We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Hotel Berlin East
Nearby Hotels
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
i31 Hotel(Berlin)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Melia Berlin(Berlin)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,349)
Filter reviews
2,349 results
Traveller rating
304
874
735
271
165
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
304
874
735
271
165
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstram stoplandsberger alleepublic transporthotel is cleanalexander platzwi fishort stayspacious roomhotel is situateds bahnstops
Filter
Updating list...
602 - 607 of 2,349 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Rooms were big and both lifts were working. Unfortunately, the good news end there. TripAdvisor's site states the parking is free but it's not (10 Euros a night). The price we paid for the room (130 Euros) does not reflect the old fashioned decor, old type TV and the lack of basic amenities (e.g. a kettle, fridge, etc.) WiFi comes at an extra cost, too. Despite having paid online before checking in, the receptionist took a photocopy of my passport. When asked why that was they said it was standard procedure. However, the three Dutch couples that were checking in beforehand were not asked to have their passports photocopied, so it was clearly 'special treatment'. I am Polish and that is the only reason I can see.

Room Tip: Avoid if you can.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maciej F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Maciej F.,
Thank you for your Feedback here at TripAdvisor. We are sorry, that you got wrong information. The cost for the parking is in the moment 10 € for one day. In some of our rooms, we have the service from free WIFI, in other rooms the guest have to pay for the WIFI or they can use the 2 computers at the reception free of charge. Also there you can print your documents if you like. The hotel takes from all the foreign guest one copy of the passport. So you can see, that is really not a special treatment. When you visit Berlin the next time we would be delighted to have you as a guest again. Best regards, your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in December , the staff very friendly and helpful and the hotel was nice clean and organised ,our room was on the ninth floor in tower one it was nice warm clean with the standard kit except a safe , the beds were on the soft side but not to bad , the wi-fi was cheeky 5euros a day for one device not by room and was cut short on time to but was fully refunded when told about the issue , there is a vending machine on each floor with snacks and booze , but it can get noisy with pissed people going to it late on , location wise not bad 15 mins on the m5 m6 tram to the centre and 45 mins to the airport m13 tram and s9 train ,I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickyphilly76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Mickyphilly76,
Thank you for your rating at TripAdvisor. We hope, that you had a great time in Berlin and that you have seen a lot from the city. We are happy, that you liked your stay in our hotel and that you remember our helpful and friendly colleagues. We apologize, that you had a problem with the WIFI, but luckily you got the fully refund back. Also at the reception we have 2 computers with printer, which our guest can use free of charge. To visit the Alexanderplatz, you take the tram M5 or M6 and in about 20 minutes you are in Berlins City center. The tram station you reach in about 5 minutes walk from our hotel. We are happy to read, that you recommend us to other guest and we hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip to Berlin. Greetings, your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel as part of a pre-Christmas trip with a small group. The package included an "upgraded" room so I don't know what an ordinary one was like - but my one was very good for what I wanted, with large comfortable beds and a very good bathroom. No tea/coffee in the room was a little disappointing and I couldn't find an English-language television station for the evening news. Internet access was possible at 5 Euros a day, which I felt excessive nowadays; I found out later that it's available free in the lobby but that's not convenient. A bit penny-pinching!

The breakfast [at no extra cost] was truly wonderful ~ a huge variety of fresh fruit and bakery items plus a limited range of hot food. I also had one evening meal in the hotel which was very tasty and good value - there are few, if any, other restaurants in the immediate area.

The city centre is easily accessible with a 15 minute tram ride - every few minutes even in the evening - from a stop about 5 minutes walk away. Access to Schoenefeld Airport is also easy by train and tram to a stop almost outside the hotel door. Visitors should be sure to get a multi-ride ticket that covers trams, trains and buses throughout the city ~ much easier than fiddling with change! Mine cost 26.5 Euros for 36 hours and, if you get it at the airport, it covers travel from there to the city too.

Would I go back again on a future visit? Yes, certainly, despite the small negatives mentioned in this review.

Room Tip: Try to get an upgraded room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dalriada-Cardross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Dalriada-Cardross,
Thank you very much for your feedback at TripAdvisor. Perfect, that you liked your room. The hotel has 15 channels and one English speaking channel. Some of our rooms have WIFI included, or you have rent for a cost for one day from 5 Euros. Also close to the reception you will find a small internet center with 2 computers and one printer which our clients can use free of charge. Thank you very much for the compliments about the breakfast buffet and the dinner. The best way to travel around in Berlin is with the public transportation. The different tickets you also can get by our colleagues at the reception. They will help you to get the right one and also can help you with some insider information. We hope that you have seen a lot of interesting sights from Berlin and we would be delight to welcome you again soon. Best regards your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel on a Travel Zoo deal, and although situated in the eastern section of Berlin the Hotel was a pleasent suprise, the Hotel Reception was Operated by Holiday Inn,which was bit confusing at first. The Hotel was in three seperate Buildings, Haus 1,2 and 3, we had been allocated a Superior room, which was located in Haus 3, the room was very clean and spacious,the Bathroom had all you required, a good supply of really hot water.the sound proofing on the Windows were excellent no traffic noise was heard at all.The only criticism was that on both beds the Mattress,s were rather deflated and extremely uncomfortable, which caused both my Wife and I Back Aches, we did mention this to the Reception on leaving.
All staff were extremely helpful and made conversation when ever able.The Breakfast was more than sufficient and plentiful.So a trip well worth the money that we had paid.
The Transfer from the Airport was not part of the deal, so I arranged pick up etc. using Suntransfer,com who were on time waiting at the Airport and very prompt at the Hotel,in fact at the Hotel on our return trip he was early as it was very Foggy so very thoughtful,both drivers were polite and drove safely, a good service to use.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazza003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Bazza003,
Thank you very much for your feedback at TripAdvisor. We are happy that you liked your stay. We have one reception for 2 hotels. If you don’t know it before, sure it will get to some confusion. Perfect, that you liked your clean and spacious room. We are happy to read, that there was no traffic noise to hear, because of the sound proofing on the Windows. We are really sorry to read, that you was not satisfied with your mattress. Please inform always our colleagues at the reception directly, that we can find one solution. When you informed them on your departure day, then it is to late to help you. We hope, that you have seen a lot of interesting places from Berlin and we would be delight to welcome you again on your next visit to Berlin. Greetings, your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We were supposed to be in an upgraded room...the room we ended up in was a very old fashioned smoking room, i wasnt too impressed with that, but we survived. The staff at the hotel all seemed very friendly and the breakfast was good, the hotel is abit of a maze, it has the oddest set up of any hotel i have stayed in. Like most people have said...the hotel is abit out of the way but dont let that put you off staying...the transport links are unreal, think the longest we had to wait for a tram was about 5 minutes...M5 or M6 trams stop at Alexanderplatz and from there you can get to most places in the city.

I would stay here again if i knew i was going to be in a newer non smoking room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuzzyOban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Muzzy Oban,
Thank you for writing here on TripAdvisor. We are sorry, that you don’t felt to 100% comfortable in our hotel. We apologize, that you got a smoking room. When you make next time one hotel reservation, please put by remarks your wish that you will like to have one non smoking room. That is also no guaranty. Also you can ask by the check in for it. We hope that you have seen a lot from Berlin. The tickets for the public transportation you can get by our colleagues at the reception. Also there they can give you some interesting tips what you must seen from the city. Hopefully we can welcome you again soon on your next trip to Berlin. Best regards, Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews