We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Hotel AMANO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel AMANO
Ranked #101 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed here for three nights, it is a very nice hotel, close to station and a short walk to good restaurants and cafes, clean, very helpful and friendly staff, breakfast was great with enough variety, value of money,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieCloggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinna S, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear AussieCloggi,

Thank you for your kind feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and I am looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Best wishes,

Corinna Schuster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    606
    139
    36
    23
See reviews for
227
576
94
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I had an overnight stay at one of the Amano's apartments and was very positively surprised. The room was spacious and well equipped, the bathroom huge. Though my room did overlook the street, on the 5th floor i was not bothered by the trams passing by.
The hotel has a great rooftop terrace and a nice bar, appreciated by the local Mitte crowd. I will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends who want to stay in the very middle of the Mitte district to enjoy shopping and going out the area.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street can be noisy, though top floor was ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinna S, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Maria P,

Thank you for your kind note and your positive feedback on your stay at our property. I am happy you enjoyed staying at our hotel and am looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

All the best,

Corinna Schuster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vestby, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

At first sight this seemed to be quite a smart place to stay, stylish and contemporary with changing art on the lobby walls and cool chill-house lounge music playing softly during check in. After receiving our keys, we asked about the free Wifi password and that´s when things started to go slightly wrong. When we showed them our iPhones, he simply wished us "good luck" with the connection. Apparently either the signal isn´t strong enough to handle all the guests being online at the same time or "it" simply doesnt like foreign Apple products. Needless to say, after several attempts at trying to connect, we gave up and had to data roam for most of the weekend. It wasnt until the monday, after our weekend stay that we finally made a connection. This was very upsetting and irritating that a modern city like Berlin can´t seem to fix whatever bug they have and offer free Wifi to ALL their guests. They admitted that it was quite a common occurrence and our response to that was, "WELL FIX IT THEN!!"
Another huge issue for me, (some might not mind it) was the persistent stale stench of cigarette smoke in most of the common rooms that I find offensive. For the life of me, I cant understand why public places cant ban it once and for all!
Upon checkout we were handed a bill that included a €30 breakfast charge for every day that we were there including the day we checked in which was at 16:00. We only had breakfast the first morning so people, double check your bill before paying.
The positive: The overall price of the room was good value; the location was quite good and we enjoyed the nice touches like a welcome note with a free disposable camera and fortune cookies on the pillow. The hotel was clean and our room was great, up on the fifth floor.
Bottom line: Would I recommend this hotel? I would have to say no. There are so many other cool places to stay in the city, places without these small irritating problems.

Room Tip: If you have an Apple iPhone and dont live in Germany, good luck connecting to their wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveljeffOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinna S, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear traveljeffOslo,

Thank you for your feedback - I am sorry to hear that you experienced varios challenges during your stay at our property. First of all I would like to, also on behalf of all my employees, excuse myself for all inconveniences caused.

In regards to our problems with the Internet connection I am defenitely aware of the problems and am fixing it with our provider. Nevertheless, I am very sorry you were not assisted the way you should and will talk to the person responsable at our front desk to ensure our guests won't need to experience problems again.

Refering to the smell of smoke you mentioned - I looked into this topic and found the reason of why your room smelled although it has been on the 5th floor, which is a non-smoking floor. There has been a problem with the ventilation which has been fixed by now.

Again my apologies for the inconveniences caused - I hope you give us a second chance at some stage and I would be happy to welcome you soon again.

All the best,

Corinna Schuster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetaskiwin, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed in Berlin for 1 night on a mini stop over! From the airport we took the train and then hoped on the subway (3.60 euro each) which got us about 2 blocks from the hotel. Is a good 1 hour process so to be safe we just took a cab to the airport in the morning (40euro). Hotel reception recommended an amazing German cuisine about 3 block walk - amazing food. The sausage and potato bacon salad is to die for. Restaurant is called sophieneck! Then took a cab to the Berlin wall (11 euro). Had the beaky at the hotel, great selection of bacon, eggs, yogurt, pastries, coffee, drinks, etc, (15 euro). Rooms are extremely spacious and well decorated, we wish we could have spent,ore time in this hotel. Only compliant was the wifi wasn't working when we got there which through a wrench in our stay in plans.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinna S, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Amanda S,

Thank you for your kind note - I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

All the best,

Corinna Schuster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I've just returned from a 3 night stay at the Amano with my 18 year old daughter. We found our 1st floor room clean and comfortable but the shower facilities weren't private because the shower had a large glass see-through door with a mirrored wall directly opposite! Neither of us liked this. It would've been much better if the washing area in the room wasn't open plan and was more private.

We liked:
Friendly, helpful staff
Clean room
Good location, near to U-Bahn and shops
Small room near Reception containing computers for guest use

We didn't like:
Pillow on the beds - unusual size and no support from them.
No privacy when using shower or wash basin.
Music which we heard all night, appearing to come from the Reception area below us
The areas of the hotel where smoking was allowed.

Rosenthaler Strasse, the main road outside, has very noisy trams running by frequently, so if you stay here you would probably sleep better having a room which doesn't overlook the street.

Overall we didn't spend too much time at the hotel because there is so much to see and do in Berlin, but apart from the things we didn't like about the hotel our time at the Amano is rated as Very Good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JRH0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinna S, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear SunglassesJulie,

Thank you for your kind feedback - I am happy that you enjoyed our stay in general. I am looking forward to welcome you soon again. Please be so kind to contact my Front of House Manager Mr. Butt before your upcoming stay (butt@amanogroup.de) as I would love to make sure to allocate you in the upper levels so you won't get bothered by any noise again. I would also like to ensure that our housekeeping team puts more pillows on the bed so you have an adequate sleep at our property.

All the best,

Corinna Schuster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at the Amano hotel in February 2014.

We took the Extra large apartment.

The apartment was well appointed with absolutely all amenities provided. Clean and well taken care of, we felt comfortable through our stay.

Staff were absolutely brilliant, and offered great service throughout our stay.

The lobby was nice for its class hotel, with a nice atmosphere premating the air.

What was really disturbing were the corridors leading up to our room. You went outside the backdoor of the hotel, into a little courtyard, then entered another building to reach our room. The corridors simply seemed sleazy, and totally not on par with the rest of this decent hotel.

All in all we had a great stay, and aside from the corridors we found this hotel to be towards the higher end of its class hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank savytravel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed for one night with a friend

+ location
+ check in/out effecient and pleasant
+ the size of the room
+ price
+ nice vibe

- Private party in the hotel bar, couldnt get in
- smokefilled hallways and even a little in the room

Would probably consider staying again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex-the-travel-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinna S, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear alex-the-travel-man,

Thank your for your feedback - I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you could not visit our bar and that the hallways were smoke filled. I will certainly check on how this may happen as we only have one floor with smoking rooms, the rest is non-smoking.
I hope to welcome you soon again.

All the best,

Corinna Schuster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel MANI
Hotel MANI
#50 of 634 in Berlin
564 reviews
Moabit
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#11 of 634 in Berlin
2,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,753 reviews
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#74 of 634 in Berlin
470 reviews
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#3 of 634 in Berlin
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel AMANO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel AMANO

Property: Hotel AMANO
Address: Auguststr. 43 | junction Rosenthaler Strasse, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel AMANO 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel AMANO is situated in the cultural heart of Berlin, between Rosenthaler Platz and Hackesche Hoefe. The hotel, built in 2009, has 163 rooms and fully serviced apartments designed in a contemporary style with high quality furnishings and parquet flooring. Not just the stylish rooms but also the unique services, featuring bicycle hire, pedestrian navigation systems or iPods offering walking tours, will make your stay in the AMANO a special experience. The AMANO rooftop conference rooms, available in five different sizes and connected by a surrounding roof terrace, will also be of interest to business customers. In addition, the AMANO Bar, situated on the ground floor, is a key venue for Berlin's night life. This is where the art of cocktails is practised to its extreme! In the summer months, the roof terrace with its fantastic view of the Berlin skyline is an inviting place for evening drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel AMANO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing