We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, very nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel Berlin East
Ranked #276 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Southampton
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good value, very nice staff”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Once we had walked all the way from the railway station and managed to find the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised, given how cheap it is. (Then we found that we could have got the tram which drops you only a couple of hundred meters away). The breakfast was good as was the bar meal in 'New Orleans'. The staff are great. The rooms are a bit warm and although you can open the window the traffic noise is constant. We were in room 930.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear soton2,
Thank you very much for your review at TripAdvisor. We are happy to read, that you liked the hotel and felt comfortable. You can reach the hotel with the tram 16 or M13, which are right away in front of the hotel. Great, that you liked your value of money. We will forward your compliment for the good breakfast to the kitchen. We hope that you have seen a lot from the city and hopefully we can welcome you again on your next trip to Berlin. Your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    758
    617
    209
    129
See reviews for
339
946
89
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

It certainly isn't grand but for cheap and reasonably cheerful accommodation, Berlin's Grand City Hotel will just about do. Its location is good and you can get to the city centre within about ten minutes on the tram. Indeed, the stop is just a few minutes' walk up the road and, er, the hotel itself sits next to a Dacia showroom (if you fancy buying a cheap Romanian car). There's also Berlin's answer to a pound shop just up the street as well, alongside a few kebab houses etc.

The room we stayed in was simple and pretty clean. The lack of even a kettle is something of a disgrace (I mean...!) , although, rather weirdly, we did have a microwave (first time I've had one of those in a hotel room). The interior of the building itself looks a little dated and in need of a refurb but for the types of prices that this place charges, it really offers decent value. The bed wasn't particularly comfortable and giving guests just one pillow is just plain bloody rude, but I was told you could request another. The vending machines, dotted all about the hotel, have beer in them. Genius.

The staff on the front desk generally came across as a miserable bunch although the restaurant and bar looked good, even if we didn't ever try them. If you're thinking of booking and not expecting premium accommodation, this place fits the bill.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalgonTablet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear CalgonTablet,
Thank you for your comments at TripAdvisor. Great, that you liked the value of money.
To the city center you need with the tram more than ten minutes. From our hotel you need about 20 minutes to the Alexanderplatz. We like to read, that you liked your room and we hope that you felt comfortable in it. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Berlin. Greetings from the Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The room is spacious enough with well ventilated but the bed was really horrible. Basically, they were two single beds attached and one of which the wheel was broken. i was about to fall down when I sat on the edge of the bed. Very unpleasant experience for such a big hotel. Everyone expect a comfortable bed to sleep and it was opposite here...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Madhusudhan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Madhusudhan K.,
Thank you for being our guest and for your review at TripAdvisor. Feedback like yours allows us to correct effect and improve our customer satisfaction. We want to apologize for your broken bed. We hope that you called directly the reception, that we can repair or change the bed for you. Normally the housekeeping has to take care about it. So we will speak with them that they have to check better the room. We hope that you had a great time in Berlin and we hope that we can welcome you again to show you our improvements. Greetings your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Bozeman, MT
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The Grand City Hotel Berlin East was a great value and very comfortable in my opinion. I was in building 3 on the seventh floor. We had a nice view and our room was very nice. The bathroom was big and shower had great pressure and lots of room. The beds were very comfortable and not rock hard like most beds are in Europe. I suggest asking for an extra pillow though when you check in, one pillow is not sufficient. Our check in process was flawless and Anna Farham from the UK was nothing short of perfect! She was happy and even booked our friends (who were arriving a day later) near us on the same floor of the hotel. The wifi worked well and we did not have to pay like some others have posted. Our room smelled clean and we could take the M5 or M6 tram 7 stops to Alexanderplatz in 18 minutes. The value of the room was great at only $39 us dollars per day!!

Room Tip: Ask for building 3 seventh floor for good views and free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montanafirefighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Montanafirefighter,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback here at TripAdvisor. Great, that you liked the value of money and your comfortable room. We are happy to read, that you had a flawless check in. We will forward your comment to Anna F., sure she will be happy about your positive comments. The point is, that in some rooms the WIFI is already included and in other not. Hopefully you have seen a lot of sights from Berlin. We would be delighted to welcome you again on your next visit to Berlin. Your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oradea
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2014

i recommand not to stay at this hotel, my jewelries dissapeared from my room. and the stuff was very innefficient and treat me as nothing happend! what happend was unnaceptable
!! I strongly not recommend this hotel, you're things are not safe at all and nobody from the stuff tries to help you or at least give it a try,even when the police came. I was treated very badly

Helpful?
Thank pauladenisa
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Pauladenisa,
Thank you for being our guest and for your rating. Feedback like yours allows us to correct defects and improve our customer satisfaction. We are sorry to read, that happen to you during your stay. The Management is doing all what is necessary for the safety from our guest. We apologize what happen to you and sure the colleagues at the reception did all to help you in this horrible situation. But they can only call the police and to fill out a form for the insurance. That you felt that they left you alone in this situation we really feel sorry for it. And this situation is unusual. We will inform the front office manager to check what happen.
But the hotel provides at the reception safe free of charge for all valuable articles like money, documents or jewelleries. We hope that you never again have to make this bad experience. Your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Llansanffraid Glan Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

After reading tripadvisor reviews we had some trepidation however it was fine, friendly staff and a large clean and comfortable room. Glad we saw that reception was shared with Holiday Inn confusing and that it was round the back but hey ho we found it after only a couple of minutes. Breakfasts were great if you like German style buffet which we do and they provide a helpfull guide to which times are busiest. If you want full english that only seemed to be available on the room service menu (extra 3euros) but always plenty on the buffet with english speaking staff. We ate in the restaurant twice, found it a little pricey and with a very limited menu, but we found an good italian about 4/500 metres up the road. All in all a good but not great hotel and lets face it its not the most expensive on the planet is it? Also its a little out of town but 300metres from a tram stop and only 2.70euros for an all day zone AB ticket its easy to get around we even went to Wansee then ferry to kladow approx 30km trip altogether on this ticket talk about good value.
Hotel has no pool and only a gym not a spa.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Adrian J.,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a rating and comments about your stay at TripAdvisor.
We are happy to read, that you found the reception in a few minutes. The hotel complex from the Holiday Inn Berlin City East and the Grand City Hotel Berlin East share one reception. Great that you liked your room and also the breakfast buffet. To see some interesting places in Berlin you can take the tram and in about 20 minutes you reach the center from Berlin. The tickets for the public transportation you can by at the reception. Also there you can get maps from Berlin or from the public transportation. We hope that you felt comfortable and enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Hopefully we can welcome you again soon. Greetings, your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halberstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
234 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Last time we had a better room, already updated and more comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful everywhere, at reception, room service and restaturant. Breakfast was really great for the price and in general. Only the matresses were a bit on the soft side.

We will probably come again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank legrandviper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Legrandviper,
Thank you very much for your feedback at TripAdvisor. Nice, that you visit us already the second time. We are sorry, that you had a mattress which was to soft. But we hope that you slept well. Great, that you found our staff friendly and helpful. We hope we can visit you again on your next visit to Berlin. Greetings, your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Lichtenberg
Holiday Inn Berlin City East
Comfort Hotel Lichtenberg
#363 of 634 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Smart Stay Hotel Berlin City
Friedrichshain
Arcadia Hotel Berlin
Arcadia Hotel Berlin
#212 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Berlin East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Berlin East

Property: City Hotel Berlin East
Address: Landsberger Allee 203, 13055 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Lichtenberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel Berlin East 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the cultural and sporting capital with a unique lifestyle at this 3-star Berlin hotel. Whether as a tourist or business traveller, the city has something to offer everyone. The Grand City Hotel Berlin East is centrally located close to Alexanderplatz. For leisure travellers, there are sports courses and sporting and event venues situated nearby, such as the Sportforum, the Velodrome events venue and the Max-Schmeling-Halle. Meals and drinks are served up at the "Landsberger 203" restaurant and the “New Orleans Bar” with Mediterranean and Berlin-style cuisine. A well-equipped gym is available to hotel guests at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel Berlin East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing