We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday mid week trip to Berlin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel Berlin East
Ranked #276 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Birthday mid week trip to Berlin”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I booked this trip sun morning to wed afternoon for my boyfriends birthday for what I paid including flights and 3nights (room only ) was well worth it .The hotel is clean the rooms are very basic No kettle iron etc but this I could live without-2single beds but we put together no problem and housekeeping arrived everyday
, The hotel shares the reception with the holiday inn hotel, save you time for looking ate out so unable to leave comment reference to the breakfast or New Orleans room however macs restaurant not far from hotel new car garage is fab and well priced
When arrive in Berlin buy a 36hr travel rider pass must valid before all trips undercover rail tickets inspectors on board trains/trams to catch people out BEWARE 40 euro fine (buy at the information desk in the airport)
1down fall government tax to stay 7.50 euros
Hotel is not far out m5 and m6 will take you to the city centre :) avoid bad reviews !!!! Hotel was fab and location easy accessible xx

Room Tip: Block 2 room 1030 floor ten no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sara_c338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear sara_c338,
Thank you very much for your rating at TripAdvisor. We are happy that you liked the hotel and enjoyed your stay. We are happy to read, that you liked your room. We hope that your boyfriend have a unforgettable birthday in Berlin. When you want to go to the city center, the best way is with the public transportation. In about 20 minutes you are at the Alexanderplatz. The tram station you can reach in 5 minutes walking distance. Hopefully we can welcome you again on your next trip to Berlin. Your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    758
    617
    209
    129
See reviews for
339
946
89
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Myself and my boyfiend were under the illusion that we would get a double bed, when we found 2 single beds we asked for a room with a double bed. The staff said there were no available rooms so I asked if I could talk to a manager. The staff member went away and came back claiming that there were rooms with double beds but that loud students stayed around those rooms and it would be a downgrade. The staff were unhelpful and rude. Other than that, the room was very nice. It was annoying to have to push the beds together, but the bathroom and room overall were very well laid out and really clean so was impressed with that. Also just a tram ride away from the centre of Alexandrplatz. Also, there ended up being really noisy students in the main hotel area and we had to wait 40 mins to get up an elevator one night because they were messing with it; we also had to walk down 8 flights of stairs the next morning because they were messing again and when we told the staff, they simply shrugged and could not give a f***.

Room Tip: We choose the superior business double room and it was lovely. Note: they are single beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahmU5629IC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear sarahmU5629IC,
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to leave a rating and comments about your stay. Our hotel has room with double beds or 2 single beds. When you make the reservation, you can write one request for the double bed. But this is no confirmation. Great, that you liked the room and the cleanness. We want to apologize for the noise from the other guest. We hope that we can welcome you again on your next trip to Berlin. Greetings your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I knew this hotel was not anywhere near what might be described at the centre of Berlin so I got my public transport directions sorted from Berlin main train station, a short metro ride to Alexandra Plaza/TV Tower and then a 20 minute tram ride. It was very straightforward. The hotel itself was better than I expected it to be, and also a lot bigger - on arrival I walked round various doors of three towers connected by a ground floor of restaurants and shops to find the entrance. Once that was navigated the whole stay was wonderful. The staff were very friendly, the room was quiet, clean and comfortable and served as a perfect base for a sightseeing and Berlinale Film Festival trip. The reception had two Internet computers and printer in a business centre type set up for free, and whilst the exterior was very much a product of 1960's apartments and the interior of the whole complex could looks a bit like a quiet metro station, the hotel area had been modernized and I could not fault the stay. For the rate I paid and accepting the fact I was a fair few miles to the East of the city centre it was exceptional value.

Room Tip: Get the directions if unsure and if using public transport the Welcome Berlin pass is perfect for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear SteveEastSussex,
Thank you first of all for being our guest and for your positive Feedback at TripAdvisor about your stay. The hotel is about 20 to 30 minutes away from the city center Alexanderplatz. With the tram M5 or M6 you can get there easily. Perfect that you had a great stay and that you liked our friendly staff. Our small business center is close to the reception and is free for our guest. We are happy to read, that you liked the value of money and we hope, that we can welcome you again on your next city trip to Berlin. Your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Once we had walked all the way from the railway station and managed to find the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised, given how cheap it is. (Then we found that we could have got the tram which drops you only a couple of hundred meters away). The breakfast was good as was the bar meal in 'New Orleans'. The staff are great. The rooms are a bit warm and although you can open the window the traffic noise is constant. We were in room 930.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear soton2,
Thank you very much for your review at TripAdvisor. We are happy to read, that you liked the hotel and felt comfortable. You can reach the hotel with the tram 16 or M13, which are right away in front of the hotel. Great, that you liked your value of money. We will forward your compliment for the good breakfast to the kitchen. We hope that you have seen a lot from the city and hopefully we can welcome you again on your next trip to Berlin. Your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

It certainly isn't grand but for cheap and reasonably cheerful accommodation, Berlin's Grand City Hotel will just about do. Its location is good and you can get to the city centre within about ten minutes on the tram. Indeed, the stop is just a few minutes' walk up the road and, er, the hotel itself sits next to a Dacia showroom (if you fancy buying a cheap Romanian car). There's also Berlin's answer to a pound shop just up the street as well, alongside a few kebab houses etc.

The room we stayed in was simple and pretty clean. The lack of even a kettle is something of a disgrace (I mean...!) , although, rather weirdly, we did have a microwave (first time I've had one of those in a hotel room). The interior of the building itself looks a little dated and in need of a refurb but for the types of prices that this place charges, it really offers decent value. The bed wasn't particularly comfortable and giving guests just one pillow is just plain bloody rude, but I was told you could request another. The vending machines, dotted all about the hotel, have beer in them. Genius.

The staff on the front desk generally came across as a miserable bunch although the restaurant and bar looked good, even if we didn't ever try them. If you're thinking of booking and not expecting premium accommodation, this place fits the bill.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalgonTablet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear CalgonTablet,
Thank you for your comments at TripAdvisor. Great, that you liked the value of money.
To the city center you need with the tram more than ten minutes. From our hotel you need about 20 minutes to the Alexanderplatz. We like to read, that you liked your room and we hope that you felt comfortable in it. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Berlin. Greetings from the Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The room is spacious enough with well ventilated but the bed was really horrible. Basically, they were two single beds attached and one of which the wheel was broken. i was about to fall down when I sat on the edge of the bed. Very unpleasant experience for such a big hotel. Everyone expect a comfortable bed to sleep and it was opposite here...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Madhusudhan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Madhusudhan K.,
Thank you for being our guest and for your review at TripAdvisor. Feedback like yours allows us to correct effect and improve our customer satisfaction. We want to apologize for your broken bed. We hope that you called directly the reception, that we can repair or change the bed for you. Normally the housekeeping has to take care about it. So we will speak with them that they have to check better the room. We hope that you had a great time in Berlin and we hope that we can welcome you again to show you our improvements. Greetings your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Bozeman, MT
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The Grand City Hotel Berlin East was a great value and very comfortable in my opinion. I was in building 3 on the seventh floor. We had a nice view and our room was very nice. The bathroom was big and shower had great pressure and lots of room. The beds were very comfortable and not rock hard like most beds are in Europe. I suggest asking for an extra pillow though when you check in, one pillow is not sufficient. Our check in process was flawless and Anna Farham from the UK was nothing short of perfect! She was happy and even booked our friends (who were arriving a day later) near us on the same floor of the hotel. The wifi worked well and we did not have to pay like some others have posted. Our room smelled clean and we could take the M5 or M6 tram 7 stops to Alexanderplatz in 18 minutes. The value of the room was great at only $39 us dollars per day!!

Room Tip: Ask for building 3 seventh floor for good views and free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montanafirefighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Montanafirefighter,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback here at TripAdvisor. Great, that you liked the value of money and your comfortable room. We are happy to read, that you had a flawless check in. We will forward your comment to Anna F., sure she will be happy about your positive comments. The point is, that in some rooms the WIFI is already included and in other not. Hopefully you have seen a lot of sights from Berlin. We would be delighted to welcome you again on your next visit to Berlin. Your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Lichtenberg
Holiday Inn Berlin City East
Comfort Hotel Lichtenberg
#363 of 634 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Smart Stay Hotel Berlin City
Friedrichshain
Arcadia Hotel Berlin
Arcadia Hotel Berlin
#212 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Berlin East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Berlin East

Property: City Hotel Berlin East
Address: Landsberger Allee 203, 13055 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Lichtenberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel Berlin East 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the cultural and sporting capital with a unique lifestyle at this 3-star Berlin hotel. Whether as a tourist or business traveller, the city has something to offer everyone. The Grand City Hotel Berlin East is centrally located close to Alexanderplatz. For leisure travellers, there are sports courses and sporting and event venues situated nearby, such as the Sportforum, the Velodrome events venue and the Max-Schmeling-Halle. Meals and drinks are served up at the "Landsberger 203" restaurant and the “New Orleans Bar” with Mediterranean and Berlin-style cuisine. A well-equipped gym is available to hotel guests at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel Berlin East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing