We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for city break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
City Hotel Berlin East
Ranked #300 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Clean hotel
Spacious room (we got upgraded to the superior room free of charge on arrival, which was very nice!!)
5 min walk to tram
Good selection for breakfast
Walls weren't insulated very well, could hear next room.
**Have to book in at the holiday inn reception**
Staff more than helpful
Cheap drinks in the hotel bar

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Tom S.,
Thank you very much for your feedback at TripAdvisor.
We are happy to read that you felt comfortable in our hotel and that you had a great time. The
Hotel Grand City and the Holiday Inn chare one reception. And we are happy, that they was
very helpful. From the hotel you can reach the Alexanderplatz in about 20 minutes. We hope
that you have seen a lot from Berlin and we would be delighted to welcome you again soon.
Your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

574 - 580 of 2,272 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed at the Grand City Berlin East in early January and was overall really pleased with it. However when we arrived we spent a long time walking round trying to find the reception, as the only manned desk was in a Holiday Inn and obviously we did not think this was for our hotel as no where does it state the Grand City Hotel Berlin East is a Holiday Inn. Similarly, on Google Maps it shows it as next to a Holiday Inn and as the Holiday Inn as a separate hotel. However, it apparently shares a reception desk as we eventually found out after going in to ask the Holiday Inn where we needed to go. Very confusing and should definitely be made more clear when you book and when you arrive with signposts. The room itself was absolutely fine, the only thing we missed was having a safe. However locking our valuables in our suitcase wasn't a big problem and we didn't mind having to do so. It would have been nice to have free wifi in the room too. Overall however the hotel was perfect for a city break. The location is great - a 5 minute walk to the tram that takes you to Alexanderplatz in 15 minutes. Would definitely recommend this hotel but bear in mind the confusion with the reception desk as knowing where to go will save you a lot of time wandering around puzzled.

Room Tip: We stayed in block 3 on the 11th floor and it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jocy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Jocy19,
Thank you very much for your comments here at TripAdvisor. We are happy to read, that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. You are totally right, that it is difficult to find the reception, if you doesn’t have the information, that the hotel have one reception for both hotels. The safe you can find free of charge at the reception. Some rooms have WIFI, and also at the reception you have the possibility to use free of charge 2 computers with printer. We are happy, that you recommend our hotel to other clients and we will be delight to welcome you again in our hotel. Best regards, your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Rooms were big and both lifts were working. Unfortunately, the good news end there. TripAdvisor's site states the parking is free but it's not (10 Euros a night). The price we paid for the room (130 Euros) does not reflect the old fashioned decor, old type TV and the lack of basic amenities (e.g. a kettle, fridge, etc.) WiFi comes at an extra cost, too. Despite having paid online before checking in, the receptionist took a photocopy of my passport. When asked why that was they said it was standard procedure. However, the three Dutch couples that were checking in beforehand were not asked to have their passports photocopied, so it was clearly 'special treatment'. I am Polish and that is the only reason I can see.

Room Tip: Avoid if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maciej F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Maciej F.,
Thank you for your Feedback here at TripAdvisor. We are sorry, that you got wrong information. The cost for the parking is in the moment 10 € for one day. In some of our rooms, we have the service from free WIFI, in other rooms the guest have to pay for the WIFI or they can use the 2 computers at the reception free of charge. Also there you can print your documents if you like. The hotel takes from all the foreign guest one copy of the passport. So you can see, that is really not a special treatment. When you visit Berlin the next time we would be delighted to have you as a guest again. Best regards, your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in December , the staff very friendly and helpful and the hotel was nice clean and organised ,our room was on the ninth floor in tower one it was nice warm clean with the standard kit except a safe , the beds were on the soft side but not to bad , the wi-fi was cheeky 5euros a day for one device not by room and was cut short on time to but was fully refunded when told about the issue , there is a vending machine on each floor with snacks and booze , but it can get noisy with pissed people going to it late on , location wise not bad 15 mins on the m5 m6 tram to the centre and 45 mins to the airport m13 tram and s9 train ,I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickyphilly76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Mickyphilly76,
Thank you for your rating at TripAdvisor. We hope, that you had a great time in Berlin and that you have seen a lot from the city. We are happy, that you liked your stay in our hotel and that you remember our helpful and friendly colleagues. We apologize, that you had a problem with the WIFI, but luckily you got the fully refund back. Also at the reception we have 2 computers with printer, which our guest can use free of charge. To visit the Alexanderplatz, you take the tram M5 or M6 and in about 20 minutes you are in Berlins City center. The tram station you reach in about 5 minutes walk from our hotel. We are happy to read, that you recommend us to other guest and we hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip to Berlin. Greetings, your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel as part of a pre-Christmas trip with a small group. The package included an "upgraded" room so I don't know what an ordinary one was like - but my one was very good for what I wanted, with large comfortable beds and a very good bathroom. No tea/coffee in the room was a little disappointing and I couldn't find an English-language television station for the evening news. Internet access was possible at 5 Euros a day, which I felt excessive nowadays; I found out later that it's available free in the lobby but that's not convenient. A bit penny-pinching!

The breakfast [at no extra cost] was truly wonderful ~ a huge variety of fresh fruit and bakery items plus a limited range of hot food. I also had one evening meal in the hotel which was very tasty and good value - there are few, if any, other restaurants in the immediate area.

The city centre is easily accessible with a 15 minute tram ride - every few minutes even in the evening - from a stop about 5 minutes walk away. Access to Schoenefeld Airport is also easy by train and tram to a stop almost outside the hotel door. Visitors should be sure to get a multi-ride ticket that covers trams, trains and buses throughout the city ~ much easier than fiddling with change! Mine cost 26.5 Euros for 36 hours and, if you get it at the airport, it covers travel from there to the city too.

Would I go back again on a future visit? Yes, certainly, despite the small negatives mentioned in this review.

Room Tip: Try to get an upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dalriada-Cardross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Dalriada-Cardross,
Thank you very much for your feedback at TripAdvisor. Perfect, that you liked your room. The hotel has 15 channels and one English speaking channel. Some of our rooms have WIFI included, or you have rent for a cost for one day from 5 Euros. Also close to the reception you will find a small internet center with 2 computers and one printer which our clients can use free of charge. Thank you very much for the compliments about the breakfast buffet and the dinner. The best way to travel around in Berlin is with the public transportation. The different tickets you also can get by our colleagues at the reception. They will help you to get the right one and also can help you with some insider information. We hope that you have seen a lot of interesting sights from Berlin and we would be delight to welcome you again soon. Best regards your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel on a Travel Zoo deal, and although situated in the eastern section of Berlin the Hotel was a pleasent suprise, the Hotel Reception was Operated by Holiday Inn,which was bit confusing at first. The Hotel was in three seperate Buildings, Haus 1,2 and 3, we had been allocated a Superior room, which was located in Haus 3, the room was very clean and spacious,the Bathroom had all you required, a good supply of really hot water.the sound proofing on the Windows were excellent no traffic noise was heard at all.The only criticism was that on both beds the Mattress,s were rather deflated and extremely uncomfortable, which caused both my Wife and I Back Aches, we did mention this to the Reception on leaving.
All staff were extremely helpful and made conversation when ever able.The Breakfast was more than sufficient and plentiful.So a trip well worth the money that we had paid.
The Transfer from the Airport was not part of the deal, so I arranged pick up etc. using Suntransfer,com who were on time waiting at the Airport and very prompt at the Hotel,in fact at the Hotel on our return trip he was early as it was very Foggy so very thoughtful,both drivers were polite and drove safely, a good service to use.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazza003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Bazza003,
Thank you very much for your feedback at TripAdvisor. We are happy that you liked your stay. We have one reception for 2 hotels. If you don’t know it before, sure it will get to some confusion. Perfect, that you liked your clean and spacious room. We are happy to read, that there was no traffic noise to hear, because of the sound proofing on the Windows. We are really sorry to read, that you was not satisfied with your mattress. Please inform always our colleagues at the reception directly, that we can find one solution. When you informed them on your departure day, then it is to late to help you. We hope, that you have seen a lot of interesting places from Berlin and we would be delight to welcome you again on your next visit to Berlin. Greetings, your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Happy Go Lucky Hotel
Happy Go Lucky Hotel
#334 of 635 in Berlin
94 reviews
Lichtenberg
Holiday Inn Berlin City East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Smart Stay Hotel Berlin City
Comfort Hotel Lichtenberg
#354 of 635 in Berlin
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Berlin East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Berlin East

Address: Landsberger Allee 203, 13055 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Lichtenberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #300 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £37 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel Berlin East 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the cultural and sporting capital with a unique lifestyle at this 3-star Berlin hotel. Whether as a tourist or business traveller, the city has something to offer everyone. The Grand City Hotel Berlin East is centrally located close to Alexanderplatz. For leisure travellers, there are sports courses and sporting and event venues situated nearby, such as the Sportforum, the Velodrome events venue and the Max-Schmeling-Halle. Meals and drinks are served up at the "Landsberger 203" restaurant and the “New Orleans Bar” with Mediterranean and Berlin-style cuisine. A well-equipped gym is available to hotel guests at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your City Hotel Berlin East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing