We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amano” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel AMANO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel AMANO
Ranked #78 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amano”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 night a via british airways. No complaints with the hotel, position was good, breakfast very good although one morning seemed to be crowded and food not topped up but then if we all turn up together what do you expect. My only criticism were the pillows, left a bit to be desired as very flat and lumpy. Not a criticism but the shower is in the bedroom, if you were sharing a room with a friend and you were self conscious it might not be the hotel for you, mid you we are British and reserved. Bar was great and not overly priced and bar men were pleasant, if we went back to berlin we would stay here again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    550
    114
    28
    18
See reviews for
196
516
83
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, Berkshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Just got back from four nights in the Hotel Amano and what a lovely hotel it is. Located only 300 metres from U-Bahn which gets you anywhere in Berlin within minutes. Rooms comfortable without being luxurious with excellent décor. Fantastic buffet breakfast with wonderful coffee. Surrounded by as many eateries as you can manage and 15 minutes walk or 2 minute metro ride to Alexander Platz. Staff helpful and pleasant. Room cleaned every day. It would appear that the lobby and rooms are now no smoking so no smell of smoke. One thing would make this hotel excellent, there is no coffee or tea making facilities in the room. Only a minor point as after breakfast the room becomes a base only for sleeping and maybe an afternoon rest before the evening activities. Recommend this hotel for all ages.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Great hotel!! Very cool with great bar and lobby. The stuff were great and always available and eager to please. We stayed at a M apartment that was huge and more than enough for a couple for a week and was bigger then a 5 stars hotel rooms.

The hotel is suitable for everyone but mainly for young at age and/or spirit.

The location is very good with a few minutes walk to the main Ustations to most parts of the city.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AdamF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We were very excited to stay here however we had 5 days we had 3 things break in our room, non flushing toilet, broken shower head then basin leak! While we understand these things happen we were grateful to be offered a free breakfast each. The breakfast was great however after my 3rd attempt to check it was definitely complimentary... We were hassled on check out to pay for it, we checked out 6 am and really didn't need the hassle of arguing over the supposedly free breakfast. Over all the staff were mostly helpful ,rooms too small for 5 nights... However my sister and brother In law stayed for 2 nights and had what seemed to be a disability room on the corner that was huge at least 3 times the size of ours. Not sure it was value for money, though good location.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Summer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinna S, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Summer F,

Thank you for your feedback - I am sorry to hear about the inconveniences caused during your stay. I will talk to the person responsable to make sure that your mentioned challenges will not occur a second time. I would be happy to welcome you next time to our property again.
All the best,

Corinna Schuster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed at the Amano hotel for a weekend break in Berlin (3nights). Great prices for a great hotel in a wonderful location (5minutes from the train station). Really pleased that although the staff recognised that I was English, they happily let me practice my German speaking. Very clean, very modern hotel with lovely showers! (REALLY LOVED THE SHOWERS) The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was good, they had a selection to choose from that I'm sure would even please a fussy eater. Wifi was very important so it was great that the hotel had this free of charge BUT!! the wifi didn't reach the room we stayed in, very weak signal.

The only downside to this hotel was that smoking was allowed in the lobby, this was a massive issue as I hate smoke, if you want to willingly damage your own health and further reduce your life span, please do so in private where no one else will suffer... That was the only part of our visit that was a negative. If they ban smoking in the lobby, I would willing return to this wonderful hotel for the next visit to Berlin.

Room Tip: Wifi didn't reach our room. Smoke in lobby. That aside, this is an excellent hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I LOVE Hotel Amano. I've stayed there 4 or 5 times, and they never disappoint!
Great service, perfect location and an amazing bar with the best drinks I've ever had - don't miss the "Easy Peasy"!
The vending machines on the groundfloor are great for when you want a late-night-snack but can't be bothered leaving the hotel.

The *only* things I miss is the possibility to make tea/coffe in the room, and 2 separate pillows instead of one huuuuge, but that's it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjaiteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinna S, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Kjaiteh,

Thank you for your kind note - we are more than happy to hear that you enjoy staying with us. In regards to the pillows just drope us a quick note before your next stay or tell our reception staff and we will be delighted to provide a different one.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Best wishes,
Corinna Schuster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh Lancs
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed in an apt last weekend for the Berlin half marathon. Expensive but value for money. We were on the side but as other reviewers have commentated, it could be noisy due to the tram, road. However I expected this due to the city center location.

Also really pleased that although the staff recognised straight away that I was English, they quite happily let me speak German to them. This was great as sometimes when I visit Germany, I do wonder why I have spent 10 years learning the language.

One tip however - for those guests in the apartments, some idea of where to find Lidl,Rewe etc would be good. tried to find on my phone but struggled and kept having to buy food in the Hauptbahnhof

Well done, einfach klasse, super toll :)

Room Tip: Pick the rooms on the side if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nutty1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinna S, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Nutty1976,

Thank you for your kind feedback - we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am sorry to hear that you struggeled finding a supermarket - there is a one just around the corner. Please feel free to ask our staff during your next stay, we are always happy to assist you.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon,

Corinna Schuster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel MANI
Hotel MANI
#73 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Moabit
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
#80 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#8 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#89 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
#52 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel AMANO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel AMANO

Property: Hotel AMANO
Address: Auguststrasse 43 | junction Rosenthaler Strasse, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel AMANO 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel AMANO is situated in the cultural heart of Berlin, between Rosenthaler Platz and Hackesche Hoefe. The hotel, built in 2009, has 163 rooms and fully serviced apartments designed in a contemporary style with high quality furnishings and parquet flooring. Not just the stylish rooms but also the unique services, featuring bicycle hire, pedestrian navigation systems or iPods offering walking tours, will make your stay in the AMANO a special experience. The AMANO rooftop conference rooms, available in five different sizes and connected by a surrounding roof terrace, will also be of interest to business customers. In addition, the AMANO Bar, situated on the ground floor, is a key venue for Berlin's night life. This is where the art of cocktails is practised to its extreme! In the summer months, the roof terrace with its fantastic view of the Berlin skyline is an inviting place for evening drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel AMANO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing