#56 of 635 in Berlin
626 reviews
Moabit
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#9 of 635 in Berlin
2,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#91 of 635 in Berlin
493 reviews
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#3 of 635 in Berlin
1,007 reviews
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 635 in Berlin
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel AMANO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel AMANO

Address: Auguststr. 43 | junction Rosenthaler Strasse, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £63 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel AMANO 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel AMANO is situated in the cultural heart of Berlin, between Rosenthaler Platz and Hackesche Hoefe. The hotel, built in 2009, has 163 rooms and fully serviced apartments designed in a contemporary style with high quality furnishings and parquet flooring. Not just the stylish rooms but also the unique services, featuring bicycle hire, pedestrian navigation systems or iPods offering walking tours, will make your stay in the AMANO a special experience. The AMANO rooftop conference rooms, available in five different sizes and connected by a surrounding roof terrace, will also be of interest to business customers. In addition, the AMANO Bar, situated on the ground floor, is a key venue for Berlin's night life. This is where the art of cocktails is practised to its extreme! In the summer months, the roof terrace with its fantastic view of the Berlin skyline is an inviting place for evening drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel AMANO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing