We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, shame about the smoke”
Review of Hotel AMANO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel AMANO
Ranked #116 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Spent the May bank holiday in Berlin. What an exciting city. Our hotel was excellent, we had an apartment and being used to London prices, this was a steal. Berlin has culture, history (old and recent) and fantastic night life. Lots of young people. However the hotel bar, as the bars of restaurants etc are SMOKING areas and as we are now totally unaccustomed to cigarette smoke in a public place, it was unbearable. Even the lobby of our hotel reeked of smoke. So much for EU laws, perhaps Berlin has exemption.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinna S, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Peter R,

Thank you for your feedback - I am sorry to hear that you got bothered by the smell of smoke. Our bar is a smoking bar but we do have a rooftop bar where guets may not be disturbed by the smoke. I hope you may come back to enjoy the view over the cityon one of the most famous rooftops in Berlin.

All the best,

Corinna Schuster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,708)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

492 - 498 of 1,708 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

I was not particularly impressed with Hotel Mano. It is a trendy place not suited for some, like myself. My room was fine. The main difficulty I had was with the female staff at reception. Not helpful at all even in giving what turned out to be simple directions (on several occasions). The gentleman at the desk was friendly and helpful and showed us a map to find our destination as I would expect from anyone at the front desk. Not a particularly welcoming place. The neighborhood was great, however, for getting around and meals.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCLEEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinna S, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear CCLEEG,

Thank you for your time and feedback on our property, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the property and the location itself. In regards to your bad experience with our reception staff I would like to apologize for the inconveniences caused. I will talk to the person resonsable to ensure a friendly attitude at any time.

All the best,

Corinna Schuster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 night a via british airways. No complaints with the hotel, position was good, breakfast very good although one morning seemed to be crowded and food not topped up but then if we all turn up together what do you expect. My only criticism were the pillows, left a bit to be desired as very flat and lumpy. Not a criticism but the shower is in the bedroom, if you were sharing a room with a friend and you were self conscious it might not be the hotel for you, mid you we are British and reserved. Bar was great and not overly priced and bar men were pleasant, if we went back to berlin we would stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Just got back from four nights in the Hotel Amano and what a lovely hotel it is. Located only 300 metres from U-Bahn which gets you anywhere in Berlin within minutes. Rooms comfortable without being luxurious with excellent décor. Fantastic buffet breakfast with wonderful coffee. Surrounded by as many eateries as you can manage and 15 minutes walk or 2 minute metro ride to Alexander Platz. Staff helpful and pleasant. Room cleaned every day. It would appear that the lobby and rooms are now no smoking so no smell of smoke. One thing would make this hotel excellent, there is no coffee or tea making facilities in the room. Only a minor point as after breakfast the room becomes a base only for sleeping and maybe an afternoon rest before the evening activities. Recommend this hotel for all ages.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Great hotel!! Very cool with great bar and lobby. The stuff were great and always available and eager to please. We stayed at a M apartment that was huge and more than enough for a couple for a week and was bigger then a 5 stars hotel rooms.

The hotel is suitable for everyone but mainly for young at age and/or spirit.

The location is very good with a few minutes walk to the main Ustations to most parts of the city.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AdamF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We were very excited to stay here however we had 5 days we had 3 things break in our room, non flushing toilet, broken shower head then basin leak! While we understand these things happen we were grateful to be offered a free breakfast each. The breakfast was great however after my 3rd attempt to check it was definitely complimentary... We were hassled on check out to pay for it, we checked out 6 am and really didn't need the hassle of arguing over the supposedly free breakfast. Over all the staff were mostly helpful ,rooms too small for 5 nights... However my sister and brother In law stayed for 2 nights and had what seemed to be a disability room on the corner that was huge at least 3 times the size of ours. Not sure it was value for money, though good location.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Summer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinna S, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Summer F,

Thank you for your feedback - I am sorry to hear about the inconveniences caused during your stay. I will talk to the person responsable to make sure that your mentioned challenges will not occur a second time. I would be happy to welcome you next time to our property again.
All the best,

Corinna Schuster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed at the Amano hotel for a weekend break in Berlin (3nights). Great prices for a great hotel in a wonderful location (5minutes from the train station). Really pleased that although the staff recognised that I was English, they happily let me practice my German speaking. Very clean, very modern hotel with lovely showers! (REALLY LOVED THE SHOWERS) The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was good, they had a selection to choose from that I'm sure would even please a fussy eater. Wifi was very important so it was great that the hotel had this free of charge BUT!! the wifi didn't reach the room we stayed in, very weak signal.

The only downside to this hotel was that smoking was allowed in the lobby, this was a massive issue as I hate smoke, if you want to willingly damage your own health and further reduce your life span, please do so in private where no one else will suffer... That was the only part of our visit that was a negative. If they ban smoking in the lobby, I would willing return to this wonderful hotel for the next visit to Berlin.

Room Tip: Wifi didn't reach our room. Smoke in lobby. That aside, this is an excellent hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel MANI
Hotel MANI
#55 of 634 in Berlin
662 reviews
Moabit
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#10 of 634 in Berlin
2,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,960 reviews
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#75 of 634 in Berlin
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel AMANO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel AMANO

Address: Auguststr. 43 | junction Rosenthaler Strasse, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £56 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel AMANO 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel AMANO is situated in the cultural heart of Berlin, between Rosenthaler Platz and Hackesche Hoefe. The hotel, built in 2009, has 163 rooms and fully serviced apartments designed in a contemporary style with high quality furnishings and parquet flooring. Not just the stylish rooms but also the unique services, featuring bicycle hire, pedestrian navigation systems or iPods offering walking tours, will make your stay in the AMANO a special experience. The AMANO rooftop conference rooms, available in five different sizes and connected by a surrounding roof terrace, will also be of interest to business customers. In addition, the AMANO Bar, situated on the ground floor, is a key venue for Berlin's night life. This is where the art of cocktails is practised to its extreme! In the summer months, the roof terrace with its fantastic view of the Berlin skyline is an inviting place for evening drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel AMANO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing