We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great decor!”
Review of Hotel AMANO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel AMANO
Ranked #108 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed in Berlin for 1 night on a mini stop over! From the airport we took the train and then hoped on the subway (3.60 euro each) which got us about 2 blocks from the hotel. Is a good 1 hour process so to be safe we just took a cab to the airport in the morning (40euro). Hotel reception recommended an amazing German cuisine about 3 block walk - amazing food. The sausage and potato bacon salad is to die for. Restaurant is called sophieneck! Then took a cab to the Berlin wall (11 euro). Had the beaky at the hotel, great selection of bacon, eggs, yogurt, pastries, coffee, drinks, etc, (15 euro). Rooms are extremely spacious and well decorated, we wish we could have spent,ore time in this hotel. Only compliant was the wifi wasn't working when we got there which through a wrench in our stay in plans.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinna S, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Amanda S,

Thank you for your kind note - I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

All the best,

Corinna Schuster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

448 - 454 of 1,610 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

I've just returned from a 3 night stay at the Amano with my 18 year old daughter. We found our 1st floor room clean and comfortable but the shower facilities weren't private because the shower had a large glass see-through door with a mirrored wall directly opposite! Neither of us liked this. It would've been much better if the washing area in the room wasn't open plan and was more private.

We liked:
Friendly, helpful staff
Clean room
Good location, near to U-Bahn and shops
Small room near Reception containing computers for guest use

We didn't like:
Pillow on the beds - unusual size and no support from them.
No privacy when using shower or wash basin.
Music which we heard all night, appearing to come from the Reception area below us
The areas of the hotel where smoking was allowed.

Rosenthaler Strasse, the main road outside, has very noisy trams running by frequently, so if you stay here you would probably sleep better having a room which doesn't overlook the street.

Overall we didn't spend too much time at the hotel because there is so much to see and do in Berlin, but apart from the things we didn't like about the hotel our time at the Amano is rated as Very Good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JRH0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinna S, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear SunglassesJulie,

Thank you for your kind feedback - I am happy that you enjoyed our stay in general. I am looking forward to welcome you soon again. Please be so kind to contact my Front of House Manager Mr. Butt before your upcoming stay (butt@amanogroup.de) as I would love to make sure to allocate you in the upper levels so you won't get bothered by any noise again. I would also like to ensure that our housekeeping team puts more pillows on the bed so you have an adequate sleep at our property.

All the best,

Corinna Schuster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at the Amano hotel in February 2014.

We took the Extra large apartment.

The apartment was well appointed with absolutely all amenities provided. Clean and well taken care of, we felt comfortable through our stay.

Staff were absolutely brilliant, and offered great service throughout our stay.

The lobby was nice for its class hotel, with a nice atmosphere premating the air.

What was really disturbing were the corridors leading up to our room. You went outside the backdoor of the hotel, into a little courtyard, then entered another building to reach our room. The corridors simply seemed sleazy, and totally not on par with the rest of this decent hotel.

All in all we had a great stay, and aside from the corridors we found this hotel to be towards the higher end of its class hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank savytravel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed for one night with a friend

+ location
+ check in/out effecient and pleasant
+ the size of the room
+ price
+ nice vibe

- Private party in the hotel bar, couldnt get in
- smokefilled hallways and even a little in the room

Would probably consider staying again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alex-the-travel-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinna S, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear alex-the-travel-man,

Thank your for your feedback - I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you could not visit our bar and that the hallways were smoke filled. I will certainly check on how this may happen as we only have one floor with smoking rooms, the rest is non-smoking.
I hope to welcome you soon again.

All the best,

Corinna Schuster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Just enjoyed 3 nights at this well located hotel close to the City Centre and within easy walking distance to public transport The local area is interesting with shops restauarants and a market.
Our double was relatively small with a large walk in shower and separate wc The room was minimalistic but everything was modern, spotless,and the bed was comfortable. There was a small TV and only a single chair to sit on.
The Hotel has good communal areas, the breakfast was excellent and the staff from reception to the waiters were efficient and very helpful
For the money this hotel is spot on

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vicmadgesally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Exceptionally well located, walking distance from most tourist attractions and bars/ restaurants , flexible and friendly staff, nice and appealing rooms with comfy bed. Will stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honeyjar240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great location, every single staff person was helpful, kind & friendly. Clean, lovely "apartment" on the 5th floor. I absolutely loved the area - my favorite in the City (I am a first time visitor). Every kind of cafe, restaurant, gallery and shop in the immediate area. Easy access to public transit. Safe. Wonderful breakfast, many thoughtful amenities. I will recommend this hotel & return.

Room Tip: I was in a two room "apartment" - 506. Very good, close to elevator, nice views off small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel MANI
Hotel MANI
#56 of 635 in Berlin
626 reviews
Moabit
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#9 of 635 in Berlin
2,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#91 of 635 in Berlin
492 reviews
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#3 of 635 in Berlin
1,007 reviews
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 635 in Berlin
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel AMANO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel AMANO

Address: Auguststr. 43 | junction Rosenthaler Strasse, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £63 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel AMANO 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel AMANO is situated in the cultural heart of Berlin, between Rosenthaler Platz and Hackesche Hoefe. The hotel, built in 2009, has 163 rooms and fully serviced apartments designed in a contemporary style with high quality furnishings and parquet flooring. Not just the stylish rooms but also the unique services, featuring bicycle hire, pedestrian navigation systems or iPods offering walking tours, will make your stay in the AMANO a special experience. The AMANO rooftop conference rooms, available in five different sizes and connected by a surrounding roof terrace, will also be of interest to business customers. In addition, the AMANO Bar, situated on the ground floor, is a key venue for Berlin's night life. This is where the art of cocktails is practised to its extreme! In the summer months, the roof terrace with its fantastic view of the Berlin skyline is an inviting place for evening drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel AMANO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing