We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Good for Couples”
Review of Hotel AMANO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel AMANO
Ranked #105 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Sorrento, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, Good for Couples”
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We stayed in a standard room at Hotel Amano for 4 nights. Overall we were really pleased with the hotel. The room was smaller in size and fairly basic, but for a couple it was ideal with a comfortable bed and large shower.

Location is a big deal for us when travelling and it's position was ideal - walking distance from Alexanderplatz and Haschermarket in addition to having great access to the underground. There is a funky bar downstairs which has a nice vibe, and the buffet breakfast is very good. Internet is free and is throughout the hotel - although we had trouble accessing the wifi with both our phones..nonetheless an internet point downstairs solves any problems.

I have seen a few comments across the board about hotel rooms in Berlin being 'open plan' (ie. the bathroom being open and beside the bed etc) our room was just like this. Hence why I would recommend it for couples / solo travellers - travelling friends may find it a little close for comfort. Finally, we found it good value - from memory we paid around €90 per night - pay any more than this and you may find yourselves a little bit disappointed.

Overall a nice clean modern hotel, excellent location and if you get a good deal you will be very happy!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamster1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    629
    145
    41
    23
See reviews for
248
599
94
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Good location in Berlin and nice interior design, but service is poor and missing even the basics:

- no bath amenities! (just body soap)
- floor in the rooms is worn down and dirty, and hotel does not provide slippers. i.e. you are forced to walk around in your street shoes after taking a shower
- staff is friendly but does not make an effort to help you.
* asked for hair shampoo - sorry we cannot help you
* can you tell me a shop where I can buy hair shampoo? - sorry shops are closed already, cannot help you
* asked for slippers - sorry we don't have that
- although we booked the more expensive apartment room, we got a normal room. Only after asking we were changed into the apartment we actually booked.
- beds are uncomfortable. low quality furniture, although still new already worn down.

The downsides may have been excusable, but since the staff didn't even show some understanding of the problems, it left us with a bad aftertaste.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hitravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heerenveen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

There is not much to say, as everything is just close to perfect. It is 100 meter from Underground (Rosenthaler Platz), nice trendy rooms with design shouer and sink, good buffet breakfast, automat with almost everything you could have forgotten to take from home (from toothbrush to play cards and throw away camera), friendly service, rooms are clean, calm street, parking spots in the cellar, tv, hair dryer, soap, safety box. They even have appartments if you want to cook for yourselves. Only ask for an additional pillow as they are quite soft. Rooms are compact. Appartments we've seen are very spacy.

Just perfect for money; nothing to complain.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

It’s easy to be bewitched by the slick website of this hotel and it does have a lovely lobby area and it is very well located but it is also very over priced for what you get. We booked through Expedia.com and even though we looked at the hotel website, the photos are taken so that you don’t get a clear view of the rooms. It is also not apparent from the website that there are several different types of rooms, as we discovered during our expensive pre-paid five night stay. The first room that we were given was very small and like all the rooms, with very little storage space, and it wasn’t mentioned that the shower and basin were actually in the bedroom space and had no privacy at all. We complained the next day and were moved to another room late in the day. This time, there was a separate bathroom, but the room was ridiculously small. After further complaints, they admitted that it was an exceptionally small room and for the rest of our stay, they moved us to one of their apartment rooms, which was fine but definitely not what you would expect if you had booked and pre-paid for an apartment in the first instance. Another issue that we had was the incredibly hard beds which they have… like sleeping on the floor! We definitely would choose a different hotel in the same area if we return to Berlin in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussietravellers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kielce
Level 6 Contributor
438 reviews
253 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Very nice hotel. Nice, clean, location close to the metro. Very friendly service, free WiFi access and a tasty breakfast.

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JPopiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

This establishment feels more like a 4 star than a 3 star (?) hotel. It's decor is contemporary and stylish. We chose to stay in a small self-contained apartment rather than a regular hotel room and even though we did not use the kitchenette during the week we stayed it was well worth the extra euros for a bigger space.
The location was perfect for us, right in the middle of the Mitte district which is full of trendy shops and great restaurants.
Also great was the free wireless Internet however it was a little inconvenient as you need to request a new password from reception every 24hours.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WYWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester UK
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

We were impressed with this hotel for the following reasons: The hotel is actually more contemporary and stylish than it appears on their own website. The images they use don't do the place justice and in this, I think the hotel has missed an opportunity ! The immediate location is excellent, with bars, galleries and a real 'arty' feel, which pleased us greatly. ( Up the road just by the U-bahn station is an excellent takeaway place which shares asian and italian business with tables in the middle - eat there it is fantastic and atmospheric !) We also had completely free internet access in the room which is really important to us and felt that this was superb considering it was free. The hotel was good value for money for us as we booked through a discount hotel site some time in advance and paid around £350 for 4 nights with breakfast - nearer to the time, this would have increased to around £800 without breakfast and I am not sure the hotel would have been worth that. Some points that the hotel might want to consider .... I didn't think that the absence of tea/coffee facilities in the room would have been a problem, but I really did miss this - I think it is poor of the hotel not to supply this. Also - some other reviewers have mentioned the basic style of the rooms - we didn't mind this, but ours was beyond basic bordering on austere ! Luckily we love the bauhaus style - but be prepared ! More habitat than Ikea decor-wise actually, but not even a canvas picture on the very bare wall ! It was also a room which you could have smoked in - we are both non-smokers but were never asked for a preference. To be fair, it did not smell of smoke but the corridor immediately outside did. Our large window faced an outside bar area where, at certain times of the year (Summer ?), could presumably have been noisy and intrusive. We didn't concern ourselves with any of this due to the bargain booking - had we paid more we may have questioned the rooms location and smoking status. Further points - the help yourself breakfast was extensive and really good - we were never asked for our room number so could have wandered in off the streets which was a little strange ! We were also intrigued how you shared the coffee with strangers on your table, and one day had to clear the previous guests debris to the other end of our table ourselves, where it remained for the duration of our breakfast ! The hot food, bacon, eggs and sausage, were served in 3 large bowls - they were delicious, however, at NO time during the 4 days we ate there were the three items available all at once and we had to wait for eggs for a considerable time on one day in particular - there was really little attention paid to supplying plates as well, so as other reviewers have noted, it was very much self-service and sort things out for yourselves ! I got a little tired of having to continually ask the staff for things at breakfast time - they were pleasant enough but still seemed to concentrate on things that didn't matter or stock up on food items which were already available . I would stay there again providing the prices we paid were still available, but would have complained more if we had paid what I am guessing some people had. One final thing .... and it is really trivial I guess .... the hotel knew from the details I had to complete on arrival, that it was a special birthday for me during my stay. I would have thought the hotel might have had a standard card for this - but yet another opportunity was missed ! I realise that all of this sounds quite negative, but I actually thought the hotel was very good indeed - none of it spoilt my experience and I really enjoyed my stay - it is just that the extra attention to some of these points would have made it even better and in this, I think the organisation have missed a trick ....

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayneyboy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel MANI
Hotel MANI
#48 of 634 in Berlin
587 reviews
Moabit
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#11 of 634 in Berlin
2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,798 reviews
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#75 of 634 in Berlin
475 reviews
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#3 of 634 in Berlin
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel AMANO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel AMANO

Property: Hotel AMANO
Address: Auguststr. 43 | junction Rosenthaler Strasse, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel AMANO 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel AMANO is situated in the cultural heart of Berlin, between Rosenthaler Platz and Hackesche Hoefe. The hotel, built in 2009, has 163 rooms and fully serviced apartments designed in a contemporary style with high quality furnishings and parquet flooring. Not just the stylish rooms but also the unique services, featuring bicycle hire, pedestrian navigation systems or iPods offering walking tours, will make your stay in the AMANO a special experience. The AMANO rooftop conference rooms, available in five different sizes and connected by a surrounding roof terrace, will also be of interest to business customers. In addition, the AMANO Bar, situated on the ground floor, is a key venue for Berlin's night life. This is where the art of cocktails is practised to its extreme! In the summer months, the roof terrace with its fantastic view of the Berlin skyline is an inviting place for evening drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel AMANO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing