We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel AMANO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel AMANO
Ranked #79 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Really nice, great location - in Mitte, so very central but not too touristy or busy. Very close to The Barn, my favourite Berlin coffee shop. Free Wifi always a bonus.
Best Hotel breakfast I've ever had. (Although apparently it's expensive- I don't know, I wasn't paying.)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miaomiaoska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    550
    114
    28
    18
See reviews for
196
514
83
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
België
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

A weekend in Berlin is always fun, but you need a good place to start from. This hotel in Mitte is such a place. A luxurious lobby, clean and spacious rooms and lively hotel bar for that last drink, all at a great and central location. What more do you need? Bikes, exactly, and they also have those. Only negative point, the breakfast is ridiculously expensive - but at least it was good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tom d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

I stayed here recently and was given a room on the first floor (Room 118). Its a really well presented property and the room was spacious with free wifi that worked properly. The shower is in the bath and I would have preferred a seperate walk-in shower. My main problem was that the room suffers a fair bit of noise pollution from the ground floor bar. It was a thursday night and the music flowed till the wee small hours.

Room Tip: Avoid 1st floor rooms over the ground floor bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchfoodie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

The Amano is a curious hotel offering an urban edgy experience in one of the best streets in Mitte but there is a secret for families and that is the XL apartments. We stayed for three nights with my wife and two daughters 11 and 13 and could have stayed far longer. This is a fully equipped apartment with kitchen, kitchen dining or the main living room/dining table (for 6 people), large rooms, free WiFi, washing machine, Nespresso coffee maker,(capsules in the downstairs dispenser), an IPOD player etc. All conveniences are present from in-hotel parking at Eur 15 a night, a large roof-top bar open very late with views over the city and walking distance to shops, supermarkets, cafes etc. Each side street is loaded with boutique small shops, bookshops, all manner of restaurants and most are tourist free as these trippers tend to stay around the Hackescher markt area and the S-bahn. Contact the hotel directly for the best prices on rooms as they have specials and kids under 15 get free breakfasts even if the parents eat upstairs in the apartment.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel directly as they can provide special rates for rooms and know the availability of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fliegenkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

What I liked about it
1. Comfortable beds
2. Courteous staff
3. Nice Location (Near to train station and walking distance from TV tower)
4. Nice roof top bar

What I did n't like
1. No view from room
2. No change in breakfast menu (I stayed for 2 weeks :( )
3. Small room

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We were visiting friends in Berlin who recommended the hotel. Somehow we were upgraded to an apartment! The apartment was gorgeous. The only problem was accessibility. While there is an elevator, one must walk a half of flight of stairs to get to it, and then another half a flight of stairs to the apartment. As I was recovering from knee surgery this was a bit of a problem, though worth it for the fabulous space.

Very nice and helpful staff, though we were directed to a restaurant where, given it's out of the way location, it's limited menu and the fact that the desk clerk made the reservation in the name of the hotel rather than in our names, we suspected he was receiving a kickback for the referral. These are small quibbles, though. Overall it was a fabulous place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clb610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed at hotel amano for 4 nights. we are entirely satisfied of our stay there. The hotel is in an excellent location. 2 minutes of the Rosenthaler platz station on the U8 line, there is also the M1 tram that passes few meters away from the metro station. We had an appartment room ( we were 3 persons ) and it was very large and satisfying. The beds are comfortable and we were pleased in our stay. The breakfast is awesome. it is a buffet were you have a excellent variety of food and also a machine for hot drinks. Value for money was very good in comparison for what we had. The lobby is luxurious for a 3 stars hotel. The staff are very helpful when you need something: we forgot to put the " please clean the room " cart and when we came back in the late afternoon, we noticed that, so the room wasn't tide up. the reception immediately sent us the women who clean the rooms. The wifi is free of charge and the signal is excellent.
All in all, it is an excellent address to stay when you go to Berlin.

Room Tip: On the site, they say normal rooms are small. An appartment room shoud be more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthonynassar96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel MANI
Hotel MANI
#71 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Moabit
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
#82 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#7 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#88 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#5 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel AMANO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel AMANO

Property: Hotel AMANO
Address: Auguststrasse 43 | junction Rosenthaler Strasse, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel AMANO 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel AMANO is situated in the cultural heart of Berlin, between Rosenthaler Platz and Hackesche Hoefe. The hotel, built in 2009, has 163 rooms and fully serviced apartments designed in a contemporary style with high quality furnishings and parquet flooring. Not just the stylish rooms but also the unique services, featuring bicycle hire, pedestrian navigation systems or iPods offering walking tours, will make your stay in the AMANO a special experience. The AMANO rooftop conference rooms, available in five different sizes and connected by a surrounding roof terrace, will also be of interest to business customers. In addition, the AMANO Bar, situated on the ground floor, is a key venue for Berlin's night life. This is where the art of cocktails is practised to its extreme! In the summer months, the roof terrace with its fantastic view of the Berlin skyline is an inviting place for evening drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel AMANO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing