We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, a few flaws...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel AMANO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel AMANO
Ranked #85 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good location, a few flaws...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Great location right in the heart of Mitte and surrounded by great restaurants and bars. The standard room (which we booked) was cheap but incredibly small. Kind of like an ikea kit set room. The hotel facilities though are lovely, especially the bar in the foyer (which is smoke free) and the breakfast room. The main bar which is clearly very hip and happening was always packed and we did venture in one night only to be completely overwhelmed by the cigarette smoke. Thats said if you are a smoker you will probably not be bothered and it did seem to be a very cool scene.

Not sure we would stay again. It was quite nice but not the best 4 star hotel we have stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BronwynS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear BronwynS,
Thank you for the review. It is a pity that you probably have felt not so with us. The AMANO is a 3 star hotel but we try to offer our guests more... We have established another BAR in the lobby so that even non-smoker have a drink with us. Perhaps you will come to us again? Book an apartment, this is greater.
Kind regards
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    558
    115
    28
    18
See reviews for
199
520
86
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

modern boutique hotel. Breakfast was very good, free Internet worked perfectly in room and lobby. Make sure to ask about the room shower setting if you are sharing the room with someone you don't know well.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hegidio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Hegidio,
thank you for the review of your stay with us. For your next stay, I recommend a room with a closed bathroom. The AMANO offers both. If we get the information in advance - no problem!
Hopefulle seeing you soon!
Kind regards from AMANO,
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Stayed for three nights at the Amano and loved the hotel. The room was very nice, clean and had ample space. There was a lovely modern shower and the bed was comfortable. We had a room overlooking the small courtyard and it was very quite, we did not hear any noise from other rooms.
The breakfast was very good, plenty of choice. The food was replenished as soon as the dishes were emptied. Staff very efficient.
The hotel is in a great location and is only a short walk to Hackescher Markt which is the place to meet guides for the Berlin walks.
There are plenty of restaurants to choose from in the area and a good mini supermarket opposite the hotel.
The reception staff were very helpful. We have decided to book the hotel again for a visit to the Christmas Markets.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jersey45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear jersey45,
thank you for your review of your stay with us! I am glad you like AMANO! Hopeully see you soon.
With kind regards
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, TN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

This is a modern, very well maintained hotel within a few minutes walk of the S-Bahn station at Hackescher Marklt. There are plenty of restaurants in and close to the market. The museums of Museum Island are within easy walking distance

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Hello Brian D,
I thank you for the great feedback and the fice star rating! Nice that you have had a pleasant stay with us. Hopefully seeing you soon!
Kind regards from AMANO,
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

My stay at hotel Amano was short, only one night, but it was quite pleasant. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The bathroom also clean and roomy, nice shower. I applaud the hotel for not providing the disposable amenities, but the vending machine did not supply they items most needed. I also would have liked a kettle in the room, but tea could be ordered. Breakfast was lovely, with a great choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erynmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear erynmw,
thank you for staying with us and for the review. Please inform us before you will arrive because we have kettles and would have putt this in your room. Thanks for your proposals and suggestions for improvement. Maybe I can welcome you back at the hotel?
Kind regards from Berlin
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel, with superb location. The auguststrasse soon became our Berlin favourite. Rented a XL apartment which was clean, spacious, quiet and overall very nice. The nespresso-machine was a nice addition, buy capsules in the vending machine or bring your own. Also, the apartments on the 5th floor has (narrow) balconies. Overall friendly staff, some are more professional than others, but all where more than satisfactory. We will stay here on our next trip also, no doubt.

Helpful?
Thank Runar M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Hello Runar M,
thank you that you was our guests. It is a pleasure to read your impressions. I am glad to welcome you again with us.
Kind regards from Berlin
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
rotterdam
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

The hotel is situated between Mitte and Prenzlauerberg close to Hackeche Hofe. Great location close to nice bars, restaurants and shops. Hotel is clean, staff is friendly. Breakfast is excellent (and free for children <13 yr).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinovitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Hello dinovitch,
Thanks for the time that you have put into writing the review and that you was our guest! Hopefully seeing you soon.
Best regards from AMANO,
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel MANI
Hotel MANI
#63 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Moabit
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
#83 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#10 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#87 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
#57 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel AMANO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel AMANO

Property: Hotel AMANO
Address: Auguststrasse 43 | junction Rosenthaler Strasse, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel AMANO 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel AMANO is situated in the cultural heart of Berlin, between Rosenthaler Platz and Hackesche Hoefe. The hotel, built in 2009, has 163 rooms and fully serviced apartments designed in a contemporary style with high quality furnishings and parquet flooring. Not just the stylish rooms but also the unique services, featuring bicycle hire, pedestrian navigation systems or iPods offering walking tours, will make your stay in the AMANO a special experience. The AMANO rooftop conference rooms, available in five different sizes and connected by a surrounding roof terrace, will also be of interest to business customers. In addition, the AMANO Bar, situated on the ground floor, is a key venue for Berlin's night life. This is where the art of cocktails is practised to its extreme! In the summer months, the roof terrace with its fantastic view of the Berlin skyline is an inviting place for evening drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel AMANO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing