We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in Berlin”
Review of Hotel AMANO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel AMANO
Ranked #90 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay in Berlin”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We have recently returned from a nostalgic trip to Berlin. Our previous trip there together was 50 years ago, so much has changed!
We loved the Amano as it is modern and bright, and very conveniently situated. When we booked we requested a quiet room with a closed bathroom. We arrived for the last few days of Berlin Fashion Week. There was plenty to keep us amused! However, this meant that the hotel was full so for the first night we were offered a room on the first floor facing the main street with trams passing all night. It wasn't particularly noisy but there was a lingering smell of tobacco smoke. Next morning the staff were very good and found us a room on the fourth floor which was better. We were able to pack our stuff and leave it in their secure luggage room until our return from sightseeing in the afternoon, so none of our precious time was wasted.
We were very comfortable at the Amano and would love to return. The staff were cheerful and very helpful, and the hotel was spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were excellent and could be taken in the pretty courtyard garden in fine weather. This was also a quiet and shady retreat on returning from a busy day of sightseeing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the annexe to avoid noise from the rooftop terrace and the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkers011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear walkers011,
Thanks for being our guest! I'm sorry that you had to change the room and thank you for your understanding. That you had still a great time, makes me happy! I very much hope to be able to welcome you soon in AMANO.
Kind regards from Berlin,
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    585
    132
    33
    20
See reviews for
216
551
89
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stylish, modern reception & foyer, bright, clean, well equipped spacious rooms in an excellent location. Easy to get to from U Bahn and Alexandraplatz. Chose this hotel as I had the option of a closed bathroom which is essential when sharing with friends and the prospect of cocktails on the roof top terrace.

Only negative was the melee for lifts on the Fri & Sat night as the hotel was awash with drunken visitors for the bar. In the end it wasn't worth the wait and we had to walk up to the fourth floor. Paying guests should have priority after a long day seeing the sights.

Stayed June 2013 for three nights

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aliceapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Aliceapple,
thanks for your stay with us and for this review! We have since some time a security service which looks after the guests of the roof terrace. This provides for the fact that these itself keep quiet in the stairwell. He also looks after that hotel guests comes quickly to the room.
Hopefully seeing you soon.
Kind regards from AMANO,
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed at Amano for a weekend citytrip. Overall, we are very happy with our stay. We had a room at the fifth floor, and despite the access to the roof terrace, we do not have any complaints about the noise and people waiting for the elevator. In any hotel, you can have loud and annoying guests I suppose.

Did not take breakfast in the hotel, so no judgement here.

Great location, near the underground, great restaurants nearby (sisal, monsieur vuong) and great coffee bars nearby (St Oberberg).

Lovely hotel, next visit in Berlin will be at Amano.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristof t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear kristof t,
Thank you for the perfect score! I am very pleased that you had a nice stay at the AMANO and on your next booking with us!
With best regards from Berlin,
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeist, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We had an excellent stay in Amano. Very nice and helpfull staff. Breakfast was very good and the hotel was near Heackische Hofe so very close to the centre. Nice bar downstairs and at the rooftop. Only neagtive point was the noise at night we had a room just above the entrance. witk kind regards H. Pouw

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank henkp478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Dear Henk P,
Thank you that you have taken the time for the assessment. I am pleased with the positive feedback.. But also criticism is important and helps us to improve. I hope to be able to greet you soon again in the AMANO.
Kind regards
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

NOISY PLACE!!!

To make things clear and honest, it is not just my personal opinion but mine PLUS a bunch of colleagues opinion: If you stay here for a romantic journey or for work, then you're wrong. If you stay here for party, you're right.
I was there for work (booked by my contractor):

- First night in march: huge party in a room on my floor, neighbors went to ask to shut down.
Then I went back in May/june 2013.
- Floor 2 (east side) is up to the ground floor bar, very noisy. Colleagues have asked to change room because of the ambient noise from the bar.
- Floor 5 is under the terrace: terrace bar client's HAVE to take the hotel room's corridor from the elevator to the terrace, which makes inevitable movement from noisy and drunk people… the building architect really meant to mix people SLEEPING with people PARTYING…

- Soundproofing has totally failed for a new hotel: from 6 or 7 am you can hear from you're bed:
- doors being opened and shut
- elevator's bell
- the staff knocking and saying "house keeping" to every room of your corridor
- and last but not least: the MUSIC from the corridor's speakers… yeah, they play music in the whole hotel next to the room.

- I stayed for a long moment (3 weeks), the cleaning staff just did not add toilet paper to the bathroom. Imagine how pleasant it is to have to ask at least 2 times at the reception for toilet paper.

Good:
- design… even if the furniture are Ikea-like, it's OK.
- breakfast is good too.
- people at the entrance reception are polite and friendly

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antoine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Hello Antoine M,
thank you very much for the detailed assessment of your stay in the AMANO. It is a pity that you not well felt with us. Lonstay stay cleaning is discussed in advance and also the number of cleaning - this is apparently something went wrong in your case. It was only one cleaning per week. The AMANO has a night Porter - heis responsible for the security in the hotel and also for other problems, such as volume down from another room. Have they informed him? He would have provided for rest. Our roof terrace, where the eclectic atmosphere can be enjoyed on warm Berlin summerdays after the hustle and bustle of the city, provides a special view of the roofs of Berlin. Our guests like it!
I apologize sincerely for the inconvenience. It is a pity that you retain the AMANO in memory!
Kind regards from AMANO,
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goettingen, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Amano is a great place to stay. It has a good location, good value, although some weekend days can be 2x more expensive due to some big event like a football match. The room was very clean, bathroom was big and the room had very good noise-cancelling windows. I didn't use the breakfast room (it was somewhat pricy), but the main bar had excellent drinks, service, music and crowd. Everyone at the service desk was pleasant and helpful and they replied to e-mails before the trip right away. Oh, and there is a FREE Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuropeanInUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear EuropeanInUSA,
thank you for the great review. My Team and I look forward to welcome you again.
Kind regards from AMANO,
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This hotel was in a good location with U-Bahn, S-Bahn & Tram all close enough to use. Also close to plenty of restuarants. You could actually walk to many of the Berlin sights from here if you wanted to.
The room was large, smart & clean though the furniture was sparse.
Breakfast had good & plentiful choices.
Take a kettle if you like a cuppa in your room. There is a handy grocers over the road too.
The staff were extremely pleasant and always helpful.
We stayed 7 nights & would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Marlene M,
thank you for the time you have put into the review and of course, that you were our guest!
Nice if you have enjoyed the time with us. I hope to welcome you soon in the AMANO.
Kind regards from Berlin,
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel MANI
Hotel MANI
#54 of 634 in Berlin
537 reviews
Moabit
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
#82 of 634 in Berlin
940 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#12 of 634 in Berlin
2,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,701 reviews
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#77 of 634 in Berlin
462 reviews
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#3 of 634 in Berlin
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel AMANO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel AMANO

Property: Hotel AMANO
Address: Auguststr. 43 | junction Rosenthaler Strasse, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel AMANO 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel AMANO is situated in the cultural heart of Berlin, between Rosenthaler Platz and Hackesche Hoefe. The hotel, built in 2009, has 163 rooms and fully serviced apartments designed in a contemporary style with high quality furnishings and parquet flooring. Not just the stylish rooms but also the unique services, featuring bicycle hire, pedestrian navigation systems or iPods offering walking tours, will make your stay in the AMANO a special experience. The AMANO rooftop conference rooms, available in five different sizes and connected by a surrounding roof terrace, will also be of interest to business customers. In addition, the AMANO Bar, situated on the ground floor, is a key venue for Berlin's night life. This is where the art of cocktails is practised to its extreme! In the summer months, the roof terrace with its fantastic view of the Berlin skyline is an inviting place for evening drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel AMANO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing