We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but can be Noisy if you have 1st Floor room.”
Review of Hotel AMANO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel AMANO
Ranked #107 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I stayed here recently and was given a room on the first floor (Room 118). Its a really well presented property and the room was spacious with free wifi that worked properly. The shower is in the bath and I would have preferred a seperate walk-in shower. My main problem was that the room suffers a fair bit of noise pollution from the ground floor bar. It was a thursday night and the music flowed till the wee small hours.

Room Tip: Avoid 1st floor rooms over the ground floor bar.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frenchfoodie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,565)
There are newer reviews for Hotel AMANO
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 595 of 1,565 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

The Amano is a curious hotel offering an urban edgy experience in one of the best streets in Mitte but there is a secret for families and that is the XL apartments. We stayed for three nights with my wife and two daughters 11 and 13 and could have stayed far longer. This is a fully equipped apartment with kitchen, kitchen dining or the main living room/dining table (for 6 people), large rooms, free WiFi, washing machine, Nespresso coffee maker,(capsules in the downstairs dispenser), an IPOD player etc. All conveniences are present from in-hotel parking at Eur 15 a night, a large roof-top bar open very late with views over the city and walking distance to shops, supermarkets, cafes etc. Each side street is loaded with boutique small shops, bookshops, all manner of restaurants and most are tourist free as these trippers tend to stay around the Hackescher markt area and the S-bahn. Contact the hotel directly for the best prices on rooms as they have specials and kids under 15 get free breakfasts even if the parents eat upstairs in the apartment.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel directly as they can provide special rates for rooms and know the availability of...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fliegenkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

What I liked about it
1. Comfortable beds
2. Courteous staff
3. Nice Location (Near to train station and walking distance from TV tower)
4. Nice roof top bar

What I did n't like
1. No view from room
2. No change in breakfast menu (I stayed for 2 weeks :( )
3. Small room

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We were visiting friends in Berlin who recommended the hotel. Somehow we were upgraded to an apartment! The apartment was gorgeous. The only problem was accessibility. While there is an elevator, one must walk a half of flight of stairs to get to it, and then another half a flight of stairs to the apartment. As I was recovering from knee surgery this was a bit of a problem, though worth it for the fabulous space.

Very nice and helpful staff, though we were directed to a restaurant where, given it's out of the way location, it's limited menu and the fact that the desk clerk made the reservation in the name of the hotel rather than in our names, we suspected he was receiving a kickback for the referral. These are small quibbles, though. Overall it was a fabulous place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clb610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed at hotel amano for 4 nights. we are entirely satisfied of our stay there. The hotel is in an excellent location. 2 minutes of the Rosenthaler platz station on the U8 line, there is also the M1 tram that passes few meters away from the metro station. We had an appartment room ( we were 3 persons ) and it was very large and satisfying. The beds are comfortable and we were pleased in our stay. The breakfast is awesome. it is a buffet were you have a excellent variety of food and also a machine for hot drinks. Value for money was very good in comparison for what we had. The lobby is luxurious for a 3 stars hotel. The staff are very helpful when you need something: we forgot to put the " please clean the room " cart and when we came back in the late afternoon, we noticed that, so the room wasn't tide up. the reception immediately sent us the women who clean the rooms. The wifi is free of charge and the signal is excellent.
All in all, it is an excellent address to stay when you go to Berlin.

Room Tip: On the site, they say normal rooms are small. An appartment room shoud be more comfortable.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthonynassar96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

stayed at the amano for 5 nights and it was great. The location is fantastic, the hotel rents bikes to get around, they were very helpful with maps, local advice, letting me print out a document (without charge), it has a great rooftop terrace and the breakfast sets you up for the hotel. Inside the decor is stylish and sleek Fully recommended and great value for what it is.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londonjamie186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Cool hotel, rooms are basic but very comfortable and modern, though I did nearly kill myself as I slipped coming out of the shower as the floors are very slippery! Breakfast was buffet style but awesome selection of various foods and a petty great coffee machine. Friendly and helpful staff and in a good location that's super trendy and 1 min away from a U-bahn station. Would defiantly stay again, maybe save up though to be able to afford a cocktail at the bar! Also you HAVE to have a Kebap while you are there from the Kebap shop down the road. Yummers.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandelionjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel MANI
Hotel MANI
#54 of 635 in Berlin
604 reviews
Moabit
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#9 of 635 in Berlin
2,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#83 of 635 in Berlin
481 reviews
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#2 of 635 in Berlin
993 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel AMANO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel AMANO

Address: Auguststr. 43 | junction Rosenthaler Strasse, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £67 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel AMANO 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel AMANO is situated in the cultural heart of Berlin, between Rosenthaler Platz and Hackesche Hoefe. The hotel, built in 2009, has 163 rooms and fully serviced apartments designed in a contemporary style with high quality furnishings and parquet flooring. Not just the stylish rooms but also the unique services, featuring bicycle hire, pedestrian navigation systems or iPods offering walking tours, will make your stay in the AMANO a special experience. The AMANO rooftop conference rooms, available in five different sizes and connected by a surrounding roof terrace, will also be of interest to business customers. In addition, the AMANO Bar, situated on the ground floor, is a key venue for Berlin's night life. This is where the art of cocktails is practised to its extreme! In the summer months, the roof terrace with its fantastic view of the Berlin skyline is an inviting place for evening drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel AMANO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing